We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, Great place, Great Location!”
Review of Wyndham Westwinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Westwinds
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This past week my family and I along with several other families enjoyed a four night stay in the Wyndham Vacation Rental property located one block from the beach on 7th Ave in Myrtle beach. We stayed in unit 606A and it was amazing! There is no better way to enjoy a trip then to have everyone stay together under one roof with ample space, cleanliness, and all the amenities you could need. Of course this is a vacation property so it lacks some of the features of a hotel such as a gym or concierge, but that's not what we were looking for. We will be staying here again and loved every minute of it! Thank you Wyndham properties!!!

Room Tip: Our unit was a four bedroom all units were located on the second floor with a third level which hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LazenbyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 117 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We are owners at Wyndham vacation resorts and frequently travel. I love the timeshare offerings with Wyndham and it makes it hard to stay in regular hotels after traveling this way. This was our first time to Myrtle Beach and Wyndham has six properties in the area to choose from, we chose Westwinds based on the reviews of the beach and proximity to the beach, in addition to wanting to be able to smoke cigars on the balcony. Our first reaction to the resort is that it is old and outdated. It is in desperate need of a remodel, the rooms are small and decor is old and worn (but clean). The master bath is small and cramped. The second room only has twin beds. After staying in some of the Wyndham properties like Grand Desert and Bonnet Creek we were highly disappointed, until we stepped on the balcony. The ocean front view is amazing and the master room has a door wall directly on to the balcony that when opened at night makes sleeping wonderful. The beach is only steps away. Parking is limited and tight in the parking structure. Any shopping or restaurants are not within walking distance, so a car is recommended. There is also free wifi which is nice.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We frequent Wyndham Westwinds each October in North Myrtle Beach. The staff is extremely friendly and well informed. The rooms are clean and the property has been upgraded within the past couple of years.

Each room in Westwinds has sliding glass doors that open to the ocean, except for the end units on each floor. When the weather is warm enough, we love to sleep with the doors open and are lulled to sleep by the waves. The pool is a combination indoor/outdoor area. Elevators are available for all units.

When we visit in October, the beach is quiet. I'd guess most of the occupants are retired. I'm sure that's not the case during the summer when North Myrtle Beach is fully occupied. In October you'll need to bring your own beach chairs and umbrella if you want to sit on the sand. The hotel has lounge chairs and umbrellas that must stay on the paved/grassy areas adjacent to the pool. If you're into relaxing, we can heartily recommend Westwinds in the fall and spring.

North Myrtle Beach has a plethora of good restaurants and shopping not far from Westwinds.

Room Tip: End units don't directly face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tenntravelerofmtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is our third time back in three years. We get a one bedroom deluxe because the one bedrooms are on the ocean side and have a balcony. Everything in the condo is in well kept condition without any problems. The employees are pleasant and very polite. Anytime we have needed anything they assist us. There are 4 or 5 activities for guests every day. The parking is on floor one and two and a nice parking lot across the street. We can't brag on this place enough. It has an indoor/outdoor swimming pool. Maintenance people are there constantly to help you with anything you may need. It is a very quiet area and has a very nice beach. There are lots of lounge chairs to sunbathe on and tables with umbrellas and chairs to use if you want to sit out but in the shade. We love using the balcony and just watching and hearing the constant sound of the ocean. This is one of our favorite Wyndham places to stay.

Room Tip: Get a 1 bedroom to be on the ocean side if that matters to you. Over Memorial Day Weekend it is bik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BetteKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Unfortunately, the weather was a bit cool, however, the resort has excellent facilities and helpful employees. Since I attended during spring break week, parking was a nightmare. To the credit of the hotel, parking was available across the street. Even then, parking was tight as the resort appeared to be full to capacity. That obviously is a good sign.

Room Tip: All rooms had something to offer, although the oceanfront was a prime choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtflippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Like most of the reviews, I will have to agree that the staff is fantastic and has 110% of that southern charm. The location of this place is PERFECT! You're very close to Barefoot Landing which has a ton of restaurants, shops, and activities. There's putt-putt, scooter rentals, and many other activities very close by too. The resort is right on the beach so it's an easy walk to get there, unlike most that say ocean front but you still have to walk a great distance. The location couldn't be any better because you're a close drive to all the touristy activities if you want to do them, but you're far enough away for peace and quiet if you want that too. They had activites every day through the week, including bingo, games, off-site trips, ballroom dancing lessons, water aerobics, kids crafts (which adults participated in as well), and decorate a cupcake and sundae treats. On weekends, they have free chocolate chip cookies and at check-in (on Friday when we arrived) they had chips and dip with punch....my kids LOVED it! They also had fresh coffee available in the lobby all day, every day, free movie rentals and discount tickets for local attractions. The rooms were nice, a bit older but very well maintained and cleaner than most places I've been in a very long time. I have to mention that this does fall into the typical Wyndham Timeshare though, where they try to lure you in to sitting through talks and buying something...but that's typical at ALL WYNDHAMS....we know, because we're owners. This place was not near as aggressive as most of the others though, they took no for an answer and let us go on our way. We will certainly go back to this resort and when we're in the market for more timeshare I would even truly consider buying here! I would highly recommend a family vacation here and will definately be taking my family back! Maybe next time it'll be warm enough for us to enjoy the beach and ocean more.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center at this particular resort but they do have a small indoor/outdoor pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelinMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great beach location for a quiet time with young children.
We went in April so it was "off season". There were only a few other people staying at it was grandparents with grandchildren so it was a great place to go to relax.
The condo was lovely and spacious. The location was right on the beach so it was so easy to take the elevator down to the pool or beach. We had the pool to ourselves always and there were only 2-3 other families on the beach at any time.

Older resort but very nice to escape the rest of Myrtle beach.
Staff were lovely and my children go to know most of the staff as they were so attentive to us all the time. We went to the craft hour, story time and movie night. All well organised and fun.
Wonderful stay I definitely would choose this again for convenience and location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triotrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,318 reviews
3.3 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,247 reviews
1.1 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,735 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Westwinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Westwinds

Address: 3405 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-4966
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $117 - $1,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Westwinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Westwinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Westwinds Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Wyndham North Myrtle Beach
Wyndham Hotel Westwinds
North Myrtle Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing