We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities - great beach/pools”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Beach Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We just concluded a 4 nights/5 day stay at this property and thouroughly enjoyed the beach and pools. If you do not care for full service hotel style service, but you would rather have luxurious condos with full kitchen, then this is the place for you!! The only complaint I have is that the units do not seem to have proper sound insulation from one unit to the next. Two days into our stay, someone moved in the unit next door and we were constantly bothered by the snoring filtring through the walls at night. You should however hope that you do not have a similar situation, because the beach access, pools, hot tubs, etc., are top notch. I wish their lazy river was a bit longer and was outdoors.

The units are absolutely gorgeous. We had a three bedroom unit that had a large patio accessible from family room and master suite. The shower and tub in master suite are top notch. The kitchen has granite counter tops and is equipped with GE profile appliances including front loaded washer and dryer. The only minor concern is that they have carpeting underneath the dining table. Just take care not to spill anything and you will be fine.

Garbage collection is regular and towel service is rather spotty. Some reviews here have raised concern over the parking garage and we faced no issues with our SUV. We almost always found a spot under the Jasmine tower, where we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,653 - 2,659 of 2,757 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

First I want to say that these are condos, owned by someone and rented through an on premises service. There is no room service, which is why I rated it 3 stars for service, not because it was bad service, they just don't offer a lot. There is no bellman, maid service, ( although I heard you can arrange for it beforehand for an additional fee). They do take out your trash and will do a towel exchange as long as you are in the room when they come, or if you request it. There is a washer & dryer so you can launder them also. They provide toilet paper, tissues and some small sundries in the bathroom. Also have dishwashing machine detergent and hand dish soap, enough for a few days stay.

This place has all the amenities of home, including flat screen TVs in all bedrooms and in the living room. Each unit is decorated to the owners choice, so each is different. Our unit was professionally designed as I believe most of them are. There were IPod docks everywhere. There is a large walk in closet in the main bedroom. Very roomy and clean, afterall these units are barely a year old at most. Every room has an ocean view and outside deck with table and chairs.

The only down side is that there are only a limited amount of sold units that can be rented so it;s not easy to get a reservation suited to your needs. The more units that sell, the more that will be available. Also, the development is still in the process of adding more buildings, and at the time we were there there was only a cafe open for breakfast and lunch, but it was actually a really good value. We had a large breakfast for 1/2 the cost of one out on the road. Good quality too.A steakhouse was set to open soon after our stay, as well as some shops. There is a spa which I didn't use, and a gym.

They still need to get a lot of the wrinkles out, since they are so very new and still in the process of expanding to a full resort.

Pool area is beautiful, not a lot of kid oriented things (like slides) but has a lazy river, and many many pools of all depths, beautiful and clean, spread out over a large area. Kids are vey welcomed. There is a swim up bar too, offering snowcones and non alcholic drinks as well as cocktails. The beach is a walk over a boardwalk. Baefoot Landing is right across the main road.

I have to say it was the highlight of our trip to be in such a nice resort styled place. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Definetly would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judie074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We have been to Myrtle Beach about 10 times and I have to say that this is the nicest condo that we have ever stayed in. The property was amazing and the staff was great!! Never had to wait for an elevator and the parking and pools were great.

I had reservations last year but they were cancelled 2 weeks prior to us leaving since the units were not ready. I'm sure glad that we decided to try again this year.

I sure wish that they would rent out their electric cars . :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I live in S. California but grew up in NC. We travel to NMB every summer for a week. My family LOVES IT. We've stayed at The Avista and the other "higher end" NMB and Cherry Grove spots. North Beach wins easily. Beacuse of it's furnishings, the ease of parking the # and speed of the elevators, the location and because of the POOL(s) area. Simply terrfiic. MUCH BETTER than the competition. It's also a VERY lovely piece of beach. A little worried though. This place is struggling. A LARGE number of unsold units. Great this summer because we had the place largely to ourselves. Not comfortable this will be the same next year or in the future though..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanchoMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We just returned this afternoon from a four night, five day stay at North Beach Towers. We had a three bedroom, three bath condo in Jasmine House on the 15th floor. Since we had done plenty of research ahead of time, it was easy to find the check-in / sales center upon arrival. Our condo was available around 1PM on Wednesday. We were, of course, happy to see that all guests must wear plastic pool bands (you can remove them at whim) so as to avoid random people using the facilities. Plenty of times we saw employees walking around the pool and asking for names and room #'s for those people not wearing the bands. There was never a problem getting a chair around the multiple pools. Most employees we encountered were really nice, with the exception of a couple of the bar tenders who were not the most polite or service-oriented (the guys who work during the day in the week). There's no doubt in my mind everyone in my family would travel back to North Beach for another stay next year.

PROS:
- The pool facilities really are the pride of North Myrtle Beach hotels. Every day and night when we'd come up from the beach, people walking by would be standing there in awe at the multiple pools and ask us questions about the property.
- Balconies for every unit are absolutely huge, with plenty of seating. Every unit has amazing ocean front views.
- Everything you'd need is provided in the kitchen, including wine glasses, plates, blender, coffee maker (no filters provided). You also need paper towels.
- Everything was MOSTLY spotless (see below for exceptions).
- All common areas really impressive and looked truly luxurious.
- Music is played on sound system around pool and it's really fun beach music (i.e. 80s rock, etc.). Really great addition to atmosphere.

CONS:
- Drinks at pool bar are way too expensive and service is inconsistent. You have to have your driver's license on-hand should you wish to charge your drinks to your room.
- The provided trash removal and towel swap service seems to be very inconsistent. Only ONCE did anyone knock on our door to ask if we needed trash taken away. This was supposed to happen each day. Also, it seems you have to call to get new towels, although this changes according to which review you're reading.
- Bar hours are much too short. It closes around 6PM.
- The so called "restaurant / cafe" is a little silly. The morning we went down to the third floor there were a few baked good and that's about it. If you want lunch around the pool, you order at the bar and they "call" it in. While it worked okay for a few of us, one in our party had a bad experience. A hot dog was STILL not brought down after 35 minutes and he then canceled the order.
- Pool AND beach access closes around 11. Should you wish to walk on the beach after that, you must find a random walk-way from the beach to the back of Jasmine tower.
- Upon arriving, lots of left over popcorn from previous guests on the carpet in the living room.

*** FYI, I'd recommend Sea Blue Restaurant about six miles up the road. Found it here on Trip Advisor and it was amazing! True cosmopolitan experience and some of the BEST steak I've had in a long time. Also great truffle mac and cheese and impressive wine list.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

For $300+ a night I expected much better service than we received. The room was lovely and spacious, but this hotel needs to make up it's mind regarding its identiy (is it a hotel, or a rental condo?) We thought we had booked a hotel, but the towers are actually for-sale condo units that are rented out through the plantation sales office. The check-in is not located at the towers, but is actually on the other side of the "plantation" as is the fitness center and spa (not very convenient). There is a pool bar (do NOT order their mohito-awful!) The pool bar calls into their cafe to place food orders, but it took 35 min to get a hotdog, and we had to wait by the pool bar to receive it because there is no outdoor waitstaff.

The only housekeeping that comes to your room is a guy who knocks on the door to take out the garbage. They do not turn down the beds or freshen the towels- you have to wash them yourself using the in-room washer/dryer- or call to the office to have fresh ones delivered. They did not supply detergent or dish washing liquid- but they did charge $12.88 a day for cleaning service.

There is no room service, but supposedly they will have a steak house opening in the winter 2010. The indoor lazy river was a joke- very small, located to the left of the outdoor pools. The parking garage is very poorly designed- it was very difficult manuevering with oncoming cars- often one car had to reverse just to make a passable lane for the other.

The size and style of the room were the big pluses. King sized bed was luxurious. Master bath had large tiled shower and whirlpool soaking tub. Large walk in closet offered plenty of hanging space and shelves. Second bedroom was good size with it's own full-sized bathroom. Balcony was lovely- It had a table and chairs for outdoor eating as well as a chaise lounge.

The Plantation is located across the street from Barefoot Landing- a boardwalk shopping village with a little something for everyone. Good restaurants and attractions including the #1 rated Myrtle Beach course are all within 1 mile.

I would stay again, but I would not pay $300 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewquuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

we ran into many issues during our week in a 3 bedroom Magnolia condo earlier this month. We had for some reason a rotten egg odor that reoccurred through the vents various times during the week. Maintenance was attentive, but unable to find the cause of the odor. We called on this at least 4 days during the week (you would think they would move us - perhaps they were sold out). Our friends left 2 days early as the smell was too much for their son. It seemed that the room was put together in a hurry with corners cut. Shades fell off windows, toilet paper holder fell off, barstool came apart when lifted up. One we lost water usage for an afternoon as well as cable tv. Some of the plates and glassware had chips, which I find unusual for a new condo. There was a leak in a bathroom upstairs from our unit as the ceiling in one of the bathrooms was bubbling and had some slight mold forming. The internet was very spotty and reception was mediocre at best. To top it all off, at 8:45am on the Sunday we were leaving (checkout at 11am), housekeeping rang the bell and two workers asked if we were leaving today. This woke us as well as our infant child up. I rudely told them yes, but not until 10:59pm!

All said, and this seems like a lot, the resort has great upside potential. It is expensive, but the pool is fantastic (it would be nice if the pool bar stayed open later than 6pm since there is no other bar on the premesis), beach access is great, the staff was friendly, and it is a rather impressive building. Perhaps our situation was isolated, but I find the rotten egg smell only affecting us being unlikely. The general manager apologized repeatedly during a conversation I had with her after we checked out, and they refunded me for one night as compensation, which was about $550 of the $3800 spent.

If I was confident some of these issues had been resolved I would definitely go back. However, for the price spent, we certainly expected a better experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
4.4 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,328 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,673 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Beach Cove Resort
Beach Cove Resort
#8 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Beach Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Beach Plantation

Address: 100 North Beach Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $119 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Beach Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 7 1/2 acre "island" between the Atlantic Ocean and White Point Swash North Beach Plantation provides a magnificent oceanfront experience. With a Caribbean themed pool-scape, South Carolina largest swim up pool bar, award winning Cinzia Spa, and much more, you will know why we've earned the title #1 resort in North Myrtle Beach year after year. Choose from an array of luxury accommodation, from the 1-5 bedroom oceanfront condos in the towers or one of our 1-5 bedroom cottages. Each unit is uniquely designed with the finest of décor elements and top of the line appliances. Come experience the beach in luxury when booking your next trip to Myrtle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your North Beach Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Plantation Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing