We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smoky and out of date” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Harold's Beach Club

Fat Harold's Beach Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dance Club where swing is king.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“smoky and out of date”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Smelled of stale beer and cigarettes. They were offering a dance class while I was there which was basically line dancing. Just not my cup of tea.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

It was an older crowd but great fun. It was great watching all the shag dancers and talking to everyone about the dancing. The staff was friendly and the bartenders were very quick. It was nice not to have to pay a cover as well!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank staceybeez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We love Fat Harold's! There is a beautiful dance floor and always good music. This place is packed during SOS! Good times and happy people sharing the love of shag dance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank molliecolllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home of Carolina Shag”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went on a weekday night when the place was practically deserted, most unusual apparently. But that meant we met some of the regulars and got to understand a bit of this separate world. It was the friendliest place and the dancers were alight with love of the Carolina Shag, and they were happy to provide lessons and demos. It was a LOT of fun and the coziest place. Not to be missed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Applegaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“GREAT Place to Shag Dance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Conveniently located in N. Myrtle w/ plenty of parking. The music is great! The dance floor is a really nice size and the beach music is to die for! If you don't shag dance, you'll want to learn when you visit Fat Harold's Beach Club.

I love this place!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Bkaymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Harold's Beach Club also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fat Harold's Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing