We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, dingy accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charleston Airport Hotel
Ranked #43 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is very convenient to the airport and the shuttle is great. The desk staff were also courteous and helpful, but they cannot hide the fact the this hotel is in desperate need of a complete facelift. The carpets are filthy. the dirt has accumulated in the corners and the furniture has cigarette burns. I would not go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John65743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEtte C, Front Office Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.

As of November 26,2012 we are going through a complete refresh of the hotel. Our target date to be completed is March 31, 2013 but we appreciate the feedback , and I hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

DeEtte Clay
Front Office Manager
Radisson Charleston Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 587 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this radisson the night before our cruise and it was great. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from the port. It was cheaper then paying the fees at the port to park your car. The hotel was very clean and quiet. Our hotel package also included a morning buffet breakfast which had a lot of items to chose from. We did have a small problem with the shuttle time that we signed up for but the hotel staff was quick to resolve it, (someone took our time slot on the shuttle and we had to wait for the next one, which was fine because we got our own shuttle). I would stay at this hotel again and they are working on upgrades.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEtte C, Front Office Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us was. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and took advantage of the Cruise package that we offer. Sorry for the miscommunication regarding the time slot for the shuttle, but we are glad that everything worked out. Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.


Sincerely,

DeEtte W. Clay
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice. Has indoor heated pool and hot tub. Resturant. Large visiting area. Sleep nunber beds. Free internet. Free parking. Safely lit. They are upgrading as they go along, carpet, tv, etc. Great friendly staff. Thats why they have repeat business

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diver0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEtte C, Front Office Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how recent stay with us was. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and we are glad you are seeing the improvement we are making through the renovations.

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Once again, thank you.

DeEtte W. Clay
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

No problems at all. Parking was free and abundant. Location is great for just about anything you might want to do in the area. The price was right. Very nice beds. Friendly front desk staff shared their boiled peanuts with me. Thank you!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank looper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEtte C, Front Office Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how recent stay with us was. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and the boiled peanuts.

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Once again, thank you.

DeEtte W. Clay
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have stayed at his Radisson three different times. I was impressed with the service at my most recent stay. When I arrived, I had help with my luggage instantly. This was very helpful to me. I was in Charleston for an earlier meeting, and I had unfortunately strained a leg muscle prior to driving two hours to get there. The front desk staff was helpful and efficient. The Radisson has all that you need in amenities, spa and fitness, breakfast at the restaurant, non smoking property, and a microwave and frig in each room. My favorite part of this hotel is the premium bedding. I love their sleep number beds, and the one time I did not get a Sleep Number bed, the bed was still top quality and very comfortable. My muscle strain had gotten worse that day, and I was happy to report that I was assisted when I asked for the phone number to the nearest pharmacy, and even the general manager checked on me. My stay was for one night, and though my pain caused me to sleep only four hours, the next day I felt able to go to the nearby pharmacy, and also shop at the Northwoods Mall. The staff had been very courteous and nonjudgmental, as I was displaying a slight limp. And due to the extenuating circumstance, they allowed me a later checkout. I can say that even though my trip had a glitch because of my unexpected injury, that the service and comfort I felt was outstanding. And I am giving them an excellent rating, due to the caring staff. I have been to other hotels where the front desk staff acts clueless, with questionable service, and that aspect is important to me. Also, the location is convenient to all things, - highways, the mall, downtown Charleston, Tanger Outlet, and Mount Pleasant. So, I will stay at the Radisson in the future again, and I recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelchicMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEtte C, Front Office Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us was. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and We hope that your muscle strain has since gone away.

Please know that having you as a guest is always an honor and on behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

DeEtte W. Clay
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here because of the promotion by the Carlson Club of staying one night in any of their hotels and get a Free Night Award for a later stay in any Carlson hotel anywhere. This hotel needs renovating badly but has some amenities we enjoyed: free internet; free airport shuttle; free buffet breakfast with AAA rate; reasonable rates. The hallway carpets are badly soiled. There was a large carpet stain in our room. The shower head did not function very well. There is no flat screen TV. Management noted that they are beginning renovation. I would not recommend the hotel until after the renovation.

Room Tip: Although the hotel is near an interstate, the rooms are soundproofed and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEtte C, Front Office Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your room during your recent stay with us was not up to par. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. We are currently going through a refresh and I would love to have you come back and give us another chance . Do not hesitate to contact me directly at deette.clay@radisson.com if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

DeEtte W. Clay
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Radisson should close this hotel immediately. The room's carpet was stained in several locations, the walls in the bathroom and in the room had holes that were not repaired, the bathroom floor was stained and dirty. I have stayed in Radissons and hotels all around the world and this has to be very near the bottom of the list.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEtte C, Front Office Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your room during your recent stay with us was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. We are gearing up for a refresh starting this month and I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at deette.clay@radisson.com if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.



Warm regards,

DeEtte W. Clay
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Charleston
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 59 in North Charleston
373 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#3 of 59 in North Charleston
714 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#4 of 59 in North Charleston
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#8 of 59 in North Charleston
462 reviews
10.2 mi away
North Charleston Marriott
North Charleston Marriott
#22 of 59 in North Charleston
117 reviews
9.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Airport Hotel

Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charleston Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Charleston Airport Hotel is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 10:00 am and dinner 5:30 pm to 10 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 10:pm am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Charleston Airport Hotel features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: same day laundry, laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing