We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chop Chop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Umberto's

Umberto's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Chop Chop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent meals for each of us at the table! I had the twin pork chops and they were amazing. The size of these things reminded me of something from The Flintstones...huge. Perfectly prepared. We will return to Umberto's each and every time we come back to NMB.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    87
    37
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Umberto's in Barefoot landing is my favorite Italian food by far....love te service...food is always fresh and atmosphere is terrific....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have been to Umberto's many times. I took my sister and friends recently. For starters, dinner comes with complimentary soup, salad, and pasta. Everything is delicious and prices are reasonable. This is my favorite restaurant in SC.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wow! Delicious Italian Family Style!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My Husband and I just found out about this place. I could not believe we had not heard about it sooner.
We took friends of ours out for a casual dinner.
The decor is nice and the menu is extensive. We placed our orders. My husband and I shared a dinner for two that included steak and two pork chops, potatoes, onions and peppers. Our friends tried Chicken Umberto and a stuffed veal.

After our warm bread arrived, a parade of complimentary food followed.
First we were greeted with a family style bowl of pasta and bean (fagioli) stew, next was salad and next was angel hair pasta with Marinara.

Full already, our entrees arrived.

The steak and pork chops were at least 1 1/2-2" thick and extreemly tender and tasty.

Our guest loved their choices as well.

Too full for dessert, but the coffee was delicious. We saw the desserts and they looked awesome as well.

We would highly recommend Umberto's and will return again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lkkalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsonburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great Italian dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to Umbertos the other night and had a great dinner. We went there last year also and enjoyed it. Dinner is served with the same three dishes before the entree. Beans and macaroni, a salad made with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers marinated in Italian dressing, and Spaghetti. Three of the people in our party had the veal parmesan and I had the veal Antoneli. It is a piece of veal stufffed with provolone cheese and proscutto, and has a brown gravy over it. It was delicious and filling. The atmosphere was great. People talking and laughing and having a good time. I make sure I go to this restaurant every time I go to Myrtle Beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umberto's also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Umberto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing