We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel for a Stay in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent Hotel for a Stay in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Excellent hotel for the money and proximity to Charleston. It's improved over previous years and the staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Very close to the interstate, restaurants, gasoline and shopping. You'd be hard pressed to find a better value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    38
    23
    26
    67
See reviews for
59
42
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The pool needed some work, the room could have been cleaner. The rate was good and the breakfast was as well. Better than the sister property, Clarion Inn closer to downtown. The Ruby Tuesday was convenient as were the fast food places and Walgreens across the bridge.

Room Tip: choose something towards the front - it is closer to the pool and closer to walk to McDonald's o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hotel was not that good, for the $180 we spent on two nights. The room was small, two of the outlits didn't work, and the tv needs to be updated. The coffee pot leaked. When you look at the pictures you miss half of it because its the wrong format. Breafast- uhhh- ok. They had small muffins, small danishes and mini bagels. The fruit cups were from a can and the breakfast sitting area was small. Not worth my money. The only thing was that it was cheap enough to stay at and still only 15-20 minutes away from downtown. Next time, I hope, I can get somewhere closer. Just hard to get a good place at this time because of Poletto festival. Front desk was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froggie0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

A dump a dump ....not worth the money. Nothing good to say about this place.Stains on floor,stains on bedding,Non smoking room with chair with burns all on the ARM ...chair wedged up under desk drawer to keep it closed. We sprayed and put so much cleaning products in room had to open door. Didnt call ..Didnt say anything , Was here 2 years ago and they didnt do anything. Was giving them a try again ...twice was not nice....Have photos but in rush to stop anyone from staying here.
NASTY ... a DUMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i WANT MY MONEY BACK......
oh front desk nice hahaahahha and she said come back REALLY ,,,,dont think so at this locaton.

Room Tip: Dont even think about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I recently stayed at quality in and the service was terrible. I checked in friday night and the tub was dirty. When I left satuday morning and returned that night my items were removed from my room. I went to the office and she said there was nothing she could do I had to wait on a manager. That same night two men came to my room and attempted to get inside my room. Thank God my boyfriend was there to defend me because one of them had a gun. I immediatly left the hotel after telling the front desk clerk. She never called the police or checked me out so I was still charged for the night. When I returned with the police the staff laughed as if it were a joke. Even the manager was terrible he passed me to head housekeeping who hung up on me. I would never stay at this hotel again. I don't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: It is cheap but the extra money on another hotel is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, WI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

The air conditioner was not working well - air was not cool just seemed to be blowing - called - waited for 1/2 hr. then called again - a man came a hour plus after my first call - worked on it - said it was better - we didn't think it was much - if any better - had a bad night's sleep due to air conditioner not working right - otherwise for an old hotel it seemed pretty good and clean

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken krouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
721 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend to sightsee in historic Charleston, South Carolina. This hotel is about 10 miles outside the famous historic section and there are many nicer hotels closer to it. The first issue to me was that guests have to prepay to use the hotel's computer, which was dirty. We have stayed at many moderate to low priced places and never had I had to prepay for internet use. The drapes and furniture in the room looked, in hubby's words, "like they came from Goodwill." The first night, there was a man selling seafood out of a truck outside our window, late into the night. There were also several diesel trucks rumbling through the parking lot. Hubby commented that the shower faucet was loose and slow to heat. When I used the bathroom faucet I noticed the same thing.The window air/heat unit was also dirty. The second night was uneventful and we checked out early. When hubby got the bill he noticed several taxes added on. So the "total" room charge that we were quoted when making the reservation (through Hotels.com) wasn't a true total at all. Needless to say, we would not recommend this location to anyone!

Room Tip: Check out any Quality Inn before booking. Hopefully they aren't all this bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
5.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North Charleston
Econo Lodge North Charleston
#26 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#44 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
#35 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
#30 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn North Charleston
Sleep Inn North Charleston
#32 of 58 in North Charleston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charleston Ashley Phosphate
WoodSpring Suites Charleston Ash...
#48 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Property: Econo Lodge North
Address: 7415 Northside Drive, North Charleston, SC 29420 (Formerly Quality Inn North Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn North Charleston Hotel North Charleston
North Charleston Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing