We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
92
73
60
33
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
92
73
60
33
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front tiki bar on site hot tub towel exchange an older resort studio room full kitchen north myrtle game room restaurants and shops staff was very friendly and helpful nice pool main street beach trip working order pull out couch great amenities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 299 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2019 via mobile

Ok, this was absolutely the worst! I arrived at the hotel around 8:15pm. I was tired from the 3 1/2 hour drive down. I couldn’t wait to check in and take a shower and relax. Unfortunately, when I got my keys, I opened the door and turned on the lights. I immediately saw a baby roach in the bathroom. I thought, that’s a fluke, but as I walked down the hall, I saw another. Then over by the bed...another. I grabbed my things and went back downstairs ready to receive a refund to go elsewhere. I was quickly told that bc I booked through Expedia, they could not refund my money (for my 3 night stay). I told him I could not stay in there with bugs. He said every since Hurricane Dorian, they have had issues with bugs...REALLY??? I was on the second floor and they were not water bugs, they were roaches. He further said he could move me to another room until they sprayed and then I would have to move back. I remained as calm as I possibly could. I could not believe this was happening. He said he would check another room to see if it was ok, he also gave me a key to check out another room. This hotel is very old without updates that also has carpet that smells. I didn’t feel comfortable walking across the floor. The bathtub...there was no way I could get in there. The drapes were way too close to the bed. I wish someone had written a review to this extent bc my husband would have never booked at this place. I was traveling alone thinking this would be the perfect getaway while my husband was out of town for work. This was so not the case. I felt the need (as tired as I was) to go purchase a comforter w/sheets to put on top of the bedding already on the bed. I had to Febreze everything to make it pleasant smelling so I could make it through the night in that room. The next morning, I opened the curtains to see the ocean water, but the condensation on the window made it hard to see. What made it worst was the glass was wet on the inside of the room from the condensation. The drapes were soaked. I took pictures. Trust me, I couldn’t make this up if I tried. The kicker was I checked out the next day, once my husband booked me another room at another resort, I went to the front desk and told the man working I was checking out and he grabbed the key and said, you’re all set. He didn’t ask what room (by the way, the 3rd and final room I stayed in was 404) bc the 2 I tried on the 2nd FL was worst. Wow! I felt as though we threw money in the trash bc we couldn’t get refunded and I had to go somewhere else to have an enjoyable getaway. Hopefully this will help you make an educated decision on whether or not you choose to stay here.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela Howard, Other at Maritime Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2020

Thank you for your review. We certainly apologize for the issues you had after checking in at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

Thanks to lingering summer temperatures , my early October visit was filled with warm sun and relaxation at the pool area or on the beach , which is only a short walk from the heated pool , with plenty of lounge chairs and tables . The staff is friendly and so helpful , with a number of planned activities available during the week . The bedroom is on the small side , but with a very comfortable bed . The livingroom and kitchen area is open for convenience and each unit looks out to the ocean with a small balcony for viewing the sunrise or the listening to the waves in the moonlight . Everything is clean and well run . I liked the location away from heavy traffic , but only a couple of blocks from restaurants and shops .

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Front Office Manager at Maritime Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Thank you for the review. We are glad you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

Maritime Beach Club is beginning to show it's age on the inside. The rooms definitely need a makeover. Ceoling, carpet, furniture have seen better days. Air conditioner coming apart and letting gnats in. However, staff are the most courteous and friendly staff.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Garmanheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Front Office Manager at Maritime Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Thank you for your response. We have already renovated the 9th floor with all new cabinets, floors, furniture, bedding etc. We are scheduled to renovate another entire floor at the beginning of 2020 and hopefully will have the remaining floors done over the next 2 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

we expected a small room, and most of the unit was fine. But, the bedroom was not planned out well. There was barely enough room to walk around the bed and very little space for storage. AC unit in bedroom very loud. dishes in the dish washer. outside of refrigerator not very clean. Needs some upgrades in the kitchen. wish the balcony had room for chairs but did have a beautiful view of ocean. all in all would probably return.

Room tip: just do some upgrades in kitchen and bathroom. more storage in bedroom.
Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Front Office Manager at Maritime Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

This was the smallest one bedroom I have ever stayed in. The bed took up the entire room with just enough room on each side to walk. No dresser, just a small linen closet with a shelf for your clothing. The condo itself was in dire need of an upgrade. The couch was old and full of stains. The dining area was cramped. The ceilings had water stains everywhere and pieces of the popcorn paint were falling to the floor. There was mold on the bathtub tiles. I was told by a timeshare owner that a lot of water damage was sustained in Hurricane Matthew and they are redoing the condos at the rate of one floor each year. There are 8 floors. The grounds were beautifully kept and the pool area was clean and inviting. The tiki bar had delicious food and we spent a lot of fun time there.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bissy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela Howard, Other at Maritime Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2020

Thank you for your review. You are correct about the Hurricane damage which was sustained each year for 3 or 4 years in a row. Units are being renovated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews