We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charleston Grand Hotel
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This Clarion was actually very nice, BUT the location is bad. Sirens all night, very scary interstate exit. If this hotel was in a different area it would be a 5. The staff was great. The room was very clean, modern decor, flat screen tv, nice pool and fitness area. We had never stayed in Charleston before so we didn't know a lot about the location. I got up throughout the night just to look out my window and check on my car. Other than the location it was great!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 933leigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel in itself was great, room was quite clean. Can't really enjoy your stay due to cop sirens going off all hours of the night. Very unsafe area. Front desk staff was very friendly, but good luck getting breakfast waiting in line for a very long time behind all the employees. Balcony railing were also very unsafe, very loose to be so high up . Room was nice but will not being staying in this area again .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Was one of the few left in that area that was affordable and safe and nice enough! Hey have not razed the building yet but it's gutted and making way for a Holiday Express I was told. I have stayed here for 35 years on and off. Sorry to see it go. I tried the Roadway ( soon to be Clairon) and the Days across the street and they are fine enough but still cracking 80 to stay there. Bye bye masters Inn!

Room Tip: Good bye Master inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to make a last minute weekend trip to Charleston. When we arrived we were trying to stay in the Mount Pleasant area but ALL of the hotels were full, so we had to stay in North Charleston. I was a little weary since some areas can be a little shady but it was our only option. Outside of the hotel looks aged but the room itself wasn't too bad, I mean I wasn't expecting a five star hotel room or anything and we were just staying the night. What I enjoyed was the bed had a down comforter, down pillows, and mattress pad instead of the usual gross itchy comforter and rock hard mattress. Only complaint was when we arrived at the hotel around midnight the club/restaurant next door was still open and parking was nearly impossible to find (cars parked behind other cars in designated parking spots) and the music was so loud you could clearly hear it standing in the lobby for the elevator. Lucky for us we were on the sixth floor but I'm sure anyone on the second or third floor got little to no sleep. Talked to the front desk clerk the next morning during check out and told her about the music and she was overly apologetic explaining they were not apart of the hotel and actually had a notebook to write down all the complaints. Not too bad of a hotel if you just need a place to crash for the night.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the side of the hotel near the bar/restaurant (Aria)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We chose this hotel because we were a family arriving in CHS airport and had one night to stay before heading up to Myrtle Beach. We wanted a hotel close to the Naval base and sightsee North Charleston. Driving to the hotel, we realized this was not the best end of town. When we arrived, we realized that this was a bad area to stay with a family. We arrived before checkin time,but decided to check the inside of the hotel out and see if we could do an early checkin since the parking lot seemed fairly empty except a few cars and a couple of construction crew vehicles (empty hotel). The lobby had a bad odor but otherwise seemed clean. The receptionist seemed nice, however did not permit early checkin, so we left to return later. We traveled to Historic Charleston and found a beautiful Hampton Inn that had a room that could sleep our family of six with all the amnenities and accually cost less since we had booked two rooms at Clarion. We called Clarion to cancel our rooms, but they would not refund our money since we had not given them 24 hour notice. The hotel was such that we chose to cancel anyways knowing we were losing that money. Good choice. Not sure I would let my constuction crew stay there.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIANE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its central location to downtown Charleston, the Air Force base, and Folly Beach. Despite decent reviews over the past month, the location of the hotel was the ONLY thing Clarion had going for it. As we pulled into the parking lot, we noticed there was a "restaurant" connected to the hotel. It was well past bedtime when we checked in, around 11:30pm, and people were spilling out of it, some of which in a drunken state. As we headed to check-in, a woman was leaving the hotel and asked if the gas station was 24 hrs and she was clearly intoxicated or possibly doing some sort of drug. This was sort of a red flag for me. (We found the next day that she seemed to either work in the restaurant or was close friends with someone who did. Really professional.) The front desk clerk was very friendly, but gave us the wrong room number originally, and caught us JUST BEFORE we unknowingly walked into someone else's room. Once we found our room, I couldn't get past the cloying smell of cigarette smoke and urine. The bathroom literally smelled like fresh smoke, probably from a connected vent to a smoking room. The blanket over the bed had stains and the floor by the air conditioner was sopping wet. We had been driving all night and were exhausted, so we agreed to stay the night instead of looking for another room or another hotel. Little did we know, we wouldn't be getting much sleep that night because the "restaurant" was basically a night club after hours and the bass was heard into the wee hours of the morning. When I looked out the window to find the source of the noise, I noticed that people were literally just walking the streets, walking across exit ramps with no regard and shambling to the gas station to get what I can only guess was more alcohol. At this point, we were not only disgusted with our room, but we also felt unsafe with drunk people roaming around at night, coming out of the bar connected to our hotel. The next morning I missed breakfast by 15 minutes (it ended at 9:30am) because no one established times or location the night before. After showering, and finding hairs in my towel, we decided we'd be better suited elsewhere and asked to check out of the hotel prior to our checkout date. A big fuss about points ensued (we are Choice Hotels members) and the manager was less than friendly, but we eventually made it out of the hotel and into a better hotel one exit up. I will NEVER stay here again, nor will I recommend it to ANYONE. Terrible!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hrw8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our stay at the Clarion was nice. Average hotel room. The positive was the convenience of location to downtown Charleston and other area locations. The parking was terrible. There was a bar/night club located on the property. The back parking lot was flooded. Staff very nice. Warm breakfast was tasty. Might stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean and roomy for our family of 4. Liked the location for Charleston and other area at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMcHargue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#46 of 58 in North Charleston
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Charleston Inn
North Charleston Inn
#43 of 58 in North Charleston
370 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#37 of 58 in North Charleston
239 reviews
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#35 of 58 in North Charleston
112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum
Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport...
#25 of 58 in North Charleston
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Grand Hotel

Address: 3640 Dorchester Rd, North Charleston, SC 29405-7569 (Formerly The Historic Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleston Grand Hotel (formerly Clarion) under new management and ownership is centrally located in the heart of North Charleston, SC. Just minutes away from Downtown Charleston and The North Charleston Coliseum, makes our hotel a very convenient choice. We offer you a variety of room choices and amenities. We take pride in great customer service to go along with an enjoyably comfortable stay. It is our goal to make sure that you leave happy. So if there is anything that we can do, please let us know. Thank you for making Charleston Grand Hotel your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleston Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel North Charleston
Clarion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing