We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay. Good Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shore Crest Vacation Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Stay. Good Location.”
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We selected December as our time to get away because we knew very few people would be at the beach during this time of year. The weather was wonderful and had many walks on the beach.

The resort was doing some renovations and in all honesty we thought the noise would be a disturbance, but it wasn't. Our room was near the indoor pool and again, we thought that would generate a lot of noise. There was normal traffic through the area during the daytime hours and disappeared as the evening hours arrived. The noise was managable because this is the off season and we are not certain that this would be the case if it was summer.

Our lodging area was neat and clean, well stocked with the necessities (plates, silverware, t.p., etc.). The bedrooms were roomy and the bathrooms were great. The master bath is pictured and had enough room for 3 teenage girls to get ready. One of them called it a huge beauty salon! The other bathroom was normal size and had enough room for 1 person to get ready. You may want to note that there was only enough hot water for 2 showers, so we alternated times--morning and evening to make it work. We slept with the sliding door ajar because it was naturally warm despite turning the thermostat off in the room and the sound of the surf was very relaxing.

The staff was courteous and kind, but the sales staff never take NO for an answer. As owners, we constantly complain about this annoyance.

We recommend staying in Villas I as they are oceanfront rooms. Be advised that you will want a higher floor to diffuse any noise generated by the outdoor pool traffic below. Villas II is right across the street and if beach access is a priority, staying at either will get you fast access.

Resort is a 2 minute drive from Barefoot Landing, a 15-20 minute drive from the airport (mind you this was December) and Broadway on the Beach is 10 minutes away.

Our favorite place, and tradition to visit, is Liberty Tap Room at Broadway. The appetizers and lunch menu are good and the micro-brew is fantastic. If you want a lighter beer, try the Liberty Lager.

  • Liked — Location and Beach Access
  • Disliked — The Sales Staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddleClassTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    128
    26
    18
    9
See reviews for
181
60
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
raleigh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

We would have rated this resort Excellent if they had internet access in the rooms/condos.

:the good.:
Large comfortable bright condo, well appointed, chearfull colors and very clean. plenty of TVs on pivotal bases.
huge master bedroom bathroom with huge tub, shower.
Master bedroom with good king size bed. plenty of blankets/pillows.
2nd bedroom with 2 twin size bed.
2 bathrooms
private balcony with table and chairs.
modern full size kitchen with plenty of sitting area.
quiet area of North M. Beach, residential.
Good facilities, large heated pool, very hot jacuzzi, game/activity room in one building. Hot Jacuzzi in the other. lazy river outside.
nice grounds overlooking beautifull beach. BBQ grills. Nice outside picnic area overlooking the beach.
Friendly staff. kids activities like Ice cream sundaes etc... Staff called to see if all was to our satisfaction after checking in. quick to respond to a request.
Plenty of parking

The not so good.
no internet in the condo!!!! had to go to the lobby where there was a large comfortable room with a couple of computers for short term use. if internet it would be perfect

A tad loud in the master bedroom. could hear the neighbor alarm clock and their water running through the pipes.

Overall. We all Loved the place. (adults, teens and toddler)
we stayed in the shore crest II (accross the street) but it was a very quiet and safe street. a great stay during the weekend.

  • Liked — large well appointed clean condo on nice beach
  • Disliked — no internet in own condo
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank u879077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2007

This was our first visit to Myrtle Beach. We stayed in Shore Crest Vacation Villas I and it was fantastic! We were in unit 1607 which is ocean front. The condo was roomy, clean and comfortable. We had a small issue with the light switch in the first bathroom, but it was taken care of the same day we notified maintenance. The unit offered everything we needed including a front row seat to watching dolphins jumping and playing in the mornings and sometimes in the evening. Awesome!!! It offered a lazy river, hot tub and swimming pool which we utilized daily. It was open from 9am to 10:30 pm. (the nightly swims at 10pm were one of our favourite things to do) The beach and ocean out in front of the building was so much fun. We fought the waves most days and it was a blast.

The building is right on the beach so it was very convenient for your ocean swimming. If you're a shell collector, then you'll be in heaven. There are shells everywhere!!

The staff were always friendly and smiling and made our stay that much more pleasant. It offers daily activities if you are so inclined to join in. Parking was not an issue, although in the busier months I can see it getting pretty full and having to park in the overflow lot across the road. But even that wouldn't be an issue as the road it's on is not that busy to cross back and forth. The location is convenient to restaurant row and Barefoot Landing is not much more than two blocks away.

I can't begin to address everything, but if you're staying in North Myrtle Beach then this is a good place to stay. Oh, and one last thing, the sunrises are breathtaking!

Tammy and Mike
London, Ontario Canada

  • Liked — The view, the beach, the water
  • Disliked — there was nothing we didn't like, we loved everything about it
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wildflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I stayed at Shore Crest once again and am very happy with the accommodations. The room was clean and well equipped for all our anticipated needs. There is so much room and so many amenities. Everyone is very friendly that works there. I highly recommend this resort to everyone. The last stay I was at Shore Crest I which is Ocean Front this stay I was at Shore Crest II which is across the street. It was no big deal. The location is convenient to everything that I want to do when I am in Myrtle Beach. I can't wait to go again next year.

  • Liked — That you don't have to leave the resort, there are so many on site activiites
  • Disliked — The parking!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dilbertsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsport, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed in Shore Crest Villas II across from the beach . We had a awesome room. Everything was clean and the rooms were real nice. We stayed in the 2 bedroom and loved the huge garden tub in the master bedroom. We would love to return again!!!

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lildesray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

My family had stayed at Shore Crest in North Myrtle. First let me say how wonderful our room was it was clean and everything that was to be there was. Two things concerned me during our stay at Shore Crest II. One day we had called and signed up for one of the activities that was being held at Shore Crest one’s pool area we arrived and with in 30 minutes we where asked to leave the reason we where given was because “Shore Crest one’s pool area is only for guests that are staying in Shore Crest one”. Then why are we being invited to the activities then? Second, there are many residential homes around Shore Crest property; one day there was four teenagers from one of the houses across the street at the pool because we watched them walk back to the house. Another day there were six young men between ages of 19 and 24 in the stair well of Shore Crest II parking deck pool side smoking marijuana and they came from one of the houses across the street. I thought someone should be making rounds to check all the property areas, but I guess not. Everyone just needs to watch out for these activities and report them ASAP and do not wait.

  • Liked — The rooms and being close to everything.
  • Disliked — People from across the street using the pool. Not being allowed to do the activities at Shore Crest One.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We are Bluegreen members and just got back from Shorecrest II. We have stayed at several Bluegreen properties since becoming members and our biggest beef with them is the inconsistency from one property to another. This trip was no different.

Shorecrest is actually two properties, there is Shorecrest I on the beach and Shorecrest II across the street from Shorecrest I and an easy walk from the beach. Both have their own pool and lazy river although the pool at Shorecrest I is considerably larger and that is where pretty much all the organized activites take place - sandcastle building, tye dye, live entertainment, bingo, etc.
The best thing about Shorecrest II was the unit itself. We had a two bedroom and it was very spacious and well-appointed. Washer and dryer were in the unit which was nice. There is no maid service unless you are willing to pay extra. The unit was nicely decorated, clean and functional for our family of four. We had a west view looking directly across the marsh at Barefoot Landing.

The downside to Shorecrest II is the pool is very small and you feel like a second class citizen relative to Shorecrest I. One day they chased people (Shorecrest II guests and owners) away from the pool at Shorecrest I, which is probably 3-4 times the size of the Shorecrest II pool (the number of total units at each property is similar). This did not sit well with guests and owners. Technically as a Bluegreen owner you have access to ANY property at ANY time. We were told the fix week owners at Shorecrest I had voted to keep Shorecrest II guests and owners away from their pool during peak times. This seems to be in direct contradiction with the benefits and features of Bluegreen ownership which allows complete access to any property. All of the activites, game room, beach access, internet access, etc. are at Shorecrest I. So while staying at Shorecrest II you are certain to spend at least some time over there. On the day they were chasing people away from the pool they had nice live entertainment with music on the deck and no such activities were offered at Shorecrest II.

Otherwise, we had a nice stay in a nice unit and were able to utilize the pools, beach, internet access and enjoy the comforts of the nice room.

It had been a long time since we had been to Myrtle Beach and Shorecrest offered a good location with easy access to restaurants, Barefoot Landing and other activities.

Helpful?
10 Thank jojobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
4.2 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,223 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,503 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,111 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Crest Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Crest Vacation Villas

Property: Shore Crest Vacation Villas
Address: 4709 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-5338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Crest Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Crest Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Crest Vacation Villas Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Shore Crest Vacation Hotel
Hotel Shore Crest Vacation
Shorecrest Vacation Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing