We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malibu Pointe Beach Club
CT
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

This is timeshare property that you can book as a hotel through Condolux. We did just that for last week's golf trip.

For 6 guys, we had more than enough space with 4 bedrooms, 7 beds and 4 bathrooms across nearly 1800 sq feet. If you're fussy, some of the finishes may seem a little rough but , for what we paid ($150/nt), it can't be beat.

The kitchen is minimally equipped with dishes and glassware. There was a dishwasher detergent packet but no paper towels or dish detergent.. The main room had a large flatscreen TV and each bedroom had a smaller one. The only downside was that the linens didn't fit properly, so they loosened from the mattress and bunched up every night. The location is fine, with some ocean views. Parking is ample but will be tight if the hotel is full. Covered outdoor hot tub was great.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
51
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I was leary after reading reviews of bedbugs and dirty floors...but was pleasantly surprised with the condo unit we rented. No bed bugs. Dirty floors, well, yeah, it is the beach after all...lots of sandy residue, but not a big deal to us. Bed are not super comfortable, sheets come off often. But the big pluses are proximity to beach for price - you have a nice view of the ocean as well, since there are no buildings blocking it. My kids LOVED the lazy river. It was cold, we came in early June, but they didn't mind. If you check in on Saturday, I wouldn't go to Walmart for groceries that day - it was a madhouse. Try a smaller grocery chain.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasJenWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh pa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Just got back from a week at malibu point, they should change the name to the roach motel. The roaches down by the pool were at least 3 inches long, the pool water was so cold that you could not swim in it, and yes do not take your shoes off in the place as the floors are so dirty the only way to clean them will be to put down new carpet. And as for the security gaurd that is there he needs to lighten up as I watched some kids jumping in the pools he jumped up and told them they had to leave the pool area. Now come on they were just kids having fun. I will never stay in this roach motel ever again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manmoutain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We rented a 3BR, 3BA condo at Malibu Pointe and paid $1414 for a week. We had to wear shoes all the time because the carpeting was so filthy. The hot tub was way over the prescribed 104 degrees and black mold was noted around the edge, the door leading to the stairs and emergency exit on the 10th floor was broken, the towels were threadbare, there was smoking all around and it was supposed to be a non-smoking condo, and - to top it all off - we learned most people were paying $1190 for the same type unit for a week. We not only were ripped off but it was the worse condo we have ever rented and we've been rented in Florida, California, Mexico, Hawaii, and Jamaica. We rented through Condolux and they were unhelpful and discourteous. Stay clear of this place!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohnan2two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, OH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

There were 10 of us in a 4 bedroom - 4 bath condo. The unit was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils, cookware & plates, etc. The lazy river/pool area was comfortable and relaxing. It was a short walk across a low-traffic street to get to the beach. We were in unit 1106 - high enough up to have a fantastic view of the beach! We would definitely stay there again!

We did have trouble with the hot water heater on about day 3 or 4 (heating coil or something broke). Condolux responded to my call promptly and maintenance came out that morning - couldn't repair it himself due to warranty issues - had to call the plumber who was out in the afternoon to repair. No issues after that. Things happen and we understand - so it was no big deal! Staff couldn't have been nicer about it!!

The beds were comfortable and clean. The master bed had a fitted sheet, so it stayed on just fine - but the other beds didn't, so they had trouble keeping the sheets on the mattress.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tish2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This is an excellent place to stay for families. This place is very clean with tons of amenites. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are super nice! We will be going back again. The one thing I did not like about this place is that the hotel is built over the outdoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afaucette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmont, PA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Filthy, top to bottom! We were surprised to be able to do early check-in on a Saturday but as it turns out, all the cleaning service does is change the linens. Malibu Pointe and Condu-Lux rely on their patrons clean their facility. You are at the mercy of the tenants prior to you. Kitchen, bathrooms, floors, carpet, closets, balconies – everything – were filthy. Feet turn black from walking on living room carpet. Dark Berber carpet even appears dirty. Broken glass in carpet and on balcony – had to clean it ourselves. Balconies were probably NEVER cleaned. The glass balcony railing would be beautiful if they were clean. Insides were ok, outsides were nasty. Felt bad washing the balcony water down to lower condos and into the lower pool area but no drainage and thus no future plans to clean either.

Public areas are filthy. Pools dirty as well as surrounding areas (walkways, etc.). Sand dragged into entrance ways and elevators, never cleaned up. “Outdoor pool” (which is just open to the air but under a ceiling (ground floor of building)) was FREEZING. This is the pool attached to lazy river. You can’t swim in it in JULY? Indoor pool had so much chlorine it ruined my husband’s new swim trunks plus the indoor area is humid, almost like a sauna. So warm but you can’t swim in there either. So, basically, you can use the kiddie pool and hot tub.

Two elevators in the building – one on each end. Constantly waiting. Especially during busy times, dinner, check-out time took 30 minutes to get an elevator.

Parking is ok, but only 4 spots available for larger vehicles (top carriers, full size trucks, vans, etc.). Full size vehicles won’t fit in parking garage. Other properties appear to be able to accommodate these size vehicles. There are about 10 spots in front of the building that are public parking.

Bring your out paper towels, toilet paper, everything. They give you NOTHING!! No maid service at all, we called twice and received no return call ever. Dirty…filthy…

Some other reviews noted bed bugs and I am beginning to wonder. I received bites on my legs which others and my doctor blamed on sand fleas but I was the only one of 7 people. So not sure…wouldn’t be surprised! I ended up on prescriptions drugs to treat my bites.

NEVER GOING BACK!!! FILTHY!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicole98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,543 reviews
2.1 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,254 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,283 reviews
2.3 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,656 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Pointe Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Pointe Beach Club

Property: Malibu Pointe Beach Club
Address: 1706 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Pointe Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Malibu Pointe Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Pointe Beach Club Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing