We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dirty Dick's Crab House - CLOSED

Dirty Dick's Crab House
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

All 3 of us were very disappointed with our food. The "style" is supposed to be Cajun, but that was questionable. The ribs were inedible. They were tough and almost tasteless other than the sauce. We won't return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    23
    29
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I thought the catfish and sweet potatoe fries were amazing! The staff was very nice and accomodating and our meal came fast.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

A great restaurant to bring the family! They have a huge menu! Some things are a bit pricey but the food was excellent! Already been there twice on my vacation and plan to stop there again before I leave! Crab Cakes were A++++++ :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible food, service and towing thrown in for extra.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The menu is the same concept as any chain restaurant, except for the fried gator tail. I was excited about trying it. I couldn't taste anything because it was so overcooked and extremely hard and crunchy, it was like eating fried concrete. I had the shrimp and grits for my entree. I could get better from the frozen food section of my local grocery store. The waitress was extremely slow, seeming to have completely forgotten about us all together. I don't mind paying good money for good food and service. However, I paid good money for lousy food and bad service. The "entertainment" of the night was watching as unsuspecting customers of the next door establishment had their cars immediately towed by Dirty Dicks for parking in their parking lot. Instead of the parking attendant informing these poor souls their cars are going to be towed if they park there, the car owners were allowed to walk away and the attendant then would have the towing company to come get the car. The parking lot was not full, therefore there was room for any Dirty Dicks customer to park, as well as the next door establishment's customers. The name Dirty Dicks is so very appropriate in this regard. It is obvious why there were more people eating next door than at Dirty Dicks. The food had to be better, it sure as heck could not have been any worse, and the patrons were not being treated like dicks. I have no desire to eat here ever again, not only because of the bad food and service, but because of poor business practices and ethics.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Menu has variety - specialty is crabs. Food was OK. Service was OK. The place was 1/4 full at peak dinner time - hmmmm.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BROCK O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Dick's Crab House also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing