We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Resort”
Review of Barefoot Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Resort
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We spent 10 days in North Myrtle Beach. We loved everything about this place. It looked like an apartment. Very clean, with all the amenities you would need ie: pots, pans, utensils. My only suggestion is that you make sure you know what rental company you booked through, otherwise you will be driving around the resort trying to find your check in point. It is too far to walk to Barefoot Landing and the beach is about a mile away, but you will need to cross a major roadway. Lots to do in the area. If you want to save some money and eat in the room, you obviously have all you need, there is a Krogers down the street going North that you can pick up some groceries at. Our room stated that there was a washer/dryer in the room, we had the hook-ups, but no machines. For an extra cost, the cleaning crew will come in and clean your place. Otherwise, expect to come back to the room the way you left it. If you don't mind not having your room cleaned everyday, then this place is well worth it!! They do supply a vacuum and cleaning products for your convenience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank smiller376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 339 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed at Barefoot in May of 2007, the week between Harley Bike week and Atlantic Beach bike week. We stayed in one of the golf villas, a 2 BR and 2 bath. It was on the 4th hole of one of the 4 golf courses on the property. Our villa was nicely furnished and very clean (high importance to me!) The villas had daily maid service and we always had more than enough towels, etc. Each villa had patio or balcony and ours was screened. It was nice to sit out there and watch the goflers. This resort is in N. Myrtle, back away from the main drag for noise purposes, but yet close to shopping and attractions (sits behind Barefoot Landing shops). This was very important to us as we have a 3yo daughter and my elderly MIL was with us. It was always quiet and we did not have any issues with neighbors. Each sections of villas have their own pool, and ours was never crowded. The resort also has an extremely large pool near the north tower hotel rooms. It was very cold! The staff at the check in area was friendly and informed. The price was very affordable for a week. We would definatley stay here again. We booked our villa directly from Premier Resorts that own the property and not through a time share deal.

Our only complaint: We did not know at the time of our reservation that we would be there close to biker weeks. We wanted peace and quiet for this much needed vacation. Our only issue with this resort was that they told us several times and had it in writing that it did not allow motorcycles or trailers on its property. We know of one bike that was towed away from our villa area, but there were numerous bikes and trailers up near the north tower the entire week we were there. I don't know why the rules weren't enforced, perhaps someone had to complain before they were taken away. We saw one balcony that had bikes parked on it, perhaps trying to hide them? Other than this, the resort was great.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LvRofBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Our family really enjoyed our stay at Barefoot. The accommodations were AWESOME!!! The unit we stayed in was very roomy-2 bedroom 2 bathroom...very clean and well maintained...very important detail for us! Had plenty of space for our 11 month old to tot around! The area that we were in was very quiet and the other guests were very friendly. Great breakfast buffet at Docksiders Grill. Very competitive pricing with other local breakfast spots, but the main plus here was being able to eat outside overlooking the marina...something that you just can't get at the other local breakfast spots. Pool area was great. We were in the villas and each little villa area has its own pool. This is great and keeps the pool area from being crowded. Just lots of space and room to relax and enjoy.

Grounds are very clean and very well maintained. `

Checking in was a bit confusing. Several other guests ran into this issue to. COuld use better signage to communicate where to check in. Also, need better explanation on how housekeeping works...really didn't have much service. This was not a huge problem though...just a bit awkward on not knowing what to expect.

Overall, an excellent get a way for our family...just what the doctor ordered. We will DEFINITELY be back and have already recommended to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vmom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

I have been to Barefoot Resort more then one time. Once to Golf with buddies and twice with my family. We had great weather this January so that helped. We stayed in a two Bedroom "Golf Villa" with a great view of the Norman course. Our room has always been nice with a large kitchen and 50" HD TV. We have booked through Barefoot paradise vacations and had a very nice experience. The pool was close by and the beach is a short drive were Barefoot has there own beach Cabana. We were also very close to the House of Blues and Barefoot Landing which gave us many Dining options and had things for the kids as well. We will be back again for sure. Try Dicks last resort. Below avg. food but alot of laughs

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank Dante1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Barefoot Yacht Club. We were there as part of a Marriott timeshare promotion. We stayed in Villa #3 of their Yacht Club development, whichlooked relatively new.

Check in was at 3PM, and we arrived at 2:30, with no problems. The villa itself was huge. We had 3 bedrooms, each with it's own bathroom, 1 with a hot tub, a fully furnished kitchen with granite counter-tops, and 2 balconies. The only drawback was that although they had 3 coffee makers, they did not leave coffee. Otherwise, the balconies faced out onto the intercostal waterway, which was pretty nice. The villa itself was huge, way too much for the two of us, but it would work well for 6-10 people.

The pool is next to the North Tower, and they say it is the largest one in South Carlonia. The pool certainly is large, but unfortunately, 90% of it is at a depth of 3 feet, and the rest of it is split between 1 foot (for kids) and 4 feet. We could not figure out why they didn't make any of it 5 feet! There is a nice jacuzzi next to the pool, and the Docksiders restaurant is next door.

Barefoot landing, which has numerous specialty shops, several good restaurants including a Greg Norman's Aussie Grill, and several bars, is right across the intercoastal waterway, a 2 minute drive.

Otherwise, the beach is around a 5 minute drive, with North Myrtle beach and Atlantic beach being the closest. We liked Atlantic beach--not at all crowded, and you can rent unbrellas for $15. There are grocery stores nearby on Route 17.

Overall, this is beautiful property that is conveniently located, and we would ocnsider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gvr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

After driving around Barefoot Resort for about 20 minutes we finally found our check-in location, which is located in a small building next to Century 21. It was around 1pm on Sat afternoon when we step up to the check-in desk and find out that they didn't have our reservations that we had booked through hotels[--]. They were apparently completely booked up so it was a good thing we brought the print-out confirmation with us. After going back and forth for a few minutes we were told to come back at 5pm and our room would be ready.

We show back up at 5pm and are give the keys to our 3 bedroom condo. There are 6 keys total, 2 for each door. We enter the condo and whoa, it smells like SMOKE! We knew we had booked and asked for a non-smoking room so we headed for the phone to call someone. But, there is no one to call. There is no front desk, housekeeping, etc. We decided to drive back to the check-in building after my husband checked his emails. Then we find out that there is NO WIRELESS internet like all the websites state. That was a MUST for us because my husband & brother were going to be working during our stay. We rush back to the office, which closes at 5:30 on Saturdays, and tell them about the smoke and internet. We are told there are no more rooms for us to move to and they would have the manager call us when she came in on Monday. As for the internet they told us they have wired internet and provided us with 1 ethernet cable.

We did as much as we could outside of the condo in the meantime. No one ever called us back about the room and internet problems so finally by Wed my husband called someone at their corporate office. She gave us a hard time at first because apparently the entire resort is non-smoking. She sent someone to our room to check it while we were on the phone with her. She ended up apologizing and said she would move us to another room and give us an extra free night.

Other than getting locked out because only 2 of the 6 keys they gave us worked, even after we got another set, the rest of the stay was ok. The pics they have on hotels[--] and expedia are for the nicer 4 bedroom condos which are a lot different. Also, if you are used to housekeeping coming in each day and keeping your rooms cleaned be prepared. They don't clean until you leave. We also had to go to the check-in bldg for extra trash bags and toilet paper because they don't leave extra in the room.

8  Thank carreragt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

After a 7 hour drive we arrived at the check in office (Beach Vacations) at about 2:15 pm. We were told that check in was between 3 - 5, but we figured arriving 45 minutes early shouldn't be a problem. After all this was a “Marriott timeshare promotion”. Well we were wrong. We were told by Beach Vacations that check in was not until 3 - 5. So we left and came back at 3. At 3 we were told that the room was not ready yet and that rooms are not guaranteed until 5 pm. Most of the staff at Beach Vacations did not really seem concerned how inconvenienced and irritated we were, until one young lady (who happened to be from our home state of VA) took the initiative to find us an alternate room of equal quality, that was ready for check in. We thanked her very much and went to our room. The 2 bedroom Villas was absolutely spacious, with modern décor, full kitchen, and a beautiful view of the Inter Coastal, and not 1, but 2 balconies. Well it turned out that this property was not even owned by Marriott, which we still haven’t figured out , why they would have stay in a property they don’t own, to buy a timeshare. Anyway, to make the rest of this long story shorter, we got into our room to find that the Master bedroom beds did not have any linen and the bathroom did not have any towels. We let the Beach Vacations office know at 5:30 PM. We went out for dinner, got back to the room about 9 PM, and still no linen or towels. After many phone calls we got linen and towels at about 10:30 PM. Fortunately the rest of our time there was great. We didn’t realize how much there was to do in Myrtle Beach, and we will definitely be back. Just bring a lot of patience if you are on a Marriott timeshare promo, hosted by Beach Vacations.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RichPVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,658 reviews
3.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#15 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barefoot Resort Yacht Club
Barefoot Resort Yacht Club
#35 of 42 in North Myrtle Beach
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Resort

Address: 4403 Highway 17 S, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-5254
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $89 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For great vacation accommodations along the Grand Strand, book your next stay with Barefoot Resort by Beach Vacations! -A variety of golf course villas, high-rise condos and spacious townhomes -One, two, three and four bedroom layouts to accommodate any size group -All condos offering full-kitchens and washer/dryers, with many offering complimentary WiFi -Access to outdoor pools and hot tubs on property -Basketball, volleyball and tennis courts available to guests -Four championship quality golf courses available within the resort -Two on-site restaurants -A seasonal beach shuttle with complimentary transport to and from the beach -Located conveniently just inland from the beach and right across the waterway from Barefoot Landing With a diverse catalog of sterling rental condos ranging from one bedroom golf course villas to four bedroom deluxe Yacht Club condos, Barefoot Resort Vacations by Beach Vacations presents you with the finest properties Barefoot Resort has to offer. With each condo providing fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, multiple TVs with cable and complimentary WiFi, the conveniences of home will be at your fingertips. The premier vacation destination in North Myrtle Beach, Barefoot Resort is home to four championship-quality golf courses from some of the elite names in course architecture: Love, Norman, Fazio and Dye. But there's so much more than just golf at the resort! Basketball, volleyball and tennis courts, two on-site restaurants, location right across from fantastic shopping and dining at Barefoot Landing and even a free seasonal beach shuttle are perks you can enjoy during your vacation. Barefoot Resort is also conveniently located near popular attractions like Alligator Adventure, Pirates Voyage and the Tanger Outlets. Other area hot spots like Broadway at the Beach and the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk are just a short drive south from the resort. Book the best for your next vacation and let Beach Vacations help you pick the perfect rental condo at Barefoot Resort! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Barefoot Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Barefoot Resort North Myrtle Beach
Barefoot Resort Myrtle Beach
Barefoot Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Bare Foot Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing