We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel, but value is where this one wins”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #53 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Good motel, but value is where this one wins”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great for the price. I guess I got a clean room or something, looking at the other reviews, but I made friends with my neighbors in the motel and they also had a positive experience. If nothing else, give this place a shot for the price. Prime location near many amenities, close to downtown, and significantly cheaper than most other hotels in the area.

Obviously it could be better, but I tried shopping for the best value motel in the area and I was satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    14
    14
    42
See reviews for
22
27
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here and was completely disappointed. People were getting arrested in the parking lot. The front desk people gave someone else a room key to our room. The internet did not work! The room smelled and was dirty! The only good thing was that we left early and they gave us our money back! Spend a little extra money and stay at one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. You’ll be pleased to learn that every aspect of this property has been refreshed and improved since your brief visit, including our customer service. While we’re sorry that you couldn’t actually stay with us, we hope you’ll return soon to see how we’re changing and improving.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We arrived and checked in in Thursday, we got to our room and it had not been cleaned yet. So we had to wait for them to clean it. Then the next day we had just gotten back from lunch and were laying in bed watching tv, and a maid just walked in... did not knock, nothing, just walked right in. We told her we did not need the room cleaned just new towels. She never brought them... I called the front deskdesk and they told me to come to the front desk and I could have some. Really? So I walked up front and there were 2 employees, doing nothing. Then on Saturday, I get woken up with someone banging on the door yelling house keeping... I was still asleep cause we went out the night before and didn't get in until late... so I went and asked if she could see the for not disturb sign on the door, she says to me, u are suppose to check out... which no we weren't we paid through Sunday but they messed it up on their systems so I also had to get that straightened out. On top of all this when I told someone about this and someone walking in our room unannounced all they said was oh, we will talk to them... im not going to say it ruined my vacation because I had a great time in Charleston outside of the hotel. I would recommend going to Charleston to anyone, but be warned, whatever u do, do not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joelridings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry you found our service lacking. We have changed most aspects of this hotel since your stay, including our staffing. When you return to Charleston, please visit us to see how we’re better than ever before. You’ll be truly surprised. I apologize that we didn’t do better during your stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel is dirty, old, smelly and just plain NASTY. Yes, it is a cheap alternative to the outrageous hotel rates in the city. But, it is GROSS. I was scared to even put my bare feet on the floor. The carpet was covered in stains, the comforter had holes all over it, and everything was falling apart. I made my fiance go out to the car and get our blankets and cover the bed sheet in them so I could feel comfortable laying down. I barely slept because it was so loud and quite frankly I was a bit scared to go to sleep. Just save yourself the sixty bucks and DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

While I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback, I must tell you that many guests are pleased with the combination of convenience, value and comfort we provide. We have also made significant improvements to the hotel since you stay. I sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with this stay and strongly encourage you to try us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Absolutely terrible, killed a giant spider inside door. Horrible breakfast choices, coffee weak, weak. Requested non smoking and first they gave a stinking smoking room. Asked for ground floor and had to push for it. DO NOT STAY HERE....Didn't take a shower a didn't want to use tub..

Room Tip: Don't face highway - in fact just don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbkenMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. I’m terribly sorry that you were dissatisfied when so many others have had a great experience here. We’ve made significant improvements to the motel in recent months, and you would probably enjoy a future stay much more. Still, I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I was just here about 1 month ago, and I was encountered by a very friendly desk clerk. The property was very well maintained and clean. The room I was assigned was also very clean, and I could tell that a lot of renovations have recently been done.
I met the owner and despite what other reviewers have said, he was very friendly and especially helpful on the best sights.
For the price I paid, I was very content with my stay there, and I would surely go back. It may have been as bad as the other reviews indicated at one point, but I'd surely give it a try if you are looking for a bargain.

Room Tip: I had a room facing Hardee's and it was newly renovated, quiet, and quaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

After driving for several we needed someplace too sleep. We were wrong in picking the place. Old bathroom was disgusting Tilley paper was an old roll of Tilley that got wet. Tub was so disgusting could shower, shower curtain looked like petri dish. Wouldn't take my luggage slept in clothes and shoes. Live and learn. Don't stop keep driving

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your feedback and am sorry that you were dissatisfied when so many others have found our rooms clean, comfortable and a great value. Still, I apologize that we could not satisfy you. We have made a lot of changes recently and can promise an even better experience to all future guests.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#38 of 59 in North Charleston
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
#37 of 59 in North Charleston
214 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#41 of 59 in North Charleston
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#35 of 59 in North Charleston
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn North Charleston
Sleep Inn North Charleston
#32 of 59 in North Charleston
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
#31 of 59 in North Charleston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 2311 Ashley Phosphate Rd, North Charleston, SC 29406-4105 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn Charleston Hotel North Charleston
Country Hearth Hotel Charleston
Country Hearth Motel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing