We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and nasty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Charleston North
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible and nasty rooms”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place was the worst motel or motel 6 I have ever stayed in.... I thinkg $39.95 is to much for this trash bin... I only booked one night there and immediately realized after walking in my room that this was a bad decision. The room was the worst smelling motel I could imagine ever existed. The carpet was dirty and wet. The crappy tv was dusty.The bed sheets smelled like they were donated from the local salvation army. No bath tubs. Showers were small and awkward. The towels and wash cloth smelled as bad as the room. I spent extra money at the local Wal-Mart buying bed sheets, pillow cases, febreeze, Lysol and Glade plug-ins. The other residents were either blue colar workers on business or local losers who hang out or maybe even live in this dump. I checked my car at random times because I didnt feel it was safe outside. After switching two rooms I was offered complimentary wifi witch sucked!!! I cant believe this place is open for business... Ive stayed at many motel 6 before with no complaints until this one. Id advise anyone to spend the extra cash and go far away from that place...

Room Tip: The best tip is to just go somewhere else! Dont consider this horrible motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarvae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    13
    13
    30
See reviews for
24
13
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roebuck, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The building is older, but I found the room to be clean. Just because something is old doesn't mean it's dirty. The hotel was filled with mostly men working on the road(traveling repairmen), so the parking was somewhat daunting. I did not feel unsafe at any time. I left my home in a rush and forgot shampoo. They did not have any complimentary shampoo, and the clerk did not offer to direct me to the nearest store. There was no continental breakfast or free wifi(2.99per day). I did not realize at the time of booking, if would have affected my decision to stay at this hotel. I will not be staying here again. I stayed in another North Charleston Hotel a couple of months ago. It was also an older building, very clean, super friendly staff, continental breakfast, free wifi, complimentary toothbrush(for an unexpected guest staying the night with us), etc...ALL for less per night than this Motel 6. That hotel was booked or I would have been there. Not a bad hotel if you just need a place to sleep for the night. It just doesn't have ANY amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLHTEH06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Charleston North, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear DLHTEH06 - We apologize for your unsatisfactory stay; thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will take it into account as we work to improve our guests’ experience with us. Please consider contacting our guest relations department to report your experience so we can serve you better in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My family and I came to Charleston for my Uncle's funeral. Upon arrival, my kids and I walked into the room and were overwhelmed at the stinch of nastiness. When I looked at the bed closest to the wall, there was a blood booger on the head board. We were supposed to stay 2 nights and we were so disgusted we left. There was very obviously prostitutes and the like at this particular location. Those who had a police presence were lucky, as we had no such presence on our visit. I can assure you that we will not stay at this location EVER again. When I went down to the front office to complain, the front staff was less than helpful and told me to come back the next day if we wanted a refund. Um, no thanks.

Room Tip: There is no good room here! This place should be condemed!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear AZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Oh My God!! This is **The Worst Motel I have **Ever** Stayed In** !! Registered for two nights and checked out after the first. I am **not** kidding in this title. I was with a recovered crack addict and there were dealers on every angle of the balcony rooms. There was even a police car out front and an officer in the office "for presence". **Yes**, he was only there for presence and probably in on the profits as my roommate relapsed, bought on the premises and used after years of being clean. I was uncomfortable from arrival and did not feel safe standing outside my door to have a cigarette. I was asked if I "partied" by one of the dealers personally. **Any** police officer could have seen what was going on without one ounce of public service training. I have often stayed in Motel 6's, I will **Never** stay in another. Worst experience of my life. My advice, stay closer to the Navy base or farther out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMiller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room with 1 queen bed on the ground floor. We planned to stay here 3 nights but checked out after 1 because it was terrible. For $10 more we found a motel that was much more comfortable. I suppose the room was clean because it had an over-powering smell of industrial-strength cleaner, but it felt grungy and old. The air conditioner did nothing to cool the room and smelled like dust. The pillows were limp, the covers were dingy, and the carpet felt gross. The staff members were either completely overwhelmed or unhelpful. The location isn't bad, only 15 minutes from Charleston, but there are so many hotels/motels in that area, I'm sure you could find a better place to stay than here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WitWiCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The beds were convenient and the pillows were soft.
The rooms are definitely not very clean, including the floor, towels and shower. The blankets had holes (!) and were not clean either. Some of the staff was not very knowledgeable and helpful, but some were very good.
I would rather spend some more money and stay in a better place next time.
The location is ok. It is about 15 minutes to the downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is your basic Motel 6, which suited my needs fine. Bed was comfortable, clean room. Some of the furniture looks dated, but that is fine if you are just using the room to mainly sleep, shower and change clothes. Staff was very nice and helpful with my questions. Even printed out directions from mapquest for me! I liked having a police officer in the parking lot. I know alot of people automatically say that must mean that the place is bad, but I rather have the police there. I feel safer that way especially if I am travelling solo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaSC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#38 of 59 in North Charleston
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
#37 of 59 in North Charleston
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
#31 of 59 in North Charleston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charleston Ashley Phosphate
WoodSpring Suites Charleston Ash...
#40 of 59 in North Charleston
39 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#41 of 59 in North Charleston
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall
Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwo...
#30 of 59 in North Charleston
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Charleston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charleston North

Property: Motel 6 Charleston North
Address: 2551 Ashley Phosphate Rd, North Charleston, SC 29418-4431
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Charleston North 1.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Charleston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 North Charleston
North Charleston Motel 6
North Charleston Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing