We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Waste of Money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Duffy Street Seafood Shack - CLOSED

Duffy Street Seafood Shack
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The newest addition to the Duffy Street restaurants in MB. This one is #3 owned by the same family.
Monroe, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Huge Waste of Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The place was dead...we should have turned around as soon as we walked in the front door when there was no one in sight! The place was cold and depressing. We were hungry and ordered $100 worth of seafood...it all was the worst ever! Food came out super fast since the place was dead. On the plate it all looked great...took the first bite and all the wind was let out of our sails. Take your money to the Chesapeake House.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RyanAndTiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    19
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Food tasted fresh and home made. Great service and prices. One of our favorite places to eat. Better than most upscale seafood placed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallyboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It is what it is!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you want good beer and fried seafood and are just in the mood for some fun then this is a place for you. It is around the corner from our Ashworth condo so it is an easy walk which is a plus for us. It has outside seating which is great for people watching. and free Peanuts with your beer...yummmm. the food is ok and you get lots of it.....not for dieters.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Damianz666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Always great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A visit or two to Duffy Street Seafood Shack is always on my list when I'm in North Myrtle Beach. And I always go for their fried green tomatoes. Hefty portions and thick cut for a delightful appetizer or almost can make a meal off of them. But a word of warning.... their home made dipping sauce is horrible. Go for ranch or even blue cheese. Both of these go great with them. Last visit I tried their Pig Skin Shrimp. Delicious!!! I've never gone wrong when eating at Duffy's.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went for an early dinner at Duffy's so we didn't run into service problems that other diners had. The place was nearly empty at the time. Food was pretty good. I agree with other posters that it was not as good as I remembered the original location in Cherry Grove to be. The best meal our party had was the shrimp and grits.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duffy Street Seafood Shack also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing