We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Bay Club 1703...no luxury here.”
Review of The Ocean Bay Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean Bay Club
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Paid for a luxury unit and it was the worst room we have ever stayed in. Although very spacious it was absolutley filthy. We arrived to empty beer cans and cigarette butts on the balcony and cock roaches in the closets both dead and some alive that had to be killed. The floor looked like it hadn't been mopped in a very long time. Our grandchildren pulled out a game and when they opened the box the game was filled with mold. The beds were horrible....just a mattress, no box spring and very, very lumpy. White carpets were black. It's obvious the owner doesn't keep up with the place, therefore a crime they charge so much to rent the unit. They also need to hire a new cleaning service.

I have no problem with Ocean Bay Club because we have stayed there before in a different unit without any issues nor do I have any issues with Elliot Realty because they offered to get the cleaning service back but by then we already did some cleaning ourselves. The room was verry disappointing and definitely not worth the extra money to rent the unit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PaLongball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElliottRealty, Manager at The Ocean Bay Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you so much for your review of your stay with us. We strive to give the best that the Grand Strand has to offer in accommodations and we appreciate your business. We deeply regret any instances in which we failed to meet the high standards of hospitality that our guests deserve and expect. A review of your reservation showed that you had been in touch of management and a resolution has been met. If this is incorrect please contact us so that we may re-open your complaint. Your comments have been invaluable to help us improve this unit and we hope that you were able to enjoy your vacation and all that this area has to offer. We want you to be happy and say nice things about us when you leave.

It is because of our loyal guests that Elliott Beach Rentals has been the front runner in vacation rentals in the Myrtle Beach area for over 50 years.

We sincerely thank you again. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to serve you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 140 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

Arrived early, receptionist gave us wristband so kids could swim as room was not ready. Gave us their phone # and instructed us to call periodically to see if room ready. Arrived to pool,1st balcony over pool had 5 continuously barking,barking, yipping dogs and the owners of the dogs and the couple on the next balcony arguing over the barking dogs! Owner of the dogs wanted the man on the next balcony to "meet him outside!" An adult threw 3 floats down to pool to another adult FROM THE 12th FLOOR! Called Condolux to see if they could move us, (they could hear the dogs barking) to a different room, they could not. We called hourly to see if our room was ready, still NO. Went up to the 13th floor to see if housekeeping was nearby.....no housekeeper found.... Door was opened, so we went in and quickly looked around. It was disqusting!! The paneling had pieces ripped off, the kitchen cabinets were mismatched, some beige/some white. Definitely NOT worth $2,500/wk! We had 4 adults and 4 children staying, drove 16hrs straight to get there for the week long Cal Ripken Tourniment and did not know what I could do as their cancellation policy states you have to cancel within 30 days of your arrival and the room has to be re-rented in order to get your money back. We were so distraught and upse,t I could have cried!
I called my credit card company to see if there was anything they could do for us. I was told that because we felt the facility was not worth the $2,500, we could leave as long as they had not rendered us any service, which they hadn't. We called Forest Dunes, got a 3 bedroom/3 bath, clean, beautiful condo for $500 less!!
We left, stopped over at the Condolux Office, spoke w/the manager, told her all of our concerns and all she had to say was 'o.k., I am sorry to hear that'. Check in to Forest Dunes and will NEVER stay anywhere else!! Highly recommend Forest Dunes!!
So we left and stayed at Forest Dunes which was WONDERFUL and would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tracmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Rented room 1507 for the 18-25 of june. Got a good deal from ocean bay drive rentals. The deal was so reasonable i had a lowered expectation of the condo as the pictures on the internet were a little dark. The rooms were spacious and the view was killer. The kids had a blast at the pools and lazy river. There was a garbage chute on the floor so you didn't have to haul trash. The only negative was that there was animal hair on one of the beds and kitchen area. kids had a blast at the ocean drive attractions and restaraunts all in easy walking distance. elevators were easy to get on all week except check out day, but that is expected.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winidpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Just got back from a week at the Ocean Bay Club. We stayed in condo 807 rented through Condo-World.

Overall the condo was good. We had 4 bedroom 3 bath unit for 4 couples. The rooms were as described, a master suite with 2 queens, jacuzzi tub, and balcony access. As for the other bedrooms there was 1 room with a queen and attached bath while the other two had 2 single beds per room and shared a bathroom. All linens were provided, however I'd suggest bringing some additional bath towels. The condo was very clean, outfitted with fairly new furnishings.

One plus is the location. Its located very close to the intersection of S Ocean blvd and main at in N Myrtle Beach. There are a lot of restaurants, bars, and some shops. There is also a little carnival setup down the street offering rides and games.

Now for the complaints.
1) the elevators. There are 4 very slow elevators servicing 16 floors (most floors had 8 units) so as you can probably tell they were heavily used. And being heavily used they tended to smell due to the amount of wet bodies coming in from the pool and beach. The elevators are also a nightmare on check in day.

2) The pool. There are two "pool" areas: the lazy river and the regular pool. These were dominated by kids and chair hogs who who would come down early to "claim" their chairs (you'll note the same people everyday). Both of the pool areas are very small with not a whole lot of room to swim our hang out in the water.

So all-in-all not a bad place to stay but IMO you're paying mostly for the oceanfront (there seemed to be quite a nice places to rent directly across the street).

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkno728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We rented unit 1101 through Carolina Resorts Realty. The person my husband spoke with told him they had actually stayed in unit 1101 and it was in good shape. Although the representative was friendly, the representative was not even close to being accurate about the condition of this disgusting unit. For the price, we did not expect luxury; however, we did expect clean and reasonable furniture. First of all, the place was filthy - cigarettes under one bed, bedroom slippers under another, hair in the bathtub, black feet from walking on the floor, food (and who knows what else) caked on the refrigerator, cabinets, and shelves and thick dust practically everywhere. After I began to clean this disgusting place, I called the cleaning manager for Carolina Resorts Realty, and luckily she came right over. She cleaned everything we asked her to, however, there was not much that could be done about the overall rundown feel of the place.

The furniture was so old, worn out, dirty, disgusting, and SMELLY that we asked them to bring us some sheets to throw over the couches/chairs for the week so we would feel somewhat comfortable sitting on them. PATHETIC. Every wall in the place needs painting (and wiped down as there was questionable “gunk” splattered on many of them). The kitchen counter is cracked; the kitchen sink is very scratched up and stained badly, there is mold along the tracks of the shower doors, the carpet is badly stained and filthy, one of the curtains has a bad stain on it, and the windows/doors are very dirty. The DVD player was not hooked up. When my husband hooked it up, he had to change shirts because of the dust/filth behind the TV. The owners of unit 1101 should be embarrassed. We were told by Carolina Resorts that they were going to steam clean the furniture. I guess we should have asked "when" because it did not happen while we were there.

Also, we were very excited about having an oceanfront unit, but we could not really use our balcony because the outdoor furniture was old, filthy plastic stuff and a rust covered table that they had tried to paint, but just managed to make it look worse. The master bed was extremely hard (it felt like a marble slab). The unit is advertised as having 1 king, 2 queens, and 2 singles. Actually there is 1 king, 1 queen, 1 full, and 2 singles. We were totally disappointed in this rental and will never rent from this company again because we were misled about the state of this rental. We were told by Carolina Resorts that new outdoor patio furniture was on the way. Again, we should have asked "when".....you guessed it....no furniture. We did not believe it was too much to ask to have a clean table/chair to enjoy a morning cup of coffee and view the ocean in an oceanfront condo.

As far as Ocean Bay Club goes, two employees said the building was about 10 years old. We were shocked. The building looks 30 years old. If I owned a condo in that building I would be concerned...very concerned The pool is small but adequate and the lazy river was nice. The convenience to the beach is great. Parking was difficult because of the set up of the parking garage. Getting an elevator on Saturday check in was a total hassle. There are only 4 elevators for 16 floors. The building is located within walking distance of several restaurants and the pavilion area in NMB. There is also a Wings or Eagles store within walking distance. In short...DO NOT STAY IN THIS UNIT.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We just got back from staying at the Ocean Bay Club. We stayed in unit 1305 and were very happy with it. We rented from Elliot and found them pleasent to deal with. Everything was as it said it would be so we really had very little interaction w/ Elliot.

The unit was well maintained and well equiped. It had 4 bedrooms. The master was ocean front. The bedroom for the kids (w/ the two twin beds) was near the entry of the unit and had a window in it that opened up to the outside hall. That made me a bit nervous since we were so far away from the kids (ages 3 and 7). The jacuzzi tub in the master bath was awesome. We loved having the in house washer and dryer too. The view from the balcony can not be beat. I loved sitting on the balcony and watching and listening to the waves.

We thought the beach was nicer than where we stayed last year (The Caribbean in Myrtle Beach). The pool and lazy river were nice too because they had partial shade in the afternoon.

I really liked that the parking garage was attached to the building. We've stayed places where the garage is across the street and that is a real pain.

We would definately stay at the unit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NicGee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

My husband and i took our grandchildren on vacation with us in May of 2010 we stayed at Ocean Bay South and when we walked through the doors of our condo the first thing i saw was dust on everything. It smelled awful the carpet was awful and dirty it smelled like dog pooh and urin. Even though we cleaned it was just bearly tolorable. We all have allergies so we was miserable. I can truly say that was the most awful vacation i ever had. I will never stay there again not ever!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank paulabus2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,328 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resor...
#18 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
958 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ashworth
The Ashworth
#10 of 42 in North Myrtle Beach
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Bay Club

Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-8202
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $172 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Bay Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Ocean Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Bay Club Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing