We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Broken! Avoid Unit 1210!”
Review of The Ocean Bay Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean Bay Club
Reviewed July 15, 2011

At first glance, this condo appears to be nice enough. The layout is nice, but that's where the "nice" ends. So many things went wrong while we stayed there, and this place definitely needs some maintenance and deep cleaning.

There were blood and urine stains on the mattress in the master bedroom.

After the unit had supposedly been cleaned and the linens replaced, there were curly black hairs all over the pillows in the master bedroom. These hairs were also in all of the bathroom drawers.

The shower drain in one of the bathrooms was completely clogged. After turning on the shower for a few seconds, dirty water began pooling in the tub without the stopper. The shower pressure in this shower was also poor.
Every toilet in the whole condo was running when we arrived (the maids had put trash cans on top of the toilet lids) and continued to run our entire stay. Although we called maintenance about these plumbing issues our first day, no one every came to fix them. We couldn't use that shower at all.

The dryer didn't work. It took about 10 cycles of the dryer to dry a small load of clothes. Also called the maintenance about this problem; they came and cleaned the lint trap, and that was all! The problem was not solved.

The unit was very dirty. The lamp covering the light in the kitchen was covered in dead bugs. The patios were covered in bird droppings.

Also, we unknowingly went during "Senior Week." Bad time. Kids were peeing in the elevators, spitting off balconies, and being all around rude and loud. The whole place was smelly and loud.

I tried to write this review for Unit 1210 on By Owner Vacation Rentals and they rejected it as "invalid." So be careful ... do your research. And avoid unit 1210 unless you enjoy the above conditions.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 1210.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JC8760845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 138 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

It was felty . Not up to date. Beds were horrible. Appliances didn't work well. When we called for a new coffee pot because the one that was in there was broke the owner sent us a burnt coffee pot with paint stains on it. The glasses were cracked and stained ect. I could go on and on. We had to clean our condo before we could use the bath or walk on the floor.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VicarsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We are currently staying at Ocean Bay Club #902. The complaint about odors and mold are just not true. Perhaps it was something that was dealt with. Other complaints are just the same you are going to find anywhere. We are happy with the condo and the value for the dollar.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank philzone4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Paid for a luxury unit and it was the worst room we have ever stayed in. Although very spacious it was absolutley filthy. We arrived to empty beer cans and cigarette butts on the balcony and cock roaches in the closets both dead and some alive that had to be killed. The floor looked like it hadn't been mopped in a very long time. Our grandchildren pulled out a game and when they opened the box the game was filled with mold. The beds were horrible....just a mattress, no box spring and very, very lumpy. White carpets were black. It's obvious the owner doesn't keep up with the place, therefore a crime they charge so much to rent the unit. They also need to hire a new cleaning service.

I have no problem with Ocean Bay Club because we have stayed there before in a different unit without any issues nor do I have any issues with Elliot Realty because they offered to get the cleaning service back but by then we already did some cleaning ourselves. The room was verry disappointing and definitely not worth the extra money to rent the unit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PaLongball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElliottRealty, Manager at The Ocean Bay Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you so much for your review of your stay with us. We strive to give the best that the Grand Strand has to offer in accommodations and we appreciate your business. We deeply regret any instances in which we failed to meet the high standards of hospitality that our guests deserve and expect. A review of your reservation showed that you had been in touch of management and a resolution has been met. If this is incorrect please contact us so that we may re-open your complaint. Your comments have been invaluable to help us improve this unit and we hope that you were able to enjoy your vacation and all that this area has to offer. We want you to be happy and say nice things about us when you leave.

It is because of our loyal guests that Elliott Beach Rentals has been the front runner in vacation rentals in the Myrtle Beach area for over 50 years.

We sincerely thank you again. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to serve you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Arrived early, receptionist gave us wristband so kids could swim as room was not ready. Gave us their phone # and instructed us to call periodically to see if room ready. Arrived to pool,1st balcony over pool had 5 continuously barking,barking, yipping dogs and the owners of the dogs and the couple on the next balcony arguing over the barking dogs! Owner of the dogs wanted the man on the next balcony to "meet him outside!" An adult threw 3 floats down to pool to another adult FROM THE 12th FLOOR! Called Condolux to see if they could move us, (they could hear the dogs barking) to a different room, they could not. We called hourly to see if our room was ready, still NO. Went up to the 13th floor to see if housekeeping was nearby.....no housekeeper found.... Door was opened, so we went in and quickly looked around. It was disqusting!! The paneling had pieces ripped off, the kitchen cabinets were mismatched, some beige/some white. Definitely NOT worth $2,500/wk! We had 4 adults and 4 children staying, drove 16hrs straight to get there for the week long Cal Ripken Tourniment and did not know what I could do as their cancellation policy states you have to cancel within 30 days of your arrival and the room has to be re-rented in order to get your money back. We were so distraught and upse,t I could have cried!
I called my credit card company to see if there was anything they could do for us. I was told that because we felt the facility was not worth the $2,500, we could leave as long as they had not rendered us any service, which they hadn't. We called Forest Dunes, got a 3 bedroom/3 bath, clean, beautiful condo for $500 less!!
We left, stopped over at the Condolux Office, spoke w/the manager, told her all of our concerns and all she had to say was 'o.k., I am sorry to hear that'. Check in to Forest Dunes and will NEVER stay anywhere else!! Highly recommend Forest Dunes!!
So we left and stayed at Forest Dunes which was WONDERFUL and would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tracmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Rented room 1507 for the 18-25 of june. Got a good deal from ocean bay drive rentals. The deal was so reasonable i had a lowered expectation of the condo as the pictures on the internet were a little dark. The rooms were spacious and the view was killer. The kids had a blast at the pools and lazy river. There was a garbage chute on the floor so you didn't have to haul trash. The only negative was that there was animal hair on one of the beds and kitchen area. kids had a blast at the ocean drive attractions and restaraunts all in easy walking distance. elevators were easy to get on all week except check out day, but that is expected.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winidpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Just got back from a week at the Ocean Bay Club. We stayed in condo 807 rented through Condo-World.

Overall the condo was good. We had 4 bedroom 3 bath unit for 4 couples. The rooms were as described, a master suite with 2 queens, jacuzzi tub, and balcony access. As for the other bedrooms there was 1 room with a queen and attached bath while the other two had 2 single beds per room and shared a bathroom. All linens were provided, however I'd suggest bringing some additional bath towels. The condo was very clean, outfitted with fairly new furnishings.

One plus is the location. Its located very close to the intersection of S Ocean blvd and main at in N Myrtle Beach. There are a lot of restaurants, bars, and some shops. There is also a little carnival setup down the street offering rides and games.

Now for the complaints.
1) the elevators. There are 4 very slow elevators servicing 16 floors (most floors had 8 units) so as you can probably tell they were heavily used. And being heavily used they tended to smell due to the amount of wet bodies coming in from the pool and beach. The elevators are also a nightmare on check in day.

2) The pool. There are two "pool" areas: the lazy river and the regular pool. These were dominated by kids and chair hogs who who would come down early to "claim" their chairs (you'll note the same people everyday). Both of the pool areas are very small with not a whole lot of room to swim our hang out in the water.

So all-in-all not a bad place to stay but IMO you're paying mostly for the oceanfront (there seemed to be quite a nice places to rent directly across the street).

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkno728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppertree by the Sea
Peppertree by the Sea
#42 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maritime Beach Club
Maritime Beach Club
#25 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#34 of 42 in North Myrtle Beach
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ashworth
The Ashworth
#11 of 42 in North Myrtle Beach
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tilghman Beach & Racquet Club
Tilghman Beach & Racquet Club
#27 of 42 in North Myrtle Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Bay Club

Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-8202
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $166 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Bay Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Ocean Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Bay Club Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing