We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love”

Barefoot Resort - Love Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carolina native, Davis Love III embraces a tradition of Lowcountry character in his latest design. The Love course incorporates the recreated ruins of an old plantation home along holes 3-7. Wide open fairways and generous landing areas set the stage for an unforgettable round of golf.The Love Course at Barefoot Resort is a traditional course with a Lowcountry character and incorporates Davis Love, III's Carolina golfing experiences in the design. This visually striking course features course generous landing areas and greens complexes similar to those found on Pinehurst #2 at the 1999 U.S. Open. The Love Course is a Par 72 and plays over 7,000 yards. The course will challenge the good player, yet provide playability and enjoyment for the average player.Tee and fairways consist of GN-1, which is a hybrid turf developed by Greg Norman Turf. The approach areas consist of Tif-sport Bermuda grass. The greens surfaces are newly acquired Champion UltraDwarf and the rough areas are 419 Bermuda grass.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love Love Love”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My favorite at Barefoot. beautiful beautiful beautiful greens perfect great driving range good bar and restaurant this is a must play

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank karenc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great course to play”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we were the first group to tee off,4hr round,very interesting course lots of traps,water and walls yet nice to play,the clubhouse has lots of character,we got a steel of adeal at $50,would play again

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Tough Course with focus on $ not golfer”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm in the Customer Experience business so I admittedly tend to be a touch more critical. However, businesses need to be customer focused first before we could help them innovate their customer experience processes.

We arrived at 5:00pm on a cold day to the Dye course. There was only a handful of cars in the parking lot on this cold day. But we wanted to get 9 holes in to start our trip off. There is NO twilight rate - only a 9 hole and 18 hole rate. We were quoted $60 for 9. A touch on this high side but we wanted to play. We went to park the car and get our clubs ready. When we came back in to pay, the guy tells us he made a mistake and it's $80 for 9 holes. We promptly said "no, thanks."

Inside I was saying "WHAT?" We decided to push back and luckily, for them, some manager stepped in and said they could make the $60 work. The bottom line... this course is more focus on their $ than on creating a great golf experience for their customers. I'm not saying they should be giving tee times for free but seriously....they were about to let $240 walk out the door at 5pm on a VERY quiet day at the course. Not the kind of company I like to give my money too.

PS. The Dye course is a very tough challenge. Bring your A game and lots of patience!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Utterly so so”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My and my compadre played this course this March. Super unimpressed by the layout. The only memorable holes are the ones with the goofy 'fake' ruins. We just didn't get the appeal of the track. It isn't bad mind you, but there are 15 other course in the area that roast this one. Buyer beware. Condition ok, difficulty middle of road.

Helpful?
Thank armccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great course”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Enjoyed it. It was challenging. Nice layout and forces you to make choices (risk vs reward is definitely in play). Bermuda greens were fast, hard and immaculate. Play it! Next time I will try the Barefoot Fazio course as I understand the bunkers are enormous and the course more challenging.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Resort - Love Golf Course also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Barefoot Resort - Love Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing