We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Second visit with the husband” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windy Shores II

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windy Shores II
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second visit with the husband”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've been coming to Myrtle Beach with my parents and two sisters as far back as I can remember. When we were kids it was during March Break...but now, with my parents have retired, they bought a time share week at Windy Shores 2 and have been coming for about 10 years.

For the past two years, my parents have been unable to visit and have instead offered the week to me and my husband. At first I was worried that he wouldn't like the unit, because it is a little bit dated...but, to my pleasant surprise, he was able to see the charming - ness of it all.

We are in unit 404 and I cannot express how wonderful this place is. It's clean, and pleasant...right on the beach, and as I type this I am on the veranda looking out at the beach, ocean, and enjoying the breeze. Our bedroom window is right at the elevators, and at first I thought this would be awful, but because it's such a family place, it's rare to get anyone at the elevators late at night. And if there is, they are often very courteous of other guests.

I can't say anything bad about this place. I am sitting drinking a mojito, and enjoying the ocean breeze...and contemplating throwing on my suit to go jump through those waves....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Catcon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayeleen U, Manager at Windy Shores II, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to say such great things about our resort! We appreciate our guests and hope that everyone has an enjoyable vacation when they stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maiden nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We rented unit 103 from Elliott Realty and had an awesome experience. Elliott Realty was very easy to work with. The condo itself was excellent. There was plenty of space and we had everything we needed. The view was perfect. It was chilly for the weekend that we stayed but the kids enjoyed the pool anyways and it was nice and clean. We would definitely recommend this condo to others and we will be staying here again as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank puravida92797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayeleen U, Manager at Windy Shores II, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to say such great things about our resort! We appreciate our guests and hope that everyone has an enjoyable vacation when they stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

It was my worst experience ever. I've been renting Resorts for more than 25 years Orlando, Ft Lauderdale, Tampa, Arizona, Nevada, Michigan,Aruba, Cancun and Bahamas just to name a few. From bugs to hinges not properly connected to the frame of the door way, lights not wired properly; when turning on and off bedroom lights the living room lights turn on. Popcorn ceiling falling to the floor and on you and your guest. Badly stained bath tub, so bad till you can't get it clean with bleach in a couple of hours. Parking is truly cramped; hated it!
The best thing about the property is the location That's it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank trvlbugdtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayeleen U, Manager at Windy Shores II, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience while you were at our resort. We have been remodeling the interior to improve the quality of our units. All units on the 3rd and 4th floor have new paint on the walls, all ceilings have been repaired, new carpet has been installed and new couches, bedspreads, drapes and art have been placed in the units. We have been working on this project since the winter and have completed phase one of the units. Also, we have done extensive work on the exterior of the building to freshen up our appearance. We want all of guests to be satisfied and enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

new albany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our 5th time to Myrtle Beach at Christmas time, and our 5th different Defender resort location. They might all be the older resorts, but we love the fact that they are super clean, smaller, and quieter. This time we had a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom unit (301) and it was just wonderful! We were a corner unit, so our balcony was open on the end. This balcony is the largest we've ever had! Definitely will come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robinlbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayeleen U, Manager at Windy Shores II, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to say such great things about our resort! We appreciate our guests and hope that everyone has an enjoyable vacation when they stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stay here all the time. It is not new and shiny, but it has everything I want; in fact, I bought a unit here 3 years ago.
On the plus side:
*Oceanfront
*Spacious rooms
*Nice, clean pool
*Polite and friendly/helpful staff
*Neat and clean
*Small - I prefer the smaller, more quiet and private condos
*Location, location, location! Close to shopping, restaurants, golf. It's Myrtle Beach!

Minus (If there are any - these are things I am pointing out for others but they do not affect me in the least)
*Parking is tight. However, I prefer to walk; additional parking is about a block away, and I feel secure leaving my vehicles there.
*Not a lot of activities for families if you are used to that sort of thing
*Short on amenities such as restaurant and fitness center

Room Tip: Choose units away from elevator or stairs. Be prepared for a week of walking the beach, watching the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sol72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayeleen U, Manager at Windy Shores II, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to say such great things about our resort! We appreciate our guests and hope that everyone has an enjoyable vacation when they stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a two bedroom and two baths. Place was very roomy, with a large ocean front balcony. I have not ever had such a large balcony at the beach before. There was a washer and dryer in our unit that was very nice.
There are a couple of things I did not like. The maid makes the towels into a bird shapes. I felt the towels were already used just because of all the twisting of towels. We did not have enough towels in our unit. I probably could have gotten more towels, by calling the office where ever that was. No office staff on stie. Also parking is very tight. They do have extra parking up the street about one block.
One evening after the maint. man went home he had to come back and fix our unit heating. We did not have heat and it was going to get cold outsiide. He had to call the heating and cooling people to come and fix it. Work got done quickly.
I would stay at this place again. As the location is close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suem0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayeleen U, Manager at Windy Shores II, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to say such great things about our resort! We appreciate our guests and hope that everyone has an enjoyable vacation when they stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The rooms were a little outdated when you walked in but the space was amazing. We had three bedrooms and three bathrooms a very nice living area and very spacious balcony with a wonderful view. Would definately go back there.

Also when we arrived there were towel animals in all of the bathrooms.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crudd49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayeleen U, Manager at Windy Shores II, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to say such great things about our resort! We appreciate our guests and hope that everyone has an enjoyable vacation when they stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Emerald Cove II
Emerald Cove II
#26 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#24 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#5 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Maritime Beach Club
Maritime Beach Club
#25 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
1.1 mi away
San-a-bel
San-a-bel
#30 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#2 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Shores II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Shores II

Property: Windy Shores II
Address: 3217 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-4752
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Shores II 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Windy Shores II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Shores Ii Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing