We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dino's Italian & Greek Cuisine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dino's Italian & Greek Cuisine
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were seated immediately. The restaurant was fairly empty as we arrived at about 8:00 pm, and we just assumed that it was after the dinner rush. We waited about 15-20 minutes without even an acknowledgement from any staff member...no water, nothing. We watched the waiter (?) who seated us return to the table in front of us at least 3 times and also watched him wait on another table of people seated about the same time we were with not even a glance in our direction. Since there are many other restaurants at Barefoot Landing, we got up and left. My niece explained to one of the wait staff why we were leaving and she looked very confused but did not try to stop us from going. We went somewhere else, had great service and wonderful food. Your loss, Dino.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience of the trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We regularly vacation in Myrtle Beach and this year decided to give Dino's a try since the majority of our party is Greek. We should have paid a little more attention to the little blurb about the restaurant we found before dinner - the chef is supposedly from Greece, yet his name is Luigi? Hmm... first red flag.

Second red flag - we walk into the restaurant during prime dinner rush, it is practically empty. Yet all the other popular restaurants at Barefoot Landing (Joe's Crab Shack, Flying Fish, Greg Norman's Australian Grille and T-Bonz) are mobbed with long waiting times.

Third red flag - atrocious spelling errors abound in the menu. Dino's claims to be a Greek and Italian restaurant. Yet, they can't even spell their own dishes correctly. I wanted to take a red marker and mark up the menu since it was so bad.

Fourth red flag - the majority of our party split a variety of Greek appetizers for the meal while I ordered an Italian dish (chicken parmigiana). The waiter wasn't even familiar with the names of the Greek appetizers and had to be shown the names. Granted, he did say it was his second day at the restaurant. However, that only showed that the restaurant didn't even bother to show its waitstaff its menu and get them familiar with it.

Fifth red flag - The food was abominable! The cheese pita appetizer wasn't even cooked - it was stone cold! And it wouldn't even have passed for a real cheese pita in Greece or in our households as it wasn't made with feta. One of the appetizer platters was supposed to have a variety of items on it (e.g. lobster) but when it came out, the lobster was not there. When asked why the lobster was not there, the manager stated that the menu had changed and it was no longer offered. Yet, the restaurant had never updated the menu or offered a substitution in its place. But one would still be paying the inflated price for a platter that didn't serve lobster.... The rest of the appetizer items were hit or miss, mostly being a "miss." As for the Italian dish - one would think you can't mess that up, right? Well - sure enough you can! The cheese was not melted properly so when I cut into my chicken (which was overcooked), the cheese promptly slid off in one thick congealed slice. I lost my appetite after one bite. The accompanying spaghetti was overcooked and the sauce was tasteless.

Sixth red flag - When our dining party alerted the waiter to the unsatisfactory food, he promptly got the manager who waved away our concerns about the lobster-less platter with his explanation that the menu had been changed with respect to that particular platter but had not been updated accordingly. He was not receptive or willing to listen to our concerns about the rest of the food in general. He did say that they would offer 20% off the bill for our inconvenience. After a replacement cheese pita dish was brought out (hot this time) and found to be just as unsatisfactory because it was tasteless and not even close to the real thing, we asked to see the manager again. After explaining to the manager why we were dissatisfied with the meal overall, we asked to see the owner. The manager never got the owner for us as he kept avoiding the issue and leaving us. We did find out from the waiter that the owner was on-site and just didn't want to deal with us. Eventually, the manager came back to us and said that they would take 50% off our bill.

The only positive we had from this visit was the waiter himself, he was very nice, responsive and pleasant. The management and cooking at this restaurant leaves a lot to be desired and I will never return and will tell my family and friends not to eat here as it was not worth the time, money or aggravation in dealing with the management.

This is one restaurant that I think will be shut down when we return to Barefoot Landing next summer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schnauzermom05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor value for the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our second trip to Myrtle Beach and to Dino's restaurant as well. Our family decided to return to Dino's since we had a favorable experience last year at this restaurant. How disappointed we were with the food. I don't usually write reviews but the food was bland and tough to eat as we have ever experienced. The server was pleasant enough, however, there wasn't much to be done by him. Best way to describe the food...as if you were to microwave something at home and leave it in for too long...everything was tough and clumpy.

To top it off...our family of 6 had the gratuity automatically added to the bill. We won't go back to Dino's. It's really ashame because the restaurant is beautifully appointed inside and my wife and I are Greek. The food's nowhere near what it should be for the price.

Better values elsewhere!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffs, CA
1 review
“Mmp Choo Wmmps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The lady Swede or whatever is an idiot, the waitstaff was DOING THEIR JOB letting them know what they were out of. Dino's is a great place to eat, eat there. Don't listen to an old bat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MmpChooWmmps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acme, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst restaurant we ate at”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Food terrible. Manager had wait staff running all over place. Daughters food never came. There was no wait. We knew why after we ate there

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Acatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dino's Italian & Greek Cuisine also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing