We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place away from the crowds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Beach Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing place away from the crowds!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My extended family and I stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse during the week of July 4th. Firstly, I will say the townhouse was amazing! Everything you could want or need was there, including a gas grill in the fenced back yard. There was even a two car garage we could use. The only small issue we had was a lack of bath towels. The house sleeps 10, but there were only 6 towels. This became a problem at times when we had to wait for the washer/dryer to finish to take a shower. One feature not mentioned often is that there is a cross walk over 17 that takes you right to Barefoot Landing where you can find many shops, eateries, and other activities. You can also walk to put-put golf and even an alligator adventure. The location of the townhouses cannot be beat, even if you are not right on the beach.

The townhouses are about a 10 minute walk to the towers/pool, but you could easily take a shuttle if you did not feel like walking. The pool was very nice and there was something for all ages. My kids enjoyed the kids activities, like coloring a beach ball and making hats. The adults enjoyed the swim up bar. We were not allowed into the pool until 9 am so we arrived first thing to get a good spot. There were many times we witnessed staff moving towels from chairs that had been saved when nobody used those chairs after an hour or so. This was great and prevented chair saving. The beach by the resort was very crowded, so getting an early spot there was also important. We also saw the staff checking for wristbands at the pool. It is nice to know this is going on so precious space was not taken by those not staying here. We ate lunch at the pool a couple of times, nothing special, but good and filling with typical high prices you would expect. If you would like to rent a cabana make sure to do so early as they were sold out the entire time we were there.

Overall, we loved our stay in this luxury resort. It is not located in the busy and commercial area of Myrtle, but the more quiet and family friendly area of North Myrtle. We will be returning next year for our family vacation!

Room Tip: If you get a chance to stay in the houses or exchange, do so! They are beautiful and quiet, with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,717
    475
    206
    116
    85
See reviews for
1,548
499
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clarksville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I had really been looking forward to our stay at North Beach Plantation. We had heard good things about the hotel, and we were willing to spend the nearly $400 dollars a night to get a nice experience...

I knew we were gonna have issues when we were told our room was not ready at check-in. After driving 13+hours this is not the news you want to hear. It was 4:15 and check in is at 4:00. It's a Tuesday afternoon. Our room should be ready!.... After waiting about 30 minutes our room was finally ready, or so we were told. The room was anything but ready. The carpet was dirty. We found chips in the paint on several walls in the hotel. The washing machine was not cleaned on the inside from the previous guest. A bathroom closet door was broken. And the kicker? We found pubic hair in the tub. Not what you want to see as you walk into your home for the next 5 days.

We called management and asked for a new room. We were told no rooms were available. I kind of felt like I was getting the run-around as the manger had a front desk worker call me back to give me the news instead of calling herself(unprofessional in my opinion.) After calling back and voicing our displeasure, management did agree to come up and view the room. They sent maintenance up the next morning to fix the painting and shampoo the floor. We appreciated the effort, but the job still was 1/2 done. The management did agree to give us a $100 credit on our room, however we thought they could have done more. This is just not the experience we were expecting from a 'luxury' hotel.

There were a few positives from the hotel. The pool area was very nice. We also enjoyed the spa and gym areas. The outside of the hotel is beautiful and the private access to the beach is nice as well.

Overall I just felt like the hotel was 'fools gold'. Beautiful on the outside, but not as great on the inside. It appears the cleanliness and the maintenance are not as much a priority as they should be. At least that was our experience. And what a shame. My wife and I love visiting Myrtle Beach and North Beach probably just lost out on a repeat customer!

You may get lucky and have a better experience. But are you willing to bet $400 a night on it?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank princess2782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have stayed at North Beach many times before, but this year was a disappointing experience. Starting with check-in, they did not review any of the activities, restaurants, features of the resort (who new there was a gym?), etc. except the internet server. Funny, since it was impossible to get the internet server to work the entire week (server not responding was the usual message). If we had not been before, we would not have know there was a restaurant serving breakfast and lunch daily. Obviously no one else knew either, as the times we went there was no one else there. Their high-dollar restaurant, 21 Main, was definitely not as good as in years past. Food just average. The shuttle service the promote (to take you from the tower to the restaurant) didn't work at all and we ended up having to driver up to the restaurant after several shuttles filled with people leaving the beach and left us behind. The rooms were nice, but sand everywhere inside. A simple broom in the closet would have helped. The elevators are not air-conditioned so tend to smell like gym shoes. As the resort has gotten busier over the years, the wait for an elevator has become ridiculous, up to 20 minutes. The pools are lovely and fairy well-maintained, although again, sand everywhere in and around the pools. Staff in the past had been courteous, but this year was less than helpful. Blocking elevators, eye rolls, attitude, and a confrontation in the parking deck with a staff member yelling at us for not getting out of the way of his golf cart. They charged a daily cleaning fee, but there was no cleaning. We had to beg for toilet paper, run after the 'cleaning' lady down the hall to get her to empty our trash. Most days she left 4 towels on the kitchen sink and checked only one trash can (in a 4-bedroom condo). In addition, the final bill revealed several hidden fees (?tower fee, marketing fee, service fee) that added $40 in hidden cost to our daily room charge. They could say the reason for all of this was that it was the week of Fourth of July, but that is the week we go every year. This year was a definite down turn on every level: value, customer service, food. False advertising, poor customer service, and prices higher than Disney World. Next time we will save our money and go to Disney instead.

Room Tip: The higher floors give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jkfishmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great place to stay. Family oriented with lots of activities for everyone. Service is exceptional and the location is central to all of the many attraction, dining, and activities at the beach. This is one place you need to try out.

Room Tip: Any oceanfront rooms in the towers if you like being in the midst of the action. Upper levels are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1jfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just spent 7 nights at North Beach Plantation (Indigo tower, 4th floor) with my family (3 adults, 2 children) and regret choosing the week of July 4th. I'm hoping some of the things I experienced was because of the general business of the season, but according to other reviews, I'm afraid not.
1.Cost- Yes, it costs more to stay here (approx. $510/night for 2 BR condo, with summer discount special), and expectations are higher. It's a complete crap shoot on what unit you get and how that owner chose to furnish it. Good luck! I will say I was satisfied with our unit because it had tiled floor (cleaner than the carpets I've read about). Also, a few minor issues such as a broken ceiling fan and burned-out bulbs were handled and repaired quickly.
2. Check-in- What a joke! Please do not go there on a weekend and expect to check-in by 4PM. Unheard of. We didn't get a room until after 6PM. No apologies, no credits, no excuses.....nothing. I did overhear one of the front desk females tell several other guests that they were usually not that busy, that it was a holiday week and the check-outs ran a little later than expected, etc...obviously, the reviews about this annoying problem aren't being seen by their GM. Again, when you pay a certain amount of money, you expect to get you dollars worth. This late of a check-in equals a wasted day. And to make it clearer, no one offered to let us use any of the amenities while waiting.
3. No maid service- I knew this going in, and our condo was satisfactory upon check-in. In order to make sure we had enough towels and washclothes, we did a load of laundry every day so that we would not be without. I had read enough reviews to know I didn't want to spend my vacation chasing down towels.
4. Internet- Spotty, at best. if it's important to you, let them know so they can place you better.
5. Pools- Great pools, something for everyone! This truly is like a resort. Lazy river could use a little oomph, and more supervision because some of those kids were playing rough, but otherwise, that's their advantage to other resorts. Deck lounging is limited because people will throw down towels on 7-8 chairs to try and reserve them for when they are ready to use them. Luckily, staff were seen removing the towels if no one came back in about 15 min. I applaud NBP staff for stepping up to try and curb this problem. Another pro: 2 towels/guest via a card system means you don't have to pack towels.
6. Swim-up bar- Saw lots of adults enjoying this amenity. If it's your thing, you're in luck. Many people seemed to really like it.
7. Daily children's activity- Kathleen would do several crafts/activities with kids just about every day from mid-morning to about 3-4 PM. My kids loved this and couldn't wait to see what was next!
8. Gym- Better than most hotel gyms with enough cardio equipment that no one had to wait, and adequate strength-building equipment for everyone. Yes, it's about 1/2 mile away from the towers, but if you are really going to work-out on your vacation, you shouldn't let that stop you.
9. On-site restaurants- Would recommend the steak house, otherwise, there are so many other good restaurants in the area that unless you didn't want to go out, I'd try them instead. I never tried the pool food, but only because it didn't look that good for the prices they were charging.


Sadly, I didn't go to the Spa. We got caught up in other activities and adventures and ran out of time. I would consider staying here again, but certainly not a rack room rates.

Room Tip: Consider arriving on any day other than Sat or Sun to avoid later-than-advertised check-in times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vas4lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the resort, This place is great! Usually don't go to busy places like myrtle beach or large resorts but this is outstanding! The pools are awesome for all ages, rooms very large, amenities fantastic! Very friendly and helpful staff. For a crowded beach it was quite a secluded feel and the river out front was very cool!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Love, love, love staying here. Rooms are gorgeous, pools are amazing, view is phenomenal and the beach is the best in Myrtle. The workout facilities are state if the art. Our kids love the lazy river and indoor hot tub. It was a great place to go when Hurricane Arthur was blowing through. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCrow820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
4.4 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,207 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,475 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,241 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Beach Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Beach Plantation

Property: North Beach Plantation
Address: 100 North Beach Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Beach Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 7 1/2 acre "island" between the Atlantic Ocean and White Point Swash North Beach Plantation provides a magnificent oceanfront experience. With a Caribbean themed pool-scape, South Carolina largest swim up pool bar, award winning Cinzia Spa, and much more, you will know why we've earned the title #1 resort in North Myrtle Beach year after year. Choose from an array of luxury accommodation, from the 1-5 bedroom oceanfront condos in the towers or one of our 1-5 bedroom cottages. Each unit is uniquely designed with the finest of décor elements and top of the line appliances. Come experience the beach in luxury when booking your next trip to Myrtle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your North Beach Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Plantation Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing