We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodging with View and Value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blockade Runner Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, MS
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lodging with View and Value”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Among the many lodging choices along the “Grand Strand,” the Blockade Runner stands out as a property with value, view, and amenities. All rooms have a great ocean view; the rooms are large, well furnished, and convenient to the sand and surf just outside the door.

The Blockade Runner is easy to access from the major highways leading into the area. It is well situated in regards to restaurants and grocery stores. Parking is available near the lobby entrance. It is also outside, but near, some of the main “touristy” areas.

We spent one week at the Inn and enjoyed the entire time. The property is not new, but it has aged well. It had everything we needed for an enjoyable visit. We had a one room efficiency apartment with attached covered deck, cooking facilities (including stove, refrigerator, microwave and all the needed pots, pans, and utensils). It was less than a football field’s length from our room to the water’s edge. Only a line of low dunes separated the inn from the sandy beach. The Inn appeals to a range of demographics: from college age to “seniors “as well as couples and families with children. We also found the Inn to be remarkably quiet during our stay.

A small, on-site restaurant called “Mimosa’s,” is located just off the lobby. We ate there the first night—largely for convenience—but enjoyed it so much we went back on another occasion. The menu is limited, but the food was good and the prices reasonable. (They also have an outdoor dining area).

The Inn is owner-operated and provides a nice, personal touch. The owner is on the job on a daily basis and takes a special interest in the needs of guests. All the employees we encountered seemed to go out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

I really have nothing negative to report about Blockade Runner. We were pleased with housekeeping services, with front-desk contacts, and with the value that came with our moderate room rate. Our needs were met quite well and at a fair price.

A minor quirk exists with the Blockade Runner. The ground floor (and the elevators leading to this level) are actually several stair steps above the lobby per se. Guests, with luggage carts, have to use outside ramps to get to the first-floor elevators.

I would definitely consider a return visit. My only hesitation is not the inn itself; it is the travel time from Mississippi that is the problem. Basically, it is a two-day trip in both directions.

Room Tip: Second or third floors are good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColonelDoctorDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    43
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
58
55
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Large rooms, great beachfront views, convenient location and clean all describe the Blockade Runner. It isn't the newest property, but you get a lot for your money.
My only negative was that the wireless didn't work in my unit. We had a strong signal, but no internet.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Let me start out by saying I have stayed in Myrtle Beach for the past 10 years of vacations. Seven of those ten have been at this hotel. The rooms have been recently updated with new decor and wireless access. And the beach is always quiet and a hop, skip, and a jump away from the oceanfront rooms. The hotel has a nostalgic feeling that grows on you and it feels like home away from home. The hotel attendants are very friendly and after a week they feel like a part of your extended family. I also feel secure that belongings are safe. The air, refers, stoves, etc, all work perfectly and any inconsistencies in the past had been dealt with with the utmost urgency. Very clean place as well. (GREAT FAMILY HOTEL).
I was sad to learn that the restaurant (Locals) had moved on, but decided to sample the new restaurant (Mimosas on the waterfront) and it is superb.
I will be staying in North Myrtle at The Blockade Runner every year we stay at the beach. No hassle of the Main Myrtle hell hole.
PS ask for Michael, he is the best, and for the hotspots and best eating places just ask him he is awesome.

Room Tip: Pick the third floor or above for an awesome ocean view, first floor for straight out the back door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scubared1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Rented the efficiency because of minimal price difference. Room was clean, well equipped to suit our needs. Maid service was good, everyday, and not intrusive. We paid $420/5-nights, inc. tax. All rooms are oceanfront, we stayed on 5th floor. Quiet area. Overall excellent value. Will be at top of list if we go again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggie4103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Second stay at this hotel. Get the efficiency because you get a small kitchen area complete with toaster, coffee pot, stove and oven, microwave, and fridge. Equipped with pots and pans also! Very clean. Updated nicely. All ocean front rooms

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Therrumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My mom and I stayed year about 7 years ago and we were thrilled to come back. The rooms have been updated with different decor and better furniture. The efficiency was great for our needs. Comes equipped with dishes, silverware, a stove, mid sized fridge, etc. There is a restaraunt on the first floor that has EXCELLENT food for great prices. The coin laundry is old but works great. The pool is great with a hot tub nearby. Both are very nice!! The only thing I didnt like is the elevator. It's old and makes lots of noise. But I did find out that they are getting a new elevator in October or November of this year! Overall this beachfront hotel is a steal and away from all the hupla in Myrtle Beach!!

Room Tip: Any room is a great room. I would get 2nd floor or above if you want to see the ocean over the sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

North Myrtle Beach is like a world apart from traditional Myrtle Beach, but it's right at your back door too. We always stay at NMB now, this is our go to hotel. I love that they rent to you for even 1 night if the place is not sold out. Not a resort, so if that is what you are into, this is not your stop. Prices are execptionally reasonable, entirely oceanfront from what I remember, clean rooms, older place yes, but a great great great find. I'll come back again and again. I am 32, have a wonderful husband, 2 kids ages 5yr & 4yr. We love 1 to 2 night spontaneous vacations. Location is great, rooms updated, onsite restaurant has good prices...not a tourist trap. What else can I say? I left happy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nctrembley0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,474 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
148 reviews
5.7 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Motor Inn

Property: Blockade Runner Motor Inn
Address: 1910 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2747
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Motor Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel
Blockade Runner North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing