We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
Ranked #37 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked my stay online, very easy and quick process. The hotel was exactly what we needed for our getaway. It was clean, comfy, and affordable. The staff was very helpful and and friendly gave good advice about where to eat and visit. Hot water and a comfortable mattress made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newsomema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0142, General Manager at Red Roof Inn North Charleston, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Our team would like to thank you for your recent comments regarding your recent stay. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotel. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. It is my hope that you will give us another chance to meet your expectations when your future travels requires lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    64
    44
    33
    34
See reviews for
57
61
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Booked property online because the Red Roof can always be depended upon for a safe, clean, and cheap place to stay. The bed is comfortable and provides a good nights sleep. The water is hot and the ac provides a comfortable environment in which to relax and sleep. No complaints here.......

Charleston is known unfortunately for its high cost hotels. Red Roof is the one I depend on each and every time!

Thanks Red Roof!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pfishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

First, the positives:

1) It was really affordable
2) The front desk staff were very friendly
3) The beds were very, very comfortable

The rest?

Noisy, very thin walls. The place is also crawling with bugs in the summer time. As far as eating goes, there isn't much to say - a really awful Denny's next door, a Wendy's nearby, and a Waffle House across the street.

The bathroom was atrocious. South Carolina water has a particular odor that, if you aren't used to it, can give the illusion of mold. The water pressure was awful, and the tub basin filled up within seconds with the shower on, meaning you had to be quick or else be ankle-deep in dirty, soapy, smelly water while showering.

The AC unit, apart from being appallingly noisy, leaked, leaving a huge wet area on the carpet. The TV, though we weren't planning to use it much (as it was a one-night stay) only had a few of the listed channels, the rest being out or unwatchable.

The worst part was the ice/vending room. We walked in and immediately were hit with a smell somewhere between feces and mold. Could have been something in the trash (dead animal or diapers?) or mold in the washing machine that was available, but it was definitely old and uncalled for. I was nauseated all night and into the next morning from the smell, and that was just being there for about 20 seconds to get ice.

The price is appealing, but save yourself the trouble and pay a bit more to stay at one of the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was an all right motel. It fulfilled all the basic requirements. The rate on the electronic sign said $54 per night (before tax) but I had a coupon from one of those hotel/motel coupon books one can get at visitor centers and rest stops which dropped the price to $44 (before tax).

The biggest complaint is that the concept of a non-smoking room seems to have been lost on people who run this place. My friend is very sensitive so the first room was too smoky smelling. Then the second room was even worse - besides smoke, it smelled like the carpet had gotten wet and was giving off a moldy/musty smell. The third room was just barley acceptable to my friend - but he was too tired and we lit a few candles to mask the cigarette smell.

Like many motels in this price range, things were slightly tattered by normal age and wear and tear.

The service was great only in the sense that the clerk switched the room 3 times without a fuss what-so-ever.

Would I recommend this? Only if one looks at the actual room before paying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmsrmsrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great location, clean rooms and friendly personnel. I am visiting charleston every month for business and I am happy I found a hotel I can look forward to stay at. The rooms are always clean, the price is always fair, it is conveniently located to shopping and restaurants and the staff is friendly and helpfully.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asmir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Had a wonderful time. Met miss Chiquitta Phillips and that made my night. I would love to go back just to see her beautiful face.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callahan, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Recently made the mistake of letting price make my lodging decision in North Charleston. The Red Roof Inn in North Charleston was a below average choice. It was the cheapest in the area for a reason. Sticky door knobs (GROSS!!), mold in the bathroom, crumbling asphalt in parking lot, and shady looking characters as...at 3 am people were yelling I'm going to kill you i want my money . We were scared to go outside . they were bugs in the dresser so I could not use . I was vary dissatisfied with this room . When I did a customer survey The owner said sorry . my hotel is the best nothing wrong . this hotel is at 7480 northwoods blvdChiquitta Phillips
Assistant General Manager
Red Roof Inn - N. Charleston - Coliseum

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liver007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#38 of 59 in North Charleston
230 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#41 of 59 in North Charleston
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
#31 of 59 in North Charleston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charleston Ashley Phosphate
WoodSpring Suites Charleston Ash...
#40 of 59 in North Charleston
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#39 of 59 in North Charleston
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#14 of 59 in North Charleston
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn North Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn North Charleston

Property: Red Roof Inn North Charleston
Address: 7480 Northwoods Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29406-4025
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn North Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Red Roof Inn North Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn North Charleston Hotel North Charleston
North Charleston Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing