We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One not to be remembered”
Review of Barefoot Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Resort
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our reservations was for Aug 10-15. Well nice area and not so clean house. The carpet was dirty I thought that who ever cleans the houses suppose to vacuum the floors when I vacuum the canister was about full with dirt,
spots on carpet, bathroom shower curtains had mildew,and some of the appliances were broken that we could not use them. We all know its really Hot in August heat index in the hundreds inside the house we could not put thermostat below 72 and the inside was about 76-77 only cooled off later when the sun was going down and after we were in bed. Thank you for the hospitality but never again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ferreal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 340 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Not sure who to contact so I thought this would be best. I booked through rooms101.com thought I was staying at the Barefoot Resort. It ended up being a apartment behind the resort called arbor trace in the barefoot community. I stayed in building 9 apt 922. The unit was clean but it did not have towels and the pull out sofa mattress was nasty. Everything else was really clean. Housekeeping bought towels and she and the towels smelled like cigarette smoke. The only pool was outdoor s and it rained all weekend so the kids didn't get to swim. We were so disappointed. Rooms101.com and parkway marketing are using the barefoot resort name to lure people in. I drove 3.5 hrs and my kids stayed in an apartment not a resort and did not even get to swim.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank partymommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just returned from a four night stay. The grounds are well kept, pool in the Havens was clean and the location was good. Overall we were happy with the condo, just a few things I considered minor irritants-the well stocked kitchen isn't really unless you are only cooking for two or three people. I suggest bringing extra frying pans and if you plan to do any baking, bring your own pans and mixing bowls. We were celebrating a birthday and had to go buy something to bake in. The condo was comfortable for six people, the sofa bed wasn't the most comfortable but most aren't. It did appear the cleaning crew forgot to check it because we opened it to find a sheet already on the bed and had what looked like chocolate stains at the head of the bed on it and choc wrappers. The back cushion of the chair in the living room is ripped and being held together with safety pins that don't stay closed. The beds were pretty comfortable and the bathrooms were clean, the carpeting could stand to be cleaned though. Again, overall we were happy with the condo and the location, the things mentioned were minor irritants to us. Loved not having to go anywhere to check in and using the lockbox method for the key.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our first time at Myrtle Beach was a success, mostly because we stayed at Barefoot Resort, the Edgewater section. We had no idea of how many people go to Myrtle Beach. It was such a relief to be out of the traffic and congestion when it was time to get some rest.

Room Tip: Try to find a condo by RBO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Geno2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We reserved on short notice and because it was a good deal. While waiting for our room to be ready, I waited in the lobby of the rental agency. The people working behind the desk were talking about the customers as soon as they left the room, right in front of me! When they finally said our villa was ready, we grabbed the keys and drove over to the resort. I was immediately disappointed. The word "villa" means small house. These are basically apartment buildings with three levels and no elevators. Of course ours was on the top level and we had to drag 5 people's worth of luggage up the stairs. Then we found the housekeepers still cleaning the place! I called the rental agency and they said, "Well usually they don't call us until after they are finished." No sorry or anything! We waited about 10 minutes for them to finish. After walking inside we noticed that it did look nice but later found some problems. The housekeepers never unloaded the dishwasher when they "cleaned" the house. All the furniture was white wood and you could very easily see that it needed a very good dusting. The balcony had a view of another apartment building and a man made pond with a fountain. You would also expect to have premium cable channels and WiFi but this place had neither. I could do better at a Motel 6! This place is out of the way from all the fun places and the beach. The pool was nice. We stayed for 2 nights and then left to stay at another hotel on the beach which was the same price but more luxurious then this place. I will never stay at this place again.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask which floor your room will be on before you go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came to Barefoot Resort when a friend who had made a reservation was unable to keep it. The good: buildings and landscaping are very nice and well-maintained. Small pools in each are are nice and the big pool at the North Tower are also well-maintained and quite nice. Plenty of parking also. The bad: location is ok although we would definitely have chosen a place on the beach for the convenience and view. These condos are also descirbed as "luxury" which is not what I would call them. They are very nice, but hardly "luxurious." Wallpaper was peeling from two walls in our unit. The "well-equipped" kitchen consisted of a small frying pan and one pot and plastic utensils in the drawer. The microwave was broken. The "dvd player" that was advertised as being in the unit was nowhere to be found. The sofa bed was broken so my daughter slept in our bed. Also don't know about the "high-end" clientele this place boasts. Several nights my husband and I sat out on the balcony and also we came home three nights after 10:00 - people were in pool past ten and being VERY loud - screaming, shouting and being disturbing. Also, two nights we saw a large bands of teenagers running around screaming, being VERY loud and obnoxious. Also had a group at the pool yelling, throwing beers to each other every two minutes. Another lady cleaning her son's ears in the pool (no joke), and one lady taking her kid's poopy swimmy diaper off, not cleaning her, putting on a new one, and putting her right back in the water. All together, I don't think I will be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azizabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in Edgewater section for a week in June. The condo was large, clean and great location. Enjoyed the gated Edgewater section which was quiet and peaceful as compared to the very busy beach, shopping areas and restaurants in peak season. Was a nice retreat after day of visiting or golf. Maximum of 15 people in the very large pool most days. The pool overlooks the intercoastal waterway so nice to see boats pass by. Good shaded areas and bbq by the pool. Spent lots of afternoon here. Pool and hot tub were so clean. Friendly staff and good facilities. Didn`t use the shuttle, and it ran only every hour, which we found restrictive. Short drive to the beach or shops at Barefoot Landing. Recommend condo overlooking water way, was beautiful view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awayjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
3.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,328 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,273 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn North Myrtle Beach
La Quinta Inn North Myrtle Beach
#41 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barefoot Resort Yacht Club
Barefoot Resort Yacht Club
#35 of 42 in North Myrtle Beach
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Resort

Address: 4403 Highway 17 S, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-5254
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $89 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For great vacation accommodations along the Grand Strand, book your next stay with Barefoot Resort by Beach Vacations! -A variety of golf course villas, high-rise condos and spacious townhomes -One, two, three and four bedroom layouts to accommodate any size group -All condos offering full-kitchens and washer/dryers, with many offering complimentary WiFi -Access to outdoor pools and hot tubs on property -Basketball, volleyball and tennis courts available to guests -Four championship quality golf courses available within the resort -Two on-site restaurants -A seasonal beach shuttle with complimentary transport to and from the beach -Located conveniently just inland from the beach and right across the waterway from Barefoot Landing With a diverse catalog of sterling rental condos ranging from one bedroom golf course villas to four bedroom deluxe Yacht Club condos, Barefoot Resort Vacations by Beach Vacations presents you with the finest properties Barefoot Resort has to offer. With each condo providing fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, multiple TVs with cable and complimentary WiFi, the conveniences of home will be at your fingertips. The premier vacation destination in North Myrtle Beach, Barefoot Resort is home to four championship-quality golf courses from some of the elite names in course architecture: Love, Norman, Fazio and Dye. But there's so much more than just golf at the resort! Basketball, volleyball and tennis courts, two on-site restaurants, location right across from fantastic shopping and dining at Barefoot Landing and even a free seasonal beach shuttle are perks you can enjoy during your vacation. Barefoot Resort is also conveniently located near popular attractions like Alligator Adventure, Pirates Voyage and the Tanger Outlets. Other area hot spots like Broadway at the Beach and the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk are just a short drive south from the resort. Book the best for your next vacation and let Beach Vacations help you pick the perfect rental condo at Barefoot Resort! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Barefoot Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Barefoot Resort North Myrtle Beach
Barefoot Resort Myrtle Beach
Barefoot Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Bare Foot Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing