We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST golf course on the grand strand”

Tidewater Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With its classic yet contemporary design, the course offers thrilling rewards to shot makers who take chances, use proper course management, and welcome challenges.We are very honored to be the most awarded of all South Carolina and North Myrtle Beach Golf courses. We thank all our guest for visiting and playing golf with us.We are growing and now offering the best value and service for your next Myrtle Beach golf vacation packages. We look forward to seeing you.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST golf course on the grand strand”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I just played tidewater on the 3rd and 5th of October 2013. The course is in fantastic shape. Fairways hard and fast, greens holding shots and rolling smooth and fast.
The golf staff was very friendly, the guys at the bag drop are the best in myrtle beach.
This is a must play for the avid golfer!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    38
    8
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, nc
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great golf course and scenary”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Kudos to Scott for making part of our 2013 Golf trip a blast. All 12 golfers enjoyed the course, said the conditions were great. Very challenging and picturesque golf course. Winds along the marsh lands. Very challenging greens. Was not so hard that the high handicappers had major issues. Good time for all involved in our group.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sailfishnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect Golf”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Played Tidewater in July 2013. The course is kept in excellent condition and a joy to play. The course has 5 sets of tees and accommodates hitters of any distance. As long as you play the correct tees for your distance the course is both challenging and fun. There are no gimmicks and no special course knowledge is needed to have fun and score. Carts have computers that take a lot of guesswork out of club choice. Cost is about $100 but that's a good value for level of course and you also get sleeve of pro v's and lunch tickets that you can use after play or at the turn for a quick sandwich and drink. Only negative is that you're looking at about 5 hour round so make sure your paired up and not playing as a twosome. Last, play early or leave yourself extra time if you have to navigate the hotel strip on Rt 17 because it gets extremely crowded and slow.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terry the Starter on the course needs to be fired!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great golf course and the outside service was top notch. Terry the Starter was not the southern hospitality I am use to receiving. Ten minutes after our scheduled tee time, standing on the range between holes 1 and 10, we went to hole 10 as we are not from around here and turned around to go to hole 1, Terry was irate and started our round on a sour note. After getting to hole 1 everything was pleasant and the course was outstanding, not thanks to Terry!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty layout but average golfers beware”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Third round of the week here in MB and decided to try this course based on reputation and awards. Two slightly better than bogey golfers accustomed to nice courses and early tee times. Greeted at the bag drop by two very friendly guys and check in, bag loading, and direction to driving range went very smoothly. Hit a handful of complimentary range balls, putted a little, and were shown to the first tee by the starter who gave basic but adequate instructions and we were off.

First the good. No complaints about the condition of the course as it was really in excellent shape except for some soggy areas but this is the Lowcountry so that was to be expected. The layout is truly beautiful and takes advantage of the natural topography with carries over marsh and several holes along the water. Stunning really.

Still the day was not really fun for us unlike other courses we have played this week. The hole locations were just brutal especially when combined with the number of bunkers (both fairway and green side), the firmness of the greens and finally the speed of the greens. Don't know if the course was being prepped for a tournament but on the whole it was just too difficult to be enjoyable for us. This round felt like work so much that by the time we reached about #16 we were ready to pack it in. I think this course is potentially excellent for a low handicap player but was just too tough and relentless for a mid to high handicapper even with just one ball in the hazard all day.

I won't go back to Tidewater when we visit next year. There are just as nice courses along the Intracoastal that are a more reasonable challenge for a golfer of my skill level.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PagsTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidewater Golf Club also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tidewater Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing