We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a neighborhood gem!”

Sesame Burgers & Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hormone free custom burgers with vast array of options for toppings as well as free range chicken and turkey burgers. Also, offering vegan house made veggie burgers, salads, craft beer and full bar. Perfect for entire family. 3 locations in Charleston area.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Definitely a neighborhood gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We've been going to Sesame ever since we moved to the Charleston, SC area and have never been disappointed. 4 types of burgers (beef, turkey, chicken, and bean) with all kinds of different possible combinations of toppings. We almost always go on Tuesday when burgers are $3 + toppings (get there early!). Fries and fantastic onion rings are $1.50 and $2. Their side salads for $2 are fresh and delicious. Definitely check it out.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    94
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We needed a quick meal in order to make our flight in time, so we asked the hostess if it was reasonable to get in and out in 30 minutes. Not only did she graciously make every effort to speed our meal along, but she made sure to help us read the menu quickly and understand the deals available. We took advantage of the $3 burgers (toppings additional) and got a tasty meal for under $15 for 2 adults. What a deal! Can't wait to go back and spend a bit more time enjoying the meal...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tessatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in South Carolina!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Shame on me for not reviewing Sesame earlier. I've been coming here for years now and it never, ever, EVER disappoints.

Best. Burgers. Ever. Period. Exclamation Point!

Sesame has the best selection of burgers (and burger alternatives) I've ever seen. The burgers and toppings are a little on the pricey side but it is really well worth it since the ingredients they use are top notch. Go on Tuesday night for $3 burger night if you want to try it for the first time. It will save you a few bucks for a super delicious burger.

I've tried many of their combinations, but I think my favorites are the Burger in a Bowl for when you want to appear to be eating healthy and the Memphis Burger. A burger Elvis would have been proud of: Banana, Bacon and Peanut Butter on a burger. Sounds totally gross but it is oddly amazing!

Monday are Mexi Monday's and they serve up some great fish taco's but really, if you come here, at least for the first time, order a burger. Save the fish tacos for your many returns back to Sesame.

Last thing I'll mention is Sesame makes everything from scratch, even their condiments. This is important to note, but I LOATHE ketchup. I mean I it makes me nauseous thinking about it. BUT Sesame's homemade from scratch ketchup is REALLY good. It is not gross, sugary, nastiness that is processed ketchup. It really tastes like tomatoes. Sesame ketchup is the only ketchup I will eat in the entire world.

Sesame takes pride in their food, using quality ingredients, grinding their own meat and actually cooking burgers to the temperature you want it, so if you want medium rare you are gonna get it!

My only complaint about this specific location is I wish they were open on Sunday, we just love it so much!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsDeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Sesame, at Park circle is diamond in the ruff, from the outside it doesn’t look like mush but inside it has the old time atmosphere of the area. The staff is very friendly and helpful with seating and making decisions with the large menu. Serving everything from Burgers to vegy plate with a verity of meat from beef to turkey, and don’t forget the side of sweet potato fries that can be topped off with their house made mustard, mayo and ketchup. You have your choice of beverages be it milk shakes to the large list of beer. For anyone visiting the Hunley museum by the old navy base it’s a short drive up Spruill Ave. to E. Montaque Ave and have a great lunch or dinner.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flugmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pimento Cheese Burger...nuff said”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I found this place when I was doing work in N. Charleston for grad school a few years ago. It's definitely worth driving up there to try a South Carolina burger (topped with homemade pimento cheese that is delicious). It's cool because you can get all of the sandwiches they offer as either a burger, chicken, or pork sandwich. And they also have sliders, so you can mix and match. Very relaxed atmosphere. Don't forget to order the sweet potato fries!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank klstamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Burgers & Beer also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sesame Burgers & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing