We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures are VERY deceptive...beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Towers on the Grove
GreenLeadersSilver level
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pictures are VERY deceptive...beware!”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This place looks outstanding in the pictures, but not so much when there in person.

If you like to hang out in the pool or even the pool area, DO NOT stay at this place. The pool they have is indoors/under cover. The outdoor "pool" is actually the lazy river, where you are in intertubes and kids (and some adults) are swimming by, pushing and shoving to get past you. NOT RELAXING! So there is NO outdoor pool. Also, they have signs not to reserve chairs by the pool but people still do it. If you aren't out there by 9:00 am, forget getting a seat out there the whole day.

The rooms are much, much smaller than they appear in the pictures. And the balconies (ocean front) are tiny. The lobby is on the 3rd floor, which is weird when checking in or out. And the elevators are terribly slow. If you do the 'tour' on their website, pay very close attention to the "pool" and the rooms and you will see what I mean.

Overall, for the price paid, I would NOT suggest staying here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappyguestNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    166
    82
    64
    57
See reviews for
327
201
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The VILLE
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2009

what was good
1) newer place
2) nice decor
what was not good
1) beds are hard and linens were below average
2) location is north of everything
3) service people missing and knowledge of the jobs and things going on in the area
everything else was just ok not great

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burrecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The hotel was ok. I feel the pictures were misleading. There was not a window in the masterbedroom and no closet. There was a wordrobe with two drawers under it. The room was very small to have a king size bed. The pictures were taken so you could not tell that the inner bedrooms had no windows. they also showed ceiling fans, there was not one in our unit. The living room was small, also only 3 chairs on the balcony for a unit that would sleep 6.

For it to have only been opened less than a year our unit already needed to be painted. The kitchen had everything we needed and it was clean. The rooms were cleaned early each day.

The pool is under the building, the lazy river is outside. There are only 50 chairs out side by the lazy river, thats not many for 20 story building.There are signs up about not holding the chairs, that towels holding chairs will be but in the lost and found. That did not happen. Each morning when the pool opened at 8 you could see people almost running saving 5 or 6 chairs with towels and then leave. Those towels were never placed in the lost and found. The pool area with the 2 showers is locked at 10 pm, found this out while walking on the beach and coming back about 10:15 to find it locked and no where to wash off you feet, so it was inside with sandy feet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyngsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, ma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My college aged daughters and I stayed at Towers on the Grove for 5 nights recently. The good points of this condo hotel is that the units are new, nicely decorated and clean
They sit directly on the beach and have lovely views. They have 2 large hot tubs, a lazy river and a great water play area for the kids. Housekeeping was very good and seemed to be in and out as soon as we left the room.
The neagtives were that the elevators are the slowest that I have ever experienced as there are 4 elevators servicing the entire property (about 14 floors). Most people on lower floors opted for the stairs after waiting up to 10 minutes for an elevator. As other people have stated, the parking garage is accross the street and can be very deserted at night. The beds are also very uncomfortable. The 1 bedroom unit we stayed in had the 2 queen beds next to the kitchen (no wall or door) so that you could not get up early and use the kitchen while people were asleep in the bedroom area. The 2 and 3 bedrooms appeared to have a more traditional design.
Your are very close to a large grocery store and gift shop. In terms of restaurants, there are really only 2 small bar type restaurants within walking distance and there is no food service at the hotel. You are about a 15 minute drive to most myrtle beach attractions.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kishsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the rooms. The hotel was pretty much as described on their website and with free parking across the street. The only thing I didn't like is that upon check-in and check-out, it was nearly impossible to find a luggage cart. It wasn't a big deal though as the rooms were very nice, very modern, and very quiet. We are actually thinking about going back next month for a long weekend!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoOSUBuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weddingdivagrl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed July 9th-July 13th and had an overall great time. We chose TOG over a lot of the other MB hotels based on bad reviews I had read. I really did not want to stay somewhere that was outdated and had a bug problem (common issues at area hotels). I did a lot of research, so I knew what to expect when we arrived at TOG. Some of the complaints I have read concerning TOG are just travelers that are being extra picky. This is a tourist town, so of course there are going to be lots of people and a lot of children. Here is a review of each of the feature of the hotel:
Parking Garage- Small, but pretty nice. The hotel is not at all in a scary place, so it was no problem to park across the street. There is in an elevator, so even if you have to park high up it is no problem.
Elevator Area- There are 4 elevators and at most times it was not that busy. However, late afternoon and early evening were an issue and the waiting area is not that large. We took the stairs 2 times because my husband has no patience! If it was just me, I would have waited.
Check In/Lobby- Yes, it is on the 3rd floor. Makes sense, since the pool and loading area are on the first floor. Check in was very fast (approx 5pm) and the desk employees were very nice.
Room- A lot narrower than I was expecting, but it had plenty of room. We had a 2 double ocean front room. The kitchen was first with the bathroom across, followed by the bedroom and then a seperate living area with fold out couch and large flat screen TV. This room has a door, so you could enjoy both living areas at the same time if you wanted. From this room, is the balcony. We had a great view of the ocean! It was nice to sit out and relax. The glass doors are pretty sound proof, so I don't think there would ever be an issue with noise from the ocean/pool/people.
Beach- Very nice. Even ont he busiest days, there was plenty of room to find a spot (I would go towards the south of the hotel, instead of sitting right out front).
Pool- I loved the water slide (I am 25!), but did not use the lazy river or other areas. People have complained about this not having an actual outdoor pool, but who goes to the beach for the pool? Sounds crazy to me!
Local Area- There is a few places that you can walk to that are very close (liquor store, grocery store, and a few resturants). We actually drove most of the time though.
House Keeping- There was really no need for us to have the maids come daily and we put the do not disturb sign up the first night and left it. However, I saw the maids every day on our floor, so I would not doubt that your room would be cleaned if you wanted it to be.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weddingdivagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We really loved our week at Towers on the Grove. There was plenty of things to keep our 3 young children busy. There was a young girl who led planned activities every day. It was busy, but we epected that in July. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteguy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,108 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,260 reviews
5.8 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,630 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Towers on the Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Towers on the Grove

Property: Wyndham Vacation Resorts Towers on the Grove
Address: 2100 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Towers on the Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an interior with a touch of stunning art deco design; Ingeniously laid out condominium units in combinations of Studio, 1, 2, and 3 Bedrooms; each with it's own private balcony, offering a spectacular view of the the ocean. Gaze carelessly at the stunning sunrise as you embrace the refreshing ocean breezes. Wireless internet access, full kitchen, and designer furnishings. Fitness Center recently refurbished with state of the art Cybex equipment. Towers on the Grove is the jewel of North Myrtle Beach. Come ready to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Towers on the Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towers At North Myrtle Beach Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing