We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOCKED AT PRICES”

Captain Jack's Seafood Buffet
Price range: $27 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Knowing there are many Myrtle Beach area seafood buffets, we certainly appreciate that you are considering Captain Jack's Seafood Buffet on Kings Highway in North Myrtle Beach. Captain Jack's Seafood Buffet does not claim to be a maritime museum, nor the world's largest seafood buffet. Those are claims we leave to others. We do promise to provide our guests with a generous, delicious meal that reflects a level of quality you would never expect at a seafood buffet. We are proud to have Jimmy Gilberto, a 30-year veteran of Myrtle Beach buffet restaurants, as our executive chef. We've coaxed him out of retirement along with his proven recipes and those fabulous desserts. Our dedicated staff, management and ownership welcome you with true southern hospitality. Collectively, we are committed to making your dining experience memorable and a highlight of your Myrtle Beach vacation. We hope to see you soon.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SHOCKED AT PRICES”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to this restaurant in the Myrtle Beach area, not even asking the prices, which was my ignorance, yet when the bill came I was shocked to see for me and my daughter, the price was $64!! Really? $26.99 per person is what I discovered to my dismay and that is absolute highway robbery, Simply a Golden Corral with seafood, the guy told us "we have crab legs and steak is why its so high".. So even if I didnt eat those items I still have to pay because you offer it? That is really ridiculous, made me realize my decision to forego Calabash NC and try this place was a terrible mistake. Don't waste your hard earned money for $26.99 per person, you can find something much more appealing in atmosphere and service. I think every review on here states the same and agrees: WAY TOO PRICEY.. Rule of thumb: when a price is not given or advertised for a buffet, then it is too high if you have to ask. Don't be shocked at the register like I was.. just DONT GO.. Not worth the money. Terrible mistake on my part.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    123
    65
    61
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay Away!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Buffet was overpriced and cold. The all you can eat lobster had to be ordered and it took 20 minutes to arrive at the table. It was overcooked and tasted horrible. The majority of the staff is from other countries and my waitress was bad at best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spaingame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramy E, Director of Sales at Captain Jack's Seafood Buffet, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. However, I apologize you did not have a good experience. I assure you, we strive to make each customer walk away wanting to come back. We had just opened up and had a lot of issues, We have worked very hard to listen to our customers to make sure each one was addressed. I would ask if you come back to the Myrtle Beach area, you would give us another chance. Again thank you for your feedback

Debi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good seafood buffet.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our server Eileen made sure our dining experience was enjoyable. Food was good. My wife enjoyed the variety of seafood available and they even had food for the non seafood diner (me).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlLucas6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Spare yourself the disappointment.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

From the outside it looks pretty decent, but when you step inside you will quickly realize that this is essentially a Golden Corral with a few seafood options added. Food is average at best, the service was terrible, and the leaky ceiling was literally falling down around us as we ate. Also, expect to pay over $30 per person. If you're looking for a nice place to enjoy some seafood, I say again, spare yourself

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tdstrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take out a loan before u eat here.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Not worth the money. Food was ok. Service was not that good. Could not understand anyone who worked there. Giant crab was better I thought. $27.00 is way too much for not so authentic seafood

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jchap8750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Jack's Seafood Buffet also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain Jack's Seafood Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing