We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndham Westwinds--No Longer a Gold Star Resort”
Review of Wyndham Westwinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Westwinds
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This used to be a standout among the Westwinds family of resorts, however, it desperately needs upgrading. Stoves in the units are the same ones that they've had for years and years--some of the burners (no cooktops) often don't work. Countertops are Formica and have become chipped in some units. Mattresses are very poor--any Hampton Inn has a better mattress than this place. Sagging doesn't even begin to describe it. Concierge services have gone downhill in the past two years--back in their Fairfield days, they had two dynamite ladies that knew the area, knew the golf courses, knew the shows, restaurants, etc., and you could trust their recommendations. Current concierge services are extremely poor. Wyndham is no longer contracted with the Carolina Opry to book shows, they no longer book tee times for you and the concierge desk doesn't maintain hours on the weekend when you typically check in. They would be better to eliminate the concierge desk--it doesn't do anything that you would typically expect from a concierge. This used to be one of our favorite Wyndham resorts--not anymore. Wouldn't recommend it, nor would I recommend purchasing a Wyndham property. Recently stayed at a Marriott property and they were top shelf.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GypsySoulForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Westwinds, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the room and resort accommodations. Please know what you experienced is not our Wyndham standards. We strive to provide a home away from home to all our guests with satisfactory facilities and accommodations. We have notified our housekeeping staff about your concerns with the mattress and we have alerted the maintenance crew about the burners not working. We will also look into ensuring that our concierges’ desk is providing the most interesting and relevant activity information for all guests. We truly appreciate your feedback as it gives us information on how we can continue improving the guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 114 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Here for our anniversary this time. We choose Westwinds for all our Myrtle Beach vacations. Small with all oceanfront rooms and the most comfortable units. The place is quiet and a great retreat from hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront not side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A friend of the family set this up for us. The suite was fantastic- clean, well supplied and on the 14th floor. Great view from the balcony! The personnel at the resort were very friendly and extremely attentive. Check in was painless and there was always a bucket of saltwater taffy at the front desk for guest to enjoy. The resort was close to anything you might be interested in and we went when there were not a crowd of people which we enjoyed. The pools were wonderful. Concerns were the parking in Tower 1 and 2 was dreadful...not enough spaces for the number of rooms. Also there were not enough guest activities. The time share presentation was painless and the gifts including the unlimited DVD rental were great.

Room Tip: Oceanfront and corner suites are large and balcony stays sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbullock920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Westwinds, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this helpful feedback. We are so glad to hear that check-in was quick and you were fully accommodated during your stay. We appreciate the feedback regarding the parking, as we are always looking for new ways to improve. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This past week my family and I along with several other families enjoyed a four night stay in the Wyndham Vacation Rental property located one block from the beach on 7th Ave in Myrtle beach. We stayed in unit 606A and it was amazing! There is no better way to enjoy a trip then to have everyone stay together under one roof with ample space, cleanliness, and all the amenities you could need. Of course this is a vacation property so it lacks some of the features of a hotel such as a gym or concierge, but that's not what we were looking for. We will be staying here again and loved every minute of it! Thank you Wyndham properties!!!

Room Tip: Our unit was a four bedroom all units were located on the second floor with a third level which hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LazenbyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We are owners at Wyndham vacation resorts and frequently travel. I love the timeshare offerings with Wyndham and it makes it hard to stay in regular hotels after traveling this way. This was our first time to Myrtle Beach and Wyndham has six properties in the area to choose from, we chose Westwinds based on the reviews of the beach and proximity to the beach, in addition to wanting to be able to smoke cigars on the balcony. Our first reaction to the resort is that it is old and outdated. It is in desperate need of a remodel, the rooms are small and decor is old and worn (but clean). The master bath is small and cramped. The second room only has twin beds. After staying in some of the Wyndham properties like Grand Desert and Bonnet Creek we were highly disappointed, until we stepped on the balcony. The ocean front view is amazing and the master room has a door wall directly on to the balcony that when opened at night makes sleeping wonderful. The beach is only steps away. Parking is limited and tight in the parking structure. Any shopping or restaurants are not within walking distance, so a car is recommended. There is also free wifi which is nice.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We frequent Wyndham Westwinds each October in North Myrtle Beach. The staff is extremely friendly and well informed. The rooms are clean and the property has been upgraded within the past couple of years.

Each room in Westwinds has sliding glass doors that open to the ocean, except for the end units on each floor. When the weather is warm enough, we love to sleep with the doors open and are lulled to sleep by the waves. The pool is a combination indoor/outdoor area. Elevators are available for all units.

When we visit in October, the beach is quiet. I'd guess most of the occupants are retired. I'm sure that's not the case during the summer when North Myrtle Beach is fully occupied. In October you'll need to bring your own beach chairs and umbrella if you want to sit on the sand. The hotel has lounge chairs and umbrellas that must stay on the paved/grassy areas adjacent to the pool. If you're into relaxing, we can heartily recommend Westwinds in the fall and spring.

North Myrtle Beach has a plethora of good restaurants and shopping not far from Westwinds.

Room Tip: End units don't directly face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tenntravelerofmtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is our third time back in three years. We get a one bedroom deluxe because the one bedrooms are on the ocean side and have a balcony. Everything in the condo is in well kept condition without any problems. The employees are pleasant and very polite. Anytime we have needed anything they assist us. There are 4 or 5 activities for guests every day. The parking is on floor one and two and a nice parking lot across the street. We can't brag on this place enough. It has an indoor/outdoor swimming pool. Maintenance people are there constantly to help you with anything you may need. It is a very quiet area and has a very nice beach. There are lots of lounge chairs to sunbathe on and tables with umbrellas and chairs to use if you want to sit out but in the shade. We love using the balcony and just watching and hearing the constant sound of the ocean. This is one of our favorite Wyndham places to stay.

Room Tip: Get a 1 bedroom to be on the ocean side if that matters to you. Over Memorial Day Weekend it is bik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BetteKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
1.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,309 reviews
3.3 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,215 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation
Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation
#41 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Westwinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Westwinds

Address: 3405 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-4966
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $121 - $1,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Westwinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TravelUp, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Westwinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Westwinds Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Wyndham North Myrtle Beach
Wyndham Hotel Westwinds
North Myrtle Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing