We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Deal”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were looking for a suite hotel in North Charleston for Easter weekend. The Best Western Plus was reasonably-priced, conveniently located, had decent amenities, and was kept up nicely. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. The furnishings and linens in the suite were in good shape. Staff was friendly. Only complaints were: elevator was ridiculously slow; continental breakfast was minimal; indoor pool was very small; housekeeping did not restock shampoo, soap, or coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    131
    62
    40
    46
See reviews for
188
105
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a 6 hour drive. Tired, but ready to explore a little bit of Charleston, we got checked in at the Best Western Plus in North Charleston. Strangely, no one was at the front desk when we walked in and we had to ring a bell - mind you it was 3:30pm in the afternoon - only 1/2 an hour after normal check in. Once checked in, with our room number written on the key card envelope, we made our way to our room. Assuming that our belongings would be fine, we left them in the room and left for the evening. We got back to the hotel at maybe 7pm. We walked up to our room, put our key into the slot, and just as we were about to open the door, a man and his daughter opened it from the opposite side. Stunned, we asked how they had been placed in our room when we had literally checked in about 3 hours earlier. Equally stunned, the man suggested we all walk downstairs together to address the problem. When we got helped by the clerk (a different person than who had checked us in), we were told that all of our belongings had been taken out of the room because, upon check-in, we were placed in the wrong room. Our keys worked for one room....but we were supposed to be in a different room....Not sure how this was our fault and what rights the hotel had to remove our items, but needless to say they had our items behind the front desk waiting for us (opened and exposed to any of the hotel employees who could have been passing through). They gave us key cards to our "new" room and sent us on our way. After expressing our disappointment in how the situation had been handled, the clerk told us there was "nothing [he] could do because we booked our hotel through Priceline.com" (*cough* bull crap *cough*). Fuming at this point, we got into our room and immediately contacted the customer service department of the entire Best Western enterprise. Unfortunately, it was a Saturday night and they were closed. During this chaos, a fire alarm was pulled by a teenager, forcing us to take a trip down then back up the 4 flights of stairs back to our room. Once we got back, we realized we had put a bottle of wine in the mini fridge in the room we first checked in to and it had not been with our belongings that we had retrieved. We called downstairs and my boyfriend made the trip back down to retrieve the wine. Before bed, my boyfriend realized he had plugged his phone charger in in the other room, and it was, like the wine, not returned to us. At this point, he was tired so we decided to ask about it in the morning. Once we got up and went down to retrieve his charger, we wondered to ourselves what else we might have forgotten to ASK them for that they removed from our original room. We were finally contacted by the general manager over a day later who asked us about the situation and then proceeded to put us on hold WHILE we were at an amusement park. The whole staff at the hotel proved to be completely discourteous and gave us an AWFUL start to our vacation. We were happy to check out the next day.

I normally am not such a harsh critic of hotel chains, but I will NEVER stay at a Best Western of any kind ever again. It is worth it to pay a few dollars extra per night to stay at the Hyatt Place next door or at a hotel IN Charleston (not North Charleston).

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always been pleased. However, this trip was different. When we checked in, they said they didn't have our reservation. Finally got that straightened out. The room was fine. We checked in on a Wednesday and our room was not serviced at all until Saturday, even though we requested new towels and trash out on Thurs. and Fri. (even noted specific times we would be out of the room). The "heated" pool was not heated. And they had a DJ party on Saturday night so we heard "thumping" until late night. Not good for kids trying to sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Check in was fine, don't know her name as she had no badge on, she explained rules so that went well. Room was clean but the tv reception was not good , nor the fridge. It was not cold, no adjustments inside so my husband pulled if out and tried to adjust from a control on the back, still no luck. Nice hot showers , mirror in room was not clean and was not touched the 3 nights of our stay . Overall at the price we paid we were satisfied with our stay. I would have paid more for a nicer hotel but everything was booked already.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here over Valentines Day weekend. Needless to say all of Charleston was busy this weekend. I booked this hotel a few weeks out on Best Westerns website and used the 'WebOnly' promo code when prompted. For a busy weekend, this was one of the most affordable hotels in the area. The hotel staff was friendly upon arrival and asked if we had any room preferences, which was surprising since the hotel was full that night. They had to turn away walk-in guests. The room was immaculately updated, with granite countertops and a granite tub surround. Beautiful for the price we paid. The only thing I would change about the room was the incredibly firm bed. Not very comfortable. Still had a restful night sleep after a long day about in the city, though. Next time we pass through Charleston, we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#15 of 59 in North Charleston
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#11 of 59 in North Charleston
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#39 of 59 in North Charleston
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#3 of 59 in North Charleston
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
#31 of 59 in North Charleston
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn North Charleston
Sleep Inn North Charleston
#32 of 59 in North Charleston
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Address: 2470 Prospect Dr, North Charleston, SC 29406-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Airport Inn and Suites is conveniently located just off Interstate-26 at Exit 209,Ashley Phosphate Road, only six miles away from Charleston International Airport. The Best Western Airport Inn and Suites in North Charleston offers guests many comforts such as free wired and wireless Internet, in room refrigerators and microwaves, 32-inch flat screen LCD television, coffee makers, iron and ironing board and offers different types of rooms and suites to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel North Charleston
Best Western North Charleston
North Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing