We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Positive Informational Review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Crest Vacation Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shore Crest Vacation Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Positive Informational Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay at Shore Crest 2 during a July 4th week. We stayed on the 3rd floor facing the distant marsh which had a spectacular view of the sunset and fireworks provided by the nearby Barefoot Landing Shopping Center. Barefoot Landing is about a mile's walk away and provides access to entertaining shopping and nightlife at the House of Blues. Shore Crest itself is about 15 mins from downtown Myrtle Beach where the action is.

As for the hotel itself, the elevators are a bit slow, and crowded during check in and out times, but that just provides for more fun with finding the stairwells. The staff is super-friendly and there are no worries or pressure with the time share schedulers. The pools throughout are adequate for splashing but I do feel that the hot tub at Shore Crest 2 should be reserved for adults only (too small for overly enthusiastic kids to enjoy directly adjacent to more relaxed adults.)

As for the rooms, the second room is sufficient for kids, the master is a very good size and has access to the personal balcony. The shower and sink are right in the room with the commode in a separate room....perfect. The majority of the floor is tiled but carpeted where it needs to be. There were little annoyances; the handle on the balcony door being loose, space around the light fixture in the shower, an outlet that didn't work, etc....but nothing to affect a good rating. I would recommend this establishment to those that are used to staying on the outskirts of the main city/beach when traveling.

Room Tip: In Shore Crest 2 the first 3 floors are for parking...so most if not all the rooms are good for view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlesopendoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    118
    26
    18
    7
See reviews for
163
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Pros:
1) Great location to the beach. We rent a ocean front 2 bedrooms unit and wow, this property is right on the beach.
2) Our unit was updated & renovated recently
3) Staff was friendly, knowledgeable of the town and helpful
4) The North Myrtle beach wasn't as crowded as Myrtle Beach

The Cons
1) Horribly, painfully slow elevators. The property is old so as the elevators, they should make upgrade. Luckily, our unit is on 4th floor, we used the stair.
2) Limited & tight parking space, some nights there was no parking spot left, but we can park on the other building's parking spot.

I still recommend this property as the access of ocean front and view are breathtaking!

Room Tip: Ocean view and Ocean front is different, make sure you ask for Ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sylui_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My family and I spent a week here and enjoyed ourselves. Not as nice as Bluegreens Harbor Lights but a much better location. Right across the street from Barefoot Landing-we will come back. I would recommend for families but a girl or guy only nightlife type trip would be better off on the main strip further south

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bknewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson, SC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stayed from sunday to sunday. where I wasnt ocean front, I wasnt disappointed with the view. the checkin went alot better than last year, not as confusing, must have hired a new staff. it was more updated with newer couches. its always clean with everything we need. all we had to bring was food and clothes. the staff was very nice and told us about some good restaurants. the pools and hottubs were well maintained. I really wish the bedroom was bigger, kinda odd layout. If I had to say anything negatives about it ,they have such slow elevators, terribile, they really need to work on that other than that , great vacation !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, AL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here starting on Sunday before Memorial Day through Friday. This place is wonderful. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath ocean front room. Master bedroom had a king bed with a garden tub. The 2nd bedroom had two twins. The other bathroom was a standard bathroom. It had a stocked kitchen with new appliances. It had a washer and dryer. Dining area and sleeper sofa in the living room. The staff was as friendly as any I have ever encountered.

It was conveniently located to the beach and the pools were pretty good. This place is close to restaurant row and really close to Barefoot Landing (outdoor mall).

The only reason I would not give it a 5* rating is because the elevators are slow and get crowded during check-in and check out. The check-in can be a little confusing. And the dryer while new, did not do the greatest job drying clothes. It did get them dry though.

As far as the parking goes, this place was not built during the SUV era. So parking in the deck can be a little tight for big cars. However, they have plenty of overflow parking across a very lightly traveled street. To me it is was no more inconvenient than parking at your average Hilton Garden Inn.

We already have plans to go back next year. This is such a great place to stay and enjoy the beach.

Room Tip: If you have an SUV drop your luggage at the elevator at check-in and then park in the overflow acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebtiger24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Pros:
1) Great proximity to the beach
2) Our unit was updated (i.e. newer kitchen and bathroom)
3) Staff was helpful
4) The beach wasn't as crowded as Myrtle Beach

The negatives:
1) Horribly, painfully slow elevators. Often the elevators were full with the staff hauling their stuff/carts. Apparently they don't have a service elevator at this place for maintenance/house keeping.
2) Very limited and tight parking. Upon our arrival, I had to park at the building across the street and haul our stuff across in multiple trips. Combined with the painfully slow elevators, it took me 30+ minutes!!!
3) Be aware of when you book---we unknowingly booked during the tail end of "bike week" (Memorial Day weekend)---lots of very loud motorcycles, scantily-clad people (not kid appropriate), and some motorcycles driving very dangerously (e.g. weaving ridiculously in traffic).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NibblesAndBookbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our second visit to Shore Crest and it was just as good as the first time. We stayed in Shore Crest 1 overlooking the pool and the ocean. At night we could open the sliding doors and listen to the ocean. My four year old daughter loves the pools, hot tubs, and the lazy river and of course the beach! Beach access is very easy and there was always plenty of room on the beach. Only complaint with Shore Crest were the elevators which were very slow. Wait time for the elevators could be at least 5 minutes. Other than that, no problems and we had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
4.2 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mar Vista Grande
Mar Vista Grande
#9 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Crest Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Crest Vacation Villas

Property: Shore Crest Vacation Villas
Address: 4709 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-5338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Crest Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Shore Crest Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Crest Vacation Villas Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Shore Crest Vacation Hotel
Hotel Shore Crest Vacation
Shorecrest Vacation Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing