We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Golf”

Barefoot Resort - Love Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carolina native, Davis Love III embraces a tradition of Lowcountry character in his latest design. The Love course incorporates the recreated ruins of an old plantation home along holes 3-7. Wide open fairways and generous landing areas set the stage for an unforgettable round of golf.The Love Course at Barefoot Resort is a traditional course with a Lowcountry character and incorporates Davis Love, III's Carolina golfing experiences in the design. This visually striking course features course generous landing areas and greens complexes similar to those found on Pinehurst #2 at the 1999 U.S. Open. The Love Course is a Par 72 and plays over 7,000 yards. The course will challenge the good player, yet provide playability and enjoyment for the average player.Tee and fairways consist of GN-1, which is a hybrid turf developed by Greg Norman Turf. The approach areas consist of Tif-sport Bermuda grass. The greens surfaces are newly acquired Champion UltraDwarf and the rough areas are 419 Bermuda grass.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific Golf”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Loved playing this course. We never felt rushed by the staff and it was absolutely gorgeous. I didnt shoot what I had hoped for but it was most memorable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Statefan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not totally in Love.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The club house and staff are great. I got in on a discount day so the price was good ($60). The golf experience was very good; practice facility, equipment, course condition was excellent. Course design and layout was a little tricked up and very difficult from most tee positions. Way too many bunkers in the landing areas. Not many bale out options. The greens were in good shape and putted very true and easily. There are a lot of other choices I'd play before I spent $100 (average green fee) to play Love course again. If the price was right I'd like to try the other 3 courses.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank scratchgolfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great course, great time!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We played at the end of June right before they were planning to shutdown and replace the greens. It was a nice experience, course was in good shape and was challenging. The pace of play was smooth( we played a round in 4:15). The staff was very friendly at check in, starting, and when leaving.

Helpful?
Thank gbonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to walk around and get frozen custard (yum!) and do some nice shopping.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It is by the water where you can feed the fish, nice for the kids. Nicer stores for beach shopping than the bargain stores on the main drag. There are lots of restaurants to eat!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bedrocks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great restaurants! Great shopping! So clean! We would go back here again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacy44885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Resort - Love Golf Course also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Barefoot Resort - Love Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing