We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for large family/group vacation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barefoot Resort Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barefoot Resort Yacht Club
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for large family/group vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a 3 bedroom unit at the end of July 2012. Good location near Barefoot Landing shops and places to eat. Free shuttle to beach. Large pool offered little shade/few umbrellas but well kept. Our unit although spacious was beat up. The 3rd bedroom was covered in a thick layer of dust. Kitchen sink leaked, water damage in bathroom, broken coffee maker, very worn living room furniture, etc. Check in/out located off site. No coffee shop, front desk for assistance and info on site. Any problems we had were addressed but took a full day to do so. Good golf course. Great place for large family. Come with everything you need - beach items, food, etc because shopping in the area is busy and crowded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vircharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    18
    5
    30
See reviews for
54
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a great family place to stay. The villa we stayed in was extremely clean and very beautiful. Each villa is individually owned so I am not sure what they all look like. We had two bedrooms and two full bathrooms, living room, kitchen and a sunporch. Each unit has a washer and dryer, dishes, and other useful items. Tvs and Dvd players were in all the bedrooms and the living room. Maid service only comes at check out but with the washer and dryer in the unit is not a big deal. The beds were nice the couch was fluffy and very comfortable. There is a great restraunt onsite called dockside but hard to find without directions. The one downfall is a lack of parking near the pool for those not staying in the towers. My son thought this was the best hotel ever and the pool is huge but only goes to four feet deep. There are multiple islands in the pool with about an inch to two inches of water great for toddlers to splash around in.

Room Tip: Villas at river crossing is where we stayed at the back of the resort. Very quiet the only down fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauseandreflect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

First off let me say that if you are expecting a hotel type resort this is not it. It is a condo development some owner occupied, some vacation rentals. You need a car to get anywhere in this development. If you are a golfer it is an ideal location as it backs up to a golf course and is located adjacent to barefoot landing and restuarant row... The travel service should make that clear when booking that this is more of a vacation rental not hotel or condotel resort. The photos on book it are very misleading , at least in my opinion. Based on the phots I saw on several booking sites. Most of the photos shown are of the towers, a section of this development. If you decide to stay here that's where you want to make sure you stay, those units are more upscale and better kept. There is a grill and snack bar at the towers as well as tenis courts and a gym..the other units don't have these, nor are the other units on the water, only the towers. The huge pool you see in the travel photos are of the towers pool. The other pools are small and very average, with only bathrooms and a soda vending machine.
Our unit was supposed to be a 2 bedroom unit with a king in the master bedroom and twin beds in the second. The rental office is only open until 5pm and is at a different location, if you arrive after 5 you get your keys out of a lock box there and come back in the morning to complete your check in...We arrived late, got our keys at the lock box and went and found our unit. The first thing we noticed was the kitchen sink was filthy, with foul smelling greasy black residue all over it. The garbage compacter was broken and stuffed full of broken glass bottles, and the garbage had not been emptied. The tv remotes both in the bedrooms and living rooms had no batteries in them. The king bed was actually 2 twin mattresses pushed together on a king bed frame that if you rolled into the middle of the bed separated a little.. The pillows were the smallest and flatest pillow I had ever seen, and only a few of them had pillow covers, the remaining ones were stained and old. In the morning when we told the rental office they did send someone over hours later to clean out sink, repair trash compacter and bring 2 clean new pillows and cases. There was 1 extra blanket for 3 beds if you got cold. We had several of our own blankets and pillows that we used. We paid $960 for 5 nights and it was a huge diappointment. Fortunately we spent very little time in the unit, so it worked out for us. if you rent here bring plenty of your own towels and toiletries. Also, when you check out you are responsible to make sure the kitchen is clean, dishes are all washed and put away and any garbage is taken to the dumpster. When you book you are told it includes departure day maid services, but you are expected to most of cleaning the unit yourself. Alost forgot the 2 foot tall statue of a sailor whose head was broken off and laying next to it when we arrived..this was unit 1023 in the ironwood section

Room Tip: Don't book anywhere but the towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyGirl715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our family of 15 usually vacations on the south end of the Grand Strand, in a beach house with a private pool. However, the past few years have seen those prices soar, so we decided to "economize" this year and find something more affordable. At first glance, Barefoot Yacht Club seemed to have most of what we wanted, but we were concerned with not having our private pool and having to share with others. Let me just say, our fears were quickly alleviated upon our arrival.

We stayed in a four bedroom, four bath condo on the 11th floor, and were overwhelmed with our accomodations when we got there. This unit was huge, from front to back, much larger than we expected. The bedding layout was ideal for us, with two bedrooms with king beds for the couples, and two bedrooms with two queens each for the kids. Everyone had their own bath (normally an issue for us), and we have a nice balcony overlooking the pool and the marina that easily accomodated five or six people around a table.

The views were incredible, looking down at the massive pool deck, the marina and the waterway with boats passing by, and even across the water to Barefoot Landing and the surrounding shops. We even had an ocean view across the top of the buildings! The first morning, we were up early to make sure we got down to the pool deck in time to reserve some chairs, but as we discovered, it was never an issue all week. In fact, there were a few days where we didn't get down to the pool until close to lunchtime, and still found plenty of chairs to use. The pool was fabulous, and with the depth only reaching 4 feet, we never had to worry about the kids getting "over their heads". There was a good sized hottub for use, and we took advantage of it whenever possible.

The little restaurant/bar next door (Docksiders?) was great. Our second day we walked over to find live entertainment outside, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The drink prices were not bad at all for a resort bar, and the happy hour appetizers were incredible each day (12 wings for $5.00!). In fact, we ate there at least three days during our week-long stay. They even had a waitress that would walk the pool deck and bring out food and drinks while you were sunbathing!

The unit itself was well-kept and updated. The kitchen had stainless appliances and all of the needed vacation "goodies" (blender, ice, etc). Although we brought our own paper plates and cutlery, all was provided if needed. The best part (in my opinion) was that each area had it's own climate control, so I could keep my bedroom on the cool side without freezing out the kids and ladies. Even the flooring was nice - no black socks or feet walking in and out of the unit. And the trash chute was right outside our door, so it was easy to dispose of garbage a few times a day.

Any negatives you might ask? Well, only a few. The pool attendant / security officers at the pool were a little strict. The issue was that there were different personnel each day, and they all seemed to have their own set of rules that differed from one to the other. What you COULD do on this day, you COULD NOT do the following, which was frustrating. I understand about having kids supervised in the hot tub, but on one occasion, my son was sitting in the hot tub with me sitting 10 feet from him and facing him, and the officer made him get out because I wasn't actually sitting at the hot tub itself. Another time, a man was carrying his toddler on his shoulders while walking through the pool, and was told to take him down. I've dealt with this type of issue at other resorts in the past, and I've concluded that it's more of an ego thing than anything else. Give someone a badge and it goes straight to their head.

It was a bit of a walk from our condo to the pool area (not to say we didn't need the exercise), so running up to the room was more than just a quick jaunt. It didn't bother the kids, so we used them as our personal stewards for much of the time! Parking was never a problem - I parked right in front of the elevators all week. The beach shuttle over to the ocean was very convenient, although we didn't use the service and drove ourselves. But they were always on time for pickups each day. And Barefoot Landing is really a tourist trap, with overpriced shops and very little for the kids. But the restaurants more than make up for it - there is every type of food imaginable!

We will definitely keep this place on our short list for a return visit. We try to stay at different places each year just to change it up, but the kids really enjoyed having the public pool to make new friends, and for what we paid, it was definitely worth the money. We ended up paying a third of what we would normally spend on a beach house, and had just as good (if not better) of a time. I am a frequent traveler and a former hotel manager, so I definitely know what to look for when I'm looking for accomodations, and I'd have to rate this place right up there with the best that I've ever stayed. No, it's not oceanfront, so if the beach is your first concern, this may not be your cup of tea. But if you want a relaxing vacation with idea surroundings and convenience, then give it a try.

Room Tip: Units are privately owned. We got unit 1104, and it was very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nightowl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Fantastic views and really great place. Four couples shared a four bedroom condo on the fifth floor. Only thing which kept this from five stars is our condo was showing a little wear. One bars stool was broken, a lamp did not work, etc. Still, Great place.

Room Tip: Make sure you know where to sign in and pick up keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rustic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Mts. Pa.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was a good and clean place to stay, and located between Myrtle Beach and North Myrtle. It is Behind House of Blues and Alabama Theater. Lots of Space in the rooms. Basically, it is like a full condo, with kitchen, several rooms and baths, living room and verandahs. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Yacht Club condo rooms, with intercoastal views are spacious, and very nice to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I got a Standard Room in the Yacht Club villa expecting it to be better than other hotels in the area. I was completely appalled by the fact that it was merely a room blocked off from the rest of a condo unit. There was absolutely nothing but a tv. The room was smaller than a normal room, didn't have a desk, chair, fridge, microwave or even plastic cups. You'd be much better off with a villa or regular hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2Travel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maritime Beach Club
Maritime Beach Club
#25 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#16 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
5.9 mi away
Horizon at 77th
Horizon at 77th
#68 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Resort Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Resort Yacht Club

Property: Barefoot Resort Yacht Club
Address: 4720 Barefoot Resort Bridge Rd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-9362
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barefoot Resort Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For pristine accommodations in prestigious Barefoot Resort, book your next vacation with the splendid villas of the Barefoot Yacht Club. Situated in the beautiful Barefoot Resort, the Barefoot Yacht Club offers breathtaking location on the edge of the Intracoastal Waterway. Each unit features a private balcony that overlooks the Barefoot Marina and is sure to be a perfect spot to unwind at the end of a fun-filled day. The villas of the Barefoot Yacht Club are the premier property at Barefoot Resort and offer sprawling, open floor plans sure to accommodate groups of any size comfortably. Two, three and four bedroom layouts are available, with the largest condos measuring up to 2,500 square feet. Luxury touches like granite counters, designer decoration, deluxe bedding and plush seating will impress even the most discriminating traveler. All Yacht Club condos provide standard conveniences like fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer combinations, multiple TVs with cable and complimentary WiFi resort-wide. On-site, numerous amenities are available to all guests. Grab a frosty drink or fresh seafood from Dirty Don's Oyster Bar, conveniently located at the Barefoot Marina. Guests also have access to the Jasmine Spa and fitness center, featuring a well-trained staff for massages and beauty treatments. Around the property, basketball and tennis courts are available, and a sand volleyball court is sure to be perfect for friendly competition. Barefoot Resort is also home to four of the finest golf courses along the Grand Strand, featuring design by architects like Pete Dye and Tom Fazio. The Callaway Performance Center is also on property and will help you fine tune your golf game. Finally, guests can enjoy the largest saltwater pool in South Carolina and a soothing outdoor Jacuzzi. Located in scenic North Myrtle Beach, you are only a short drive from the peaceful shoreline and sparkling Atlantic Ocean. Nearby, an abundance of shopping and dining choices are waiting at Barefoot Landing and the Tanger Outlets. All the attractions of the Grand Strand like Broadway at the Beach and the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk reside with a quick commute south. Golfers will be delighted by the over 80 area courses available to tee off on. With gorgeous accommodations, convenient location and plenty of fantastic on-site amenities, the Barefoot Yacht Club is sure to be a perfect choice for your upcoming Grand Strand vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Barefoot Resort Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing