We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean but no in room refigerator?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hubert, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and clean but no in room refigerator?”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were in Charleston for the night to visit family. We always try to stay in the Hilton family of hotels so choosing the DoubleTree - Charleston Airport was a no brainer. As usual I looked forward to my warm cookie upon check-in and was not let down. The hotel is very clean and nicely appointed. Nice clean rooms and very comfortable bed. I am a pillow snob, so I won't bore you with how I hate feather pillows. The only surprise was that there was not an in room refrigerator. When we drive anywhere we always take a cooler for drinks and snacks with cold packs. Recharging your cold packs for the drive home is a must. We made it work with an ice bucket.

Overall a nice hotel for the night but that one missing amenity was a little glitch in the whole experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattRoss2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    204
    62
    22
    21
See reviews for
220
163
28
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Found myself in Charleston with a friend on a last-minute car shopping trip. Downtown Charleston was either booked solid or overpriced. So we we booked online via smartphone using the Hilton Honors app. Upon arrival I was a bit concerned because the area around the property was not the upscale one I anticipated. Within easy walking distance are a Waffle House, Taco Bell, and brake shop, as the DoubleTree is located in a mostly commercial area just off the interstate.

Once I walked in the front door, I breathed a sigh of relief. The spacious lobby featured a nice bar, computer stations, and breakfast area. We were immediately given the signature warm chocolate chip cookies and promptly checked in.

Our room had a freshly modern decor, comfortable carpet, ample electrical outlets, and a large LG 42-inch television.The bed was comfortable with numerous fluffy pillows. The spacious bath featured a tall shower head, great toiletries, and larger than normal towels.

A few improvements could make this property even better. First the lack of a micro/fridge was surprising. I was also surprised the elevator doors looked cheap and institutional for an upscale property, and molding on one was loose. Finally, the complimentary breakfasts I've had at other DoubleTrees were not offered to me, although the complimentary coupons were clearly visible at the check-in desk. But maybe that was a good thing, as we walked to the nearby Waffle House and ate, while other hotel guests waited outside following an 8:15 a.m. fire alarm.

Nonetheless I was very well satisfied with my last-minute pick!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Oct. 9 - 20. 2013
We held our USS Grant SSBN 631 Submarine Reunion at this hotel, something we do every two years in different locations and have never had such a great site. Why? Well, the facility is newly redone and that is grand. The rooms are wonderfully sized and furnished and maintained and that is grand. The food and food service staff is terrific and that is grand. But the real success here is the hotel management and staff. They have established a customer first culture that meets and exceeds the finest hotels and resorts we've seen. We couldn't have asked for a more welcoming, cooperative and friendly staff. Our every need and want was either anticipated or quickly satisfied.
Anyone looking for the top of the line site for their event. or just a place to rest and relax for a day or more ...... this is the place. Look no further.
Thank you very, very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the DoubleTree. It was my first stay at a Hilton Hotel and it exceeded my expectations. The hotel has been remodeled and looks awesome. The spacious 2-room King Suite provided a large sleeping room and a separate living room area with a work desk that allowed me to do my school work. Each room had a TV which was unexpected but delightful. The bathroom was spacious and very nice as well. I recommend this DoubleTree to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Close to restaurants and shopping. Free shuttle to N. Charleston Coliseum. The only negative is I wish they had a shuttle to Historic Charleston; even if we had to pay, it would be cheaper and better than a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

In a day in time when customer service seems to lack, you will gladly find it has not affected The Double Tree and its staff. As soon as my family entered the lobby we were greeted & given a warm, delicious, cookie. As a mother with four children I immediately took notice. Our experiences only continued to get better. The room was lovely and amenities offered were well within our budget. I was so impressed by the staff who all were so friendly and offered a willingness to help with every interaction that I had to rave. I attempt to tip Nate, the manager, & he said “If you put your thoughts in a review, it’ll mean much more to me”. Wow, thinking of the company more than himself... just another way he stood out. I almost forgot the food, it was made with love, and it was also great. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rooms, food, and service exceed our expectations. Food manager and his entire staff went out of their way to ensure that our every need for the reunion was taken care of. It seemed like they anticipated our every requirement, as when we called for anything we needed they would show up almost as soon as we put the phone down. Highly recommended for individual or groups.

Room Tip: Makes no difference, just select the level you like as all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear RaymondL,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. I truly appreciate the opportunity to host your reunion and it is quite satisfying to hear it was such a pleasant experience. I hope you will consider us the next time you make it to Charleston. I will gladly pass along your kind words to the rest of our team.

Sincerely,

Michael Estes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#7 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#15 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
Address: 7401 Northwoods Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29406-4024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or leisure, DoubleTree Charleston Airport provides stylish accommodations with upgraded amenities. You will be able to relax in one of our 149 beautifully designed and suites. The design cues hail from past and present decades, with a subtle theme focusing on the golden era of aeronautics. Our distinctive guestroom amenities are provided with you in mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel North Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing