We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot”
Review of Joe's Bar & Grill

Joe's Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A rustic unique astmosphere,simular to a hunting and fishing lodge you might see in the mountians of upstae New York. Except we are nuzzeled inbetween twisted live oak trees overlooking a beautiful salt tidal marsh. Our three dinning ares plus two bars take full adantage of the view. Both our inside and outside bars feature wood burning fireplaces that set the tone for a comfortable and pleasurable experience!
Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good spot”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a nice dinner here with my wife and was given a table for two on the 2nd level that had a wonderful view of the marsh though we couldnt see the racoon feeders as some other reviewers had referred to ...but, who cares ...seen one racoon seen them all.

The complimentary cheese and crackers was a nice touch as was the fresh bread loaf ...although I would have preferred real butter vs the whipped spread they served. The stuffed mushrooms app was good and the salads were fresh. We but had specials, she the blackened mahi and me the red snapper with cool fruit salsa. Both were enjoyable. My wife's second glass of wine was a bit slow coming out but they comped an extra large pour for the wait.

The service was attentive but not overbearing. The only negatives ...parking was a pain ...sorry Olive Garden but we wound up in your parking lot. Also, although we were given a great table with a decent amount of privacy, it was in relative proximity to a large group with a few big mouths that encroached upon our peaceful setting....certainly not the fault of the restaurant.

This place is very convenient and a neat atmosphere so we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncsccrdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    194
    63
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place was recommended as being "off the beaten path" in Myrtle Beach, and we were very glad it is!! The service was beyond reproach, Kevin was an exceptional server and led us to order the right entree for the night. The wife was overwelmed with the Shrimp Louis and the Mahi Mahi special of the night was more delicious than I could have expected. The only thing that topped the entree was dessert, we shared the banana bread pudding with a white chocalate sauce, it was truly sinful!! Unfortunately we did not get to share our dining experience with the raccoons, we were sure they were too full of the bread. Enjoy if you are near.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Come for the food, stay for the show”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We try to eat early on vacation to avoid the crowds. We'd heard about Joe's from Tripadvisor, and also from a reference from out hotel. So glad we decided to try it! We asked for a seat on the deck, and were immediately amazed at the raccoon enjoying dinner just a few feet from our screened in table. Our waiter was very helpful in guiding us through the menu and specials. We had a lot of questions and he took the time to steer us in the right direction. It's almost unbelievable to think that you are only a few yards from highway 17. It feels like a world away as you look out on the marsh and watch the raccoons enjoying themselves. It was a welcome relief from fighting traffic and crowds.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in North Myrtle Beach!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Joe's Bar and Grill is nothing like it sounds. It's quite the opposite. We have always enjoyed Hamburger Joe's so we decided to give Joe's more upscale establishment a try. It was phenomenal! Upscale menu, casual dress, friendly service wrapped with a warm cozy atmosphere. The food was outstanding. The dinner started with an assortment of crackers and freshly baked breads with both butter and a cream cheese based spread. The spread really complimented the bread and crackers. The mixed green salad was fresh and tasty. For the main course I had the NY Strip topped with a teriyaki marinated portabella mushroom. Absolutely superb! The steak was cooked perfectly and the flavors were well blended. My wife had the Prime Rib and all three children had the Chicken Parmesan. My wife said her meal was outstanding and all of my children said their meals tasted better than the expensive Italian restaurants we have taken them too. All three children finished their entire meals! Save your receipt because you will get 20% off your next check. We are planning on going one more time before we go home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ist Night in Myrtle Beach”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our first time and first night in Myrtle Beach , our family decided on Joe's. Tip :: Take the side streets to access the parking lot and avoid Rt 17 (4 miles =50 minutes)
I would rate this restaurant in the top two of all the places we dined. You feel like you are dining, they treat the children terrific, and the service was outstanding, from multiple caring people. Kudos to Joe !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Bar & Grill also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Joe's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing