We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quality Suites Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Alloway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Stayed at the Quality Suites 5/30-6/4/08, had a pleasant stay and and a nice getaway weekend. We had a nonsmoking King suite which was CLEAN, did not smell of smoke, had a comfortable bed and a nice hot shower. Yes the lobby had a smell of smoke, because they do allow smoking rooms, although I never did see anyone smoke. The buffet hot breakfast was good and we enjoyed it every morning. One morning we arrived late, and William saw to it that we still ate making us omelets and providing breakfast. A family with small children came down even later and he made sure they were attended to also. Yes, the hotel is older, but adequately maintained, and they do take care of problems as they arise. We did not participate in the free happy hour, or swim in the pool while there. We slept comfortably and washed up there so we could enjoy Charleston!
Also, it is difficult to find the hotel at first, but once you know the way it is easy and right next to outlet shopping and all kinds of eateries!

  • Liked — The location next the Tanger Outlet
  • Disliked — THe smell of smoke in the lobby
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelekuhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2008

First of all, do not stay here unless you enjoy smelling cigarette smoke. This hotel is very outdated and is not taken care of/maintained. I requested a non-smoking room and was given a smoking room (they claimed to have ran out of non-smoking rooms). One of the people from the desk tried to spray some kind of odor neutralizer to get rid of the smoke smell - but it didn't work. It appears that this hotel has a huge number of "smoking" rooms and very few non-smoking rooms.

When you walk into the front of the hotel, the smoke smell hits you immediately. The entire middle section of the hotel (guest commons area) has nothing but people chain smoking and getting drunk/loud at all times of the day.

The room itself was not clean. The carpet was filthy and the couch looked like it had multiple stains on it and cigarette burns. The bathroom still had hair from the previous guests on the floor and in the tub.

Do not stay at this hotel!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank survivorcharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2008

The good: free happy hour and the breakfast buffet
The bad: delay at check-in ---room wasn't ready
Rooms need serious updating
Carpet wet near sink and advised front desk. When we returned late in the day, our room door was open and maintenance was working on the toilet! We had to switch to another room.
Front desk was rather surly and not in a rush to get us another room. Supervisor intervened, but it still took 20 minutes to locate another room. (Why did they not anticipate this?) We moved with no apology from staff and no offer to assist us.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank 66roady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2008

We chose this hotel because of the price/location, and I can honestly say that was the best thing about it. Although we'd been promised a non-smoking room, we were given a smoking one right off the lobby atrium. The noise level was horrible.

The free happy hour "reception" seems to draw quite a crowd of seemingly underage drinkers who stay in the lobby smoking and drinking until quite late. They also have a large television mounted on the balcony below the second floor rooms which can be controlled by the crowd drinking below. I had to call down to the front desk every night of our 5 night stay to have them turn down the television, usually more than once (and one night, around 2am, 4 times!).

The room was horribly outdated and shabby. The furniture was coming apart at the seams with broken drawers and cabinets. One television didn't work and was not replaced/fixed.

The only other positives I can give are that they seem to be in the process of renovating a few of the rooms, hopefully this will improve their appearance/quality. Also, the cooked to order complimentary breakfast was wonderful and the food-service staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise level
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed for a night on our way home from Disney. The lobby and room was nice. Fast check in. When we went to lay in bed, our head was lower than our feet. Apparently the bed was broken. It was midnight and our girls (who had been sick) were asleep so changing rooms was not an option. We layed the other way (downhill) to try and make it till morning. That worked about as good as the other way. Not very comfortable. In the am, I looked forward to a shower, turned it on and spitter spatter...nothing. It dripped out of the shower head. UGH! Long story short... We were comped the room by Marion (manager). The hotel was nice and clean and the full breakfast was excellent. Besides the 2 major issues, we would refer others there and stay again

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Bed and Shower
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkakt5sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Upon check-in, the hotel did not have my reservation. I had a confirmation number and online verification printed reservation. They gave us a room, but indicated that had they been full, we would have not had a room, even with my reservation confirmation.
The room was not clean, the bathroom especially was not clean. Old grout loose, wallpaper was peeling and the shower did not work. Of course we did not discover the bad shower until the next morning. We reported that the shower did not work, and were not offerred another room, only that a "work order" would be made to have it fixed.
So many other choices in the same area, that we will not stay here again.

  • Liked — The cooked to order breakfast and restuarant area were great.
  • Disliked — The cleanliness and disrepair of the suite.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1bmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Like a previous poster stated, I would have been upset if I paid the regular price for this room, but I received a good deal from Hotwire, in addition to using my Hot Dollars. I'm glad we only needed to stay one night. While you can see the sign from the street, the hotel is a bit difficult to get to, and we received confusing (and incorrect) directions when we called the hotel. The hotel is badly in need of updating, as the wallpaper was peeling from the walls, and the bedspread looked rather worn. The carpet was FILTHY - I would not allow my children to walk in the room barefoot! Service was average; we had to walk down to the front desk to retrieve linens for the sofabed (they were not in the room), as opposed to a staff member bringing them to our room. The breakfast was very crowded, but a reasonable value. The hotel is in a good location, as it is near Tanger Outlets and other stores (Wal-Mart, etc.)

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Dated, worn look; dirty carpeting
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tearose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston ...
#21 of 58 in North Charleston
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#42 of 58 in North Charleston
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
North Charleston Inn
North Charleston Inn
#45 of 58 in North Charleston
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#29 of 58 in North Charleston
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Convention Center

Property: Quality Suites Convention Center
Address: 5225 N Arco Ln, North Charleston, SC 29418-7001
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Charleston
Quality Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing