We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat part of Civil War history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of H. L. Hunley

H. L. Hunley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Hunley became the world's first successful combat submarine in 1864 with the sinking of the USS Housatonic. After making world history, she mysteriously vanished. Lost at sea for over a century, she was finally found in 1995 and then raised from the ocean floor in 2000. Since then, scientists have been at work to conserve the legendary submarine and solve the mystery of her disappearance. Tours of the Hunley include viewing the Hunley in her 75,000 conservation tank, facial reconstructions of the crew, and interactive exhibits that tell the submarine's fascinating tale throughout the centuries.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Neat part of Civil War history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I read about The Hunley the first time in Clive Cussler's book where he discussed locating in in the mid 90's. When they raised it in 2000 I read more about it. As soon as I knew I was going to be in Charleston for work I knew this would be one of my stops. It is only open on the weekend for tours. It is out in the middle of nowhere and not that easy to find. Hopefully whe the conservation is complete and it goes on permanent display it will be more easily accessible. They have a small museum in the front and you get to see how small the inside really was. The tour guide I had really seems to love what he's doing and was very interesting to listen to. You get to spend a few minutes on the observation deck where you can observe the sub in the tank. If you are interested in Civil War history this is a stop you need to make.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    134
    39
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

An incredible piece of history a must see for anyone interested in maritime and the Civil War. Staffed by volunteers who are knowledgeable and interested.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadaPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
428 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Really a neat visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I really enjoyed the visit to the Hunley Museum at the old Charleston Navy Base. The acoustics in the building are pretty poor, but the tour guide obviously enjoyed his work. The work done on the submarine has been scientifically superb. It is really a visit that is worth seeing and I certainly could return.

Helpful?
3 Thank tgrdvrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor sound makes for a poor experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are going to have a tour guide, then by all means make it so everyone can hear. I did not understand a word. It was lousy. The tour guide warned of the poor acoustics and he was right. Once the tour started, I didn't hear a thing. Why have a tour if the paying customers can't hear? They need to fix the problem before charging money.

The museum was interesting, but overpriced. Not a place for handicapped people, only access is by stairs.

The road to the museum was terrible, with a poor location.

I would not recommend visiting this place. Buy a book or watch a DVD about it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frostydsnowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Weekend Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very interesting exhibits, informative video and great guide. Then you see the submarine. Amazing. Keep in mind two things: only open on weekends (and I had trouble with the telephone ticket reservation system) and your GPS system may try to take you on a mad tour of the whole area. Get to the main road into the shipyard along the waterfront, turn right and go down to the sign for the Hunley Submarine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TJfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H. L. Hunley also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to H. L. Hunley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing