We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of H. L. Hunley

H. L. Hunley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Hunley became the world's first successful combat submarine in 1864 with the sinking of the USS Housatonic. After making world history, she mysteriously vanished. Lost at sea for over a century, she was finally found in 1995 and then raised from the ocean floor in 2000. Since then, scientists have been at work to conserve the legendary submarine and solve the mystery of her disappearance. Tours of the Hunley include viewing the Hunley in her 75,000 conservation tank, facial reconstructions of the crew, and interactive exhibits that tell the submarine's fascinating tale throughout the centuries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth a visit ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is not a museum, but what you could see was worth seeing. It is a very informative, well organized exhibit and the staff are well versed in the history of the submarine. Many of the recovered artifacts are also on display.

I see some of the other reviewers were not allowed to take pictures, that has changed … we took all the pictures we wanted.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    131
    38
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
287 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“It could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Overall, it was a good visit because we saw the Hunley, but this place could be SO much better. As they tell you, this is not a museum, it is a lab. OK, but if you are going to charge money, make the place better. As you walk in, there is a gift shop filled with junk. There are exhibits in the outer room where some are good (the mock ups of the Hunley; the crew profiles) but the exhibit of George Dixon’s processions (the captain) was frankly, confusing. They have replicas of his famous coin and the jewelry found in his pocket, but the real stuff is inside. When you go in, the volunteer guides are nice and knowledgeable. You see the Hunley in a tank from the top and you get to spend enough time as the guide gives an orientation. I know it is a lab, but if you could see the sub from the side, it would be better. After viewing the sub, they take you to an exhibit area with displays that look like they were made for a high school project. It was worth the visit to see one of the most famous ships in history, but it could be so much better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ben17a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“More than we expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were pleased with the detail, live tour, and scope of the museum. The kids and my husband really enjoyed it and we would advise anyone to take some time and visit this smaller, but interesting and informative museum!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momoftwo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“not wheel chair accesible, but the workers helped me see all that was available.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great gift shop and images of the Hunley. Seeing such a wonderful piece of history brings it alive. Take the time to read about the crew.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrs426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rock hill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A daring mission not forgotten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Much bigger than it looks in picture or even at the Charleston Museum replica, the story of the Hunley will move all who like amazing stories. Our guide, a volunteer of the Friends of the Hunley was a retired submariner who passed his passion and knowledge to his audience. The visit of the Clemson University working lab was full of surprises and we wish them great success in restoring it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H. L. Hunley also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to H. L. Hunley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing