We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wondeful time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppertree Ocean Club, a Festiva Resort
marengo, Ia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wondeful time”
Reviewed January 1, 2010

I was a bit nervous before hand about our recent stay at the Peppertree Ocean Club due to the fact that most of the reviews I could find were not recent reviews. When we first arrived it seemed a bit older and the outside appearance seemed a bit rough. Even the paint on the door was chipping off, but when we opened up the door, the view was amazing. The room itself was pretty small for a one bedroom, but my husband, I and 2 children aged 7 & 8 managed just fine. We had everything we needed to prepare meals including a hand mixer!! It really does look like most photos I could find. In the summer this place would be busy but perfect! Everyone working there was extremely helpful and pleasant.
Even though it was winter, we found plenty to do. We loved the outdoor jacuzzis (you just ran quickly back to your room)! The kids loved the activities center with foosball, wii, board games and movies. We played Bingo too and won several times! We also went to broadway at the beach including Ripley's aquarium and Magiquest. We also enjoyed walking on a very empty beach and could see the New Years Eve fireworks from our balcony.
We will be back again. The kids are already asking when!

PS ,,,,,they charge for internet but we found other area resorts with open connections that we could log onto for free. It was only to check emails so we really didn't want to spend 49/week to use peppertrees. HTH

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jzuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    73
    54
    21
    20
See reviews for
108
61
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Bought a week from timeshare owner. Our party was four adults, one teenager, and a one year old.

Accomodations are borderline spartan; if you come in expecting resort quality units you'll be disappointed. But for what you pay here the value is outstanding, and I have definitely stayed in worse for more $$. The units are comfy, extremely clean, and at no time did we feel cramped.

The staff, from room service to maintenance to lobby, was excellent. Friendly, responsive, and helpful.

Pool area was beautiful and clean, lots of chairs, two big pools, couple of kiddie pools, couple of spas, and a "tiki bar" thing. The staff had something going on everyday around the pool area (entertainment, games, etc).

Air conditioned exercise room had weight station, two treadmills, an elliptical, stationary bike, water, and TV.

Only three complaints:
1. the design of the road in front of the hotel and the hotel's location (right before a curve) make exiting to the left out of the parking lot an adventurous gambit until one gets the hang of it.
2. the hotel parking lot is full (no spaces) by around 9:30 pm or so. The "overflow" parking is across the previously mentioned road in a vacant lot. Crossing that road on foot at certain times of the day is also adventurous, to say the least.
3. this is 2009 people. Reasonable if not complimentary wi-fi would leave a MUCH better taste in your guests mouths than does ten bucks a day.

Other than those, there was nothing to complain about and our stay was great. Would definitely recommend and consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snookbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2009

My unit was very clean. Lovely view of the ocean from the room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tamlaslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I was invited by a friend to join in a weekend stay at this hotel that was part of a timeshare. The outside of the place is not very impressive but I have nothing to complain about when it comes to the staff or the inside of the rooms. Stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite on the 2nd floor. It was very nice and equiped with everything you would need. It was strange because the room didn't really have a balcony you could walk out on like normal but it had a sliding glass "door" that opened in the living room with a railing outside of the window. It's hard to explain without a picture but basically all you could do was open this to get a breeze and stick your head out to look. Not much of a view from the 2nd floor, would like to have been higher. The master bedroom also had an opening window/door. Nice outdoor pool setup with outdoor hot tub, nice grill and pinic tables. Also had a kids play area and several more hot tubs. They have an indoor pool and hot tub as well. Had an issue with the TV and staff was there within 2 minutes to help! Overall a pretty cool place to stay!

  • Liked — Beautiful Beach
  • Disliked — No walk out balcony
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CamaroNC94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We bought a timeshare at Peppertree Ocean Club and have stayed there during the last week of September for the past three years. We have stayed in our "home" unit (#318) each year, so we can't really say much about the other units.

The location can't be beat! There are a few places within walking distance (pancake house, IGA for food and anything else, ice cream shop, beach shop, bar) and other places are an easy drive. The beach is wonderful and just a short walk out through the pool area. There have been some improvements since last year - the most notable is that the picnic areas and grills have been updated and improved. The pool area is very well kept, clean and with pleny of lounge chairs.

In the past two years, there were some beach chairs and sometimes a boogie board and beach toys left near the gate to the beach that you could borrow. This year those items were missing from the center gate and that was disappointing, but I later found they had put a deck-box at the other beach entrance that held those items in a neater manner. It seems small, but it is really nice to be able to borrow a chair instead of buying a cheap chair on each trip!

The condo is comfortable, not fancy, but clean and neat. Kitchen is reasonably well equipped, and there are plenty of towels, etc. It is obviously an older building (and thanks to the Trip Advisor member who gave the history!) but it seems to be pretty well maintained, and has improved since our first visit. The front desk, grounds and cleaning staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Note regarding time share sales pitch - After the front desk checks you in, they send you to "the other room" to get your parking pass. That is where they try to talk you into attending a time share sales pitch. After a brief, but firm, refusal, they did not hassle me anymore.

We did attend last year, when they said it was a chance for the "new ownership" - Festiva- to get input from owners. They did ask a lot of questions about our satisfaction with the building, our unit, etc. Then they went inro a sales picth to try to get us to switch to a "points" membership instead of a "weeks" membership - for a hefty fee of course. The price was quite steep, and they didn't want to take no for an answer. So this year we said we would not attend and that was the end of it. PS - We bought our timesheare on eBay and they were shocked at how little we paid when they were wanting us to pay $14,000 (or more) to change our week to points! My advice - just say no! and then go enjoy your ocean front room!

  • Liked — Location, comfortable atmosphere, on the BEACH!!!!
  • Disliked — Older building
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glacial_erratic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Back in the day, this place was called Cabana Terrace Motor Lodge or Hotel, when some folks got the bright idea to turn it into a Timeshare Resort called Cabana Terrace. They used 2 or 3 or more hotel rooms to create 1 unit, depending on size. Back then, it had an attached nightclub that was popular in North Myrtle Beach among the SOS shaggers, called CT's.

Flash forward to Hurricane Hugo, which hit the Myrtle Beach area in September 1989. It destroyed the oceanfront area and swimming pools/ hot tubs, and did lots of water damage. The people behind the new Cabana Terrace Resort eventually went bankrupt.

The next couple of years were sad to see. When they rebuilt the oceanfront area, they had new building restrictions with how far out they could build. As a result it was rebuilt much smaller. Construction on the units was all but at a standstill, you could look up at the building and still see some units were finished, and right beside them would be a room with old cinderblock construction and brick balcony railings, and yellow taped off areas, keep out ! It was just sad, the vision and spirit of what this place was on track to become,was gone.

This property has changed owners at least 5 times since then. It was renamed Peppertree Ocean Club and I'd say late 90's they finally finished the construction.

Now that my trip down memory lane is over, you want to hear about this place as it is now, right ?

Now as it stands, the old CT's nightclub is now an indoor pool and hottub, two or three floors have been added above the pool, including a nice if small fitness center, larger laundry area, and offices, and a large activity room where they have their owner breakfasts on Monday mornings. The restaurant on the top floor is no more, and the gameroom on the fourth floor is gone, to make way for office space. Thinking back, this property was a lot more glitzy and alive when they still had people walking around taking timeshare tours. Havent seen that in years! A couple years ago it was a Wyndham property, now it's Festiva that owns it.

About the units-
I can tell you that the ocean from the fourth floor is one of the prettiest I've seen at any Myrtle Beach area property, mainly because there's not a lot of distance or objects in your way. A previous poster is absolutely correct, what type of unit and where it is located will impact your perception of this place.

The 2 bedroom units have 1BR with a king and 1BR with two twin beds, and a sleeper sofa in LR area.

For a couple or a couple with young kids, a 1 Bedroom KING bed unit would be fine, with the sleeper sofa in the living room area.

( I've seen the 1BR QUEEN bed unit, with a very tiny bedroom with a queen or double bed in it, and a tiny oceanfront room with a sofa, tv, and kitchen crammed in. If I was traded my week for that unit, or a studio unit, I'd be PO'd and I can see by the other reviews that has happened. )

The nice things about this place-
It's very easy to step out of your room, take the elevator or stairs, walk through the breezeway and through the pool area, and be literally on the beach in no time at all. The oceanfront pool area has a gas grill at one end and outdoor tables so you can enjoy the ocean breezes while you grill out. There are 2 or 3 hottubs and 2 pools, oceanfront. There is an indoor pool, indoor hot tub, and activity room with a pretty good activities department in season, off season its kind of slow. This is a place to come to be laid back, to relax, to chill, if you will,lol. You wont find an onsite restaurant or a spa, just an older building thats been remodeled.

About the location-
It's within walking distance to Cherry Grove Pier and also BOULINEAUS IGA which is a must if you are in Cherry Grove or North Myrtle. Then there's a little place right on the beach, between POC and the Cherry Grove Pier, that you can stop into for a cold drink and sometimes live music, forget the name of it, but from the beach it just looks like a shack, lol.
Being technically in North Myrtle but also right there at Cherry Grove, its not a far drive to Calabash, NC, where you will find some of the best and freshest seafood ever. Or to Restaruant Row, or to Broadway at the Beach, or Tangier Outlet shops either. But it's far enough away from all the hustle and bustle.
If you want something more modern but still in the same area, I'd suggest two new resorts:
The Prince Resort at Cherry Grove Pier
OR
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard

  • Liked — Location, oceanfront views
  • Disliked — Wish more $$ would be put into bringing back anemities lost
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChippyandTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband and I had an enjoyable stay at this resort from 7/20/08 to 7/27/08, but it got off to a rocky start. Whether or not you will like the Peppertree Ocean Club largely depends on the unit you are assigned.

The building is shaped like an L with most of the units facing the ocean. The wing forming the L that is over the office faces other buildings and the street, and does not have any ocean view unless you go out on your balcony and crane your neck. This is problem number one. If you are assigned a unit in this area, you will not have a nice view, and you’ll probably be unhappy.

Problem two is that there are many unit configurations and they vary greatly in size. If you reserve a two bedroom, you’ll be safe (aside from the view) as they are all reasonably large. I should mention here that based on prior reviews and photos, all units regardless of size have a mini kitchen which consists of a 7’ long wall into which is crammed a few cabinets, a microwave, and apartment sized stove, refrigerator and dishwasher. An additional cabinet in the living room holds a TV and contains pots and pans and silverware. Counterspace is nearly non-existant. It’s not easy to do much cooking at the Peppertree Ocean Club, but if you’re making only rudimentary meals, you’ll get by. The one bedroom units are the real problem because some appear to be a pretty good size (based on a diagram of the facility I received at check-in showing the type and location of all the units). Some, however, are no larger (and possibly smaller) than the studio units. Unfortunately, we were assigned one of the studio-sized one bedrooms on the L with no view, so we were saddled with both negatives. It was the same unit a prior TripAdvisor reviewer showed in photos and complained about.

I was outraged. I couldn’t imagine us spending a week in this tiny unit. The kitchen, dining area and living room were all crammed into a 10 x 12 ½ area. (I measured based on the 12” floor tiles.) The bedroom was so small there was only enough room to walk around the bed. This resort is a timeshare condo resort and we are timeshare owners ourselves. We own three one bedroom timeshares, the smallest of which is somewhere around 600 SF and the other two are very spacious at around 1100 to 1300 SF. This unit was maybe 300 SF. I am a person who doesn’t complain about much and doesn’t like to make a scene, but my husband and I marched down to the office to see what we could do about this horrible room assignment. I told the front desk clerk that we have stayed in timeshare units whose master bathrooms were as large as this “one bedroom condo.” Of course they said they were booked solid as it was mid-July and the busiest time of the year, but there was a vacancy sign out front, so I assumed there must be SOME other room available. After pressing the point that this tiny unit was no bigger than a studio, plus it had no view, the clerk said they did have an ocean front studio available. We said we’d like to take a look at it as it couldn’t possibly be any smaller than this one bedroom unit.

The studio appeared larger than the one bedroom unit, partly due to the open floor plan and a better layout, and it was actually a wider room. The kitchens were the same size in both units. This studio was on the fifth floor, in the center of the building, and the view was great. We had never stayed in a studio, but it was a vast improvement over our original room assignment. The décor was cheerful, the furnishings appeared quite new, and once we got used to the idea of having “only a studio” we enjoyed our stay. The great ocean front view made up for a lot. The unit did not have a balcony. The center window slid open (no screen) and a railing ran the length of the unit a few inches beyond the windows. Most of the time we just enjoyed the view from the living room and dining area, but sometimes we pulled chairs up right in front of the windows.

Overall, the building doesn’t look like much when viewed from the beach. It is clearly an older, converted motel, but the pool deck area is quite attractive. Aside from the indoor pool, there are two nice size outdoor pools, and multiple hot tubs, interspersed with palm trees, a small water feature and shrubs and flowers. Some of the newer resorts we saw during our stay had very sterile expanses of concrete surrounding pools that appeared much too small for the number of units. These pools were adequate for the size of the resort and there were always enough lounge chairs. A long expanse of beach front directly in front of the Peppertree is only a few steps away. There is no on-site restaurant, but there is a “tiki hut” which is a small wooden structure near the pools that serves burgers, milkshakes etc. at reasonable prices. Three days a week they have a DJ with music by the pools at lunch time and a lunch special such a taco and a drink for a dollar, or a burger, chips and a drink for four dollars.

We attended an orientation breakfast on Monday in the third floor activities room that was a full, hot breakfast. We also attended a free wine and cheese social Monday afternoon. There were many planned activities for children throughout the week.

The Peppertree Ocean Club is at the northern end of North Myrtle Beach, within sight of the Cherry Grove fishing pier. The location was convenient to shopping and restaurants and the beach was very pretty and uncrowded. In summary, the resort is not luxurious, but it has a nice family feeling due to its relatively small size, adequate pool facilities, and cheerful activities staff. The units have been remodeled within the last few years and are in good condition with a pleasant décor. If you get one of the larger units, preferably ocean front, I think you will be pleased with your stay.

  • Liked — Good location, family friendly atmosphere, clean and cheerful
  • Disliked — Some units very small with poor views
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kay7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,474 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Peppertree by the Sea
Peppertree by the Sea
#43 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,239 reviews
5.6 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppertree Ocean Club, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppertree Ocean Club, a Festiva Resort

Property: Peppertree Ocean Club, a Festiva Resort
Address: 1908 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peppertree Ocean Club, a Festiva Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppertree Ocean Club, a Festiva Resort, offers a fabulous vacation experience for those who like to relax at the surf's edge by day and hit up the Grand Strand scene by night. Many units have oceanfront views with private balconies, allowing you to sit back and take in the sweet ocean breeze. After a day of soaking up the sun, you can find plenty of restaurants, nightclubs and a variety of entertainment just a few blocks away from the resort. The Ocean Club will welcome you to your home away from home any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Peppertree Ocean Club, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppertree Ocean Club, a Festiva Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing