We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charleston Airport Hotel
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Milner, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was ok, no real problems. However the hotel needs to be updated and I didn't feel the room was super clean. The employees were friendly and the price was good, and the hotel was convenient for a trip to the Citadel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCha, General Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am glad that you found the hotel convenient for your visit to the Citadel and the area. Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. The hotel is continuing to work on guest room upgrades and renovations. Hopefully on your next visit these will be completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    112
    107
    148
    128
See reviews for
191
157
37
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our 8th floor room was hot, dirty, and the floor was covered in ants!!!! When we told the front desk about our bug problems they told us "lots of hotels have ants." Even with a groupon it wasn't worth it! Never again. I would rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rr734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Don't be fooled! The first floor of this hotel is clean and climate controlled. But as soon as you get to your floor and step off the elevator, you will SMELL the difference. The upper floors are kept 20 degrees warmer than the lobby to save money. The carpets are old & stained (see photos). The communal areas on the upper floors smell like warm garbage, hot combs, and curry! There were bags of garbage stacked up in the hallway (see photo). The smell was absolutely NAUSEATING! We were forced to hold our breath going to and from our rooms. The rooms weren't much better. The phone didn't work in the first room we tried. And the toilets don't flush right. It turns out that the toilet fill valves in this hotel are intentionally set at a low water level (see photo). This is done to save money. Unfortunately, that means you'll probably need to flush 4-5 times to get rid of your morning constitutional. Is it any wonder this place smells so bad? This hotel is DISGUSTING!

Radisson CEO, Trudy Rautio, should be ashamed of herself for allowing this CESSPOOL to continue to operate under the Radisson banner!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are disappointed to hear of the complaints regarding the poor condition of the hotel, I can assure you that this is not the level of service that we at Radisson pride ourselves upon. Corporate has been made aware of situations of this nature and we are currently devising strategies to put an end to these problems. If you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact Carlson Customer Care at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Pros: Lots off fast food options around. Rooms were clean and some have fridge and microwave. Staff is friendly and nice. The shuttle is a piece of crap but it gets you to and from the airport.

Cons: Shuttle won't take you anywhere but the airport. The neighborhood is very sketchy so I wouldn't recommend leaving at night. No free breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MacaroniJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCha, General Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am disappointed that we could not accommodate your request for transportation. We provide complimentary airport shuttles to and from the airport, but unfortunately we are not able to fill other transportation requests at this time. I am glad that you found the accommodates clean and surround by many dining options. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

After reading some questionable reviews on here we booked this hotel through groupon. It wasn't as bad as some reviews suggest. The sleep # bed in our room was dysfunctional. Other than that... it was clean, staff was friendly and helpful... breakfast was ok. However, if not fir the great groupon price, I might not have given it such a generous review.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryant864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCha, General Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad that with the special value you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I booked this hotel through Expedia. I got a great deal of $95.00/night. Compared to the other hotels nearby it was a fantastic deal, almost too good to be true. We arrived at the hotel late Thursday night. We were greeted by friendly hotel staff and placed in our room with no problem. However, once getting into the room we found the A/C was not working properly. We notified hotel staff and they placed us in another room down the hall.After transferring all of our stuff, I pulled down the covers ready to crash only to find hair all in the bed, and a spew of yellow spots over two of the pillows. I was absolutely disgusted with the quality of the hotel. After 3 hours of conversing with managers and Expedia, I finally received my money back and stayed at a hotel in downtown Charleston for my trip. I refused to spend even one night at this hotel. This hotel is NOT up to the three star standard it has been given. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhendrix90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nasty. Mold in the shower. Floors needed to be vacuumed.House cleaning left a dirty wash cloth hanging on my shower head. Hotel does have a restaurant but closes at 10 PM. Breakfast is served in the morning. Not bad but not worth the money. Ask the server if you still give a discount to airline crew members and had my head snapped off.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank brett r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room, including the shower area and the state of the carpet. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#7 of 58 in North Charleston
306 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
444 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#26 of 58 in North Charleston
409 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#29 of 58 in North Charleston
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Airport Hotel

Property: Charleston Airport Hotel
Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charleston Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Charleston Airport Hotel is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 10:00 am and dinner 5:30 pm to 10 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 10:pm am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Charleston Airport Hotel features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: same day laundry, laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing