We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Course”

Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Links
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Comprised of 270 acres of oaks, pines and magnolias, this 18-hole design features several 35-foot elevations sloping down to the scenic Intracoastal Waterway.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Course”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice layout, great condition, and very scenic layout along the waterway. The clubhouse is very nice and offers a large deck some time after your round.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive from North Myrtle”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had book a golf package at Barefoot Landing and were looking to pickup an afternoon round, and after talking to a staff member at Martins golf superstore, we chose to play Glen Dornoch. I really enjoyed this round for several reasons. First, the scenery and hole designs were superb. Several holes feature the intercoastal, which I really like. Second, for a course I had never played before, I like the ability to easily decipher holes (not many that you couldn't see your landing zone on), which helped me play better. Lastly, I think the 18 hole made this course for me - the hole could/would be played differently for each of the (4, I think) tee boxes they had. I would gladly play this course again, and it wasn't too much of a drive from North Myrtle Beach - definitely worth it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gentryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Picturesque Course, Great Condition”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a challenging course set by the waterways of North Myrtle beach. It's in really great condition, with lush green fairways and smooth, well cut greens. The course has rolling fair ways (in places), a good interaction with water, and many difficult holes that will test even the most experienced of golfers.

The green fees came to about $45 and club/cart hire was another $45 but if you have your own clubs, then the course is extremely good value to play.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the clubhouse is well set against the 18th green/fairway and the waterways behind it. Perfect viewing for a customary drink on the porch after the gold has concluded.

If I were in the area again I'd definitely think about playing this course again, and would happily recommend to others. If you're a beginner though, I'd suggest trying a slightly less difficult course before coming here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poorly Maintained Greens”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

You will need to be a low handicap player because this is a tough course, made even more difficult by poorly maintained greens. And the green fees were not lowered to compensate for the sorry state of the greens. Too many other better options available to play here again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Best Course on the Strand, Must Play”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The people are great! No high dollar pretentious owners. Course always in great shape, beautiful scenery, wildlife. Challenging golf. Best finishing holes I have played 16, 17, 18. Numbers 8 and 9 are not shabby on the front either. They have good deals on replays so plan on playing 36 holes. Very convenient to Little River area for lunch. Oh yeah.......bring plenty of golf balls.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Links also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing