We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Super Room, Good Service and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Super Room, Good Service and more!”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had a wedding to attend in North Myrtle Beach. After reading reviews and comparing amenities of area hotels, we settled on the Ocean Drive Beach Resort. We booked the room directly through their website and then called them to confirm. (Something that I prefer to do to make sure everything is square before we get there!) The person on the phone was extremely pleasant and informative.
We were quite pleased to see that the room looked just like the photo on the site. It had an ocean view with a nice balcony. The view was spectacular (especially at sunrise and sundown). The room was clean, as was the kitchen area. The beds were nothing special but were clean and comfortable.
We got the tail end of a tropical storm the first night and water seeped through the balcony door into the carpet. By the end of our 4 night stay, that piece of carpet was smelling moldy. Had we contacted maintenance, the moisture probably would have been vacuumed out, but we didn't call. We should have.
There was a motorcycle rally in the area the weekend we were there, but you couldn't tell. The hotel had it's normal level of noise which was easily tuned out. The hotel restaurant was closed for remodeling, so there was no breakfast but there were plenty of restaurants within a short distance of the hotel. No worries!
We had super wireless internet reception in our room, which was important to our grown kids. Only a short walk across the sand to the ocean for a swim. We didn't use the hotel pools since the ocean was so close.
This was our first visit to Myrtle Beach and won't be our last. We will definitely be staying at Ocean Drive again. We visited in October, so we didn't have to deal with lots of kids and drunken young adults. Timing is everything!! The prices were great compared to the overpriced mega hotels nearby. Can't beat this deal of a place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    173
    103
    60
    69
See reviews for
165
161
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed here for 5 days and upon leaving on Sunday morning about 8:00 am and arriving home at about 11:00 am realized some clothing was left hanging up. My wife called the motel immediately. They said they found the clothing and took her credit card and shipped them to her. Upon receiving the clothing, two new lady shirts was missing from the package. UPS told her she would have to contact the motel, they sent what was given to them. Upon contacting the motel, leaving two voice mails to housekeeping supervisor and one with motel manager, have received no response from neither and it has now been 7 days after the fact. Very unprofessional of the staff's part with not contacting us back in no way. There has been no communication at all. When calling on several and I mean several different occasions they just tell us we have to talk to housekeeping supervisor or motel manager and neither one will return our call. Someone from that staff has those two shirts.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgsmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This trip was a last minute spur of the moment trip. We had family staying in a condo near this hotel and we wanted to join them but all the condos in this area require a 1 week stay and we were only able to stay 4 days. This resort was very accomodating, we made reservations on line the day before leaving and check in was a breeze. We booked a standard room since we were only there for a short while but when we entered our room we had a small kitchen which was great. Housekeeping was alway great, pool and lazy river was nice pretty comparable to other hotels in the area. Indoor pool was not used but had a strong odor. Parking was never a problem they have several parking lots to use. What I liked most was entering through the lobby to get to the rooms, there was always someone at the front desk and felt very safe coming and going. The elevators were very fast the hotel is decorated nicely. There was a resort fee which i never understand why that's extra but is not uncommon in this area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 4 years. They entered our reservation incorrectly in to the computer and proceeded to take our belongs out of our room while we were are the beach. When returned to our room, housekeeping told us that we "checked out" and that they were told to take our belongs out of the room. My daughter starting crying because her toys and clother were gone along with everything else. Housekeeping was nice enough to let me back into the room so I could open the safe and get our valuables. The Manager at the front desk was RUDE and did not accomodate us for that night. I had to scramble to find another room for the evening at another hotel. I stay in tons of hotels for work and have NEVER had a hotel that wouldn't work with you find a room. We will NEVER stay at this hotel again and I recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomofJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

If you like relaxing vacations this is not for you. When we pulled up I should have known that we would not enjoy our stay. They allow people to rent over age 18, and that was pretty much all that was there. They took over the pool and the lazy river. Plenty of drinking and profanity so much so that I left my vacation to Myrtle Beach early and went to stay in Charleston, SC. I will never bargain shop for a vacation again, I will just stay where I know they do not allow people under 21 to rent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayettevillle n c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

5th weekend this year I have enjoyed at Ocean Drive Beach Resort. Friendly Staff and excellent breakfast buffet. 4 more weekends planned this year, Bill

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smoothbill28306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This hotel's location is excellent and is within walking distance to most attractions on North Myrtle Beach. Don't expect any services from the desk, though. Not a word of "Good afternoon", "How is everything", or "Thank you for choosing our hotel". They would NOT let you check in one minute before 4 o'clock, the "official" check-in time and you'd better check out not a minute later than 11 o'clock. I had been warned by some reviews here, wrote them an email, and never heard a word from the management. Also, I was supposed to receive an email confirmation of my reservation. I didn't get it (even after I called them twice), of course!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,475 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,241 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
148 reviews
4.2 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort

Property: Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 98 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3046
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach Resort
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Resort North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach Golf
Ocean Drive Myrtle
Ocean Drive Beach Hotel North Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing