We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My mother got a room here to just to get away for a little while after her brother died. When we walked into the room everything looked nice but when she pulled the sheets back on one of the beds it had brown stains on them that looked like poop (yuck). My mother called to the front desk to ask if someone could come and change the sheets, well the young lady at the front desk told my mother that they only do laundry ONCE A WEEK and they don't have any extra linens (Shocked out of my mind). She proceeds to tell my mom that they have a complimentary laundry room down stairs and she is welcomed to take the sheets and wash them herself. Needless to say we will NEVER EVER stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and please know we take your comments very seriously. Customer service and cleanliness are very important to us and we would like to resolve the issues you had immediately. The General Manager would like for you to please contact him at the hotel in order to address the specific problems you and your mother had during your stay. The phone number for the hotel is 843-797-3535. Thank you again for your review. We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
19
31
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the most poorly run establishments i have ever stayed in. At check in they were a room short. Did not have any rooms like we booked. When i got the last Key, i went to the room and opened the door to find that it was some one else's room. I went back to the front desk to let them know what i found. Her response was oops wrong room. If this is there normal security i don't want to ever stay at a Candlewood again. It was my first and last.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Homeschool D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I greatly apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We take security very seriously and we are taking every precaution to ensure this does not happen again. I hope you will give us another chance to show you how important your review is to us and our management company. If you have any questions or other concerns, please feel free to contact me directly.

Amy Banuelos
Director of Sales
843-797-3535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I booked a two night stay with our children in this Candlewood Suites. Staff were nice, however, upon arrival the first night, the room we booked (double suite) was given to someone else and we were given two rooms and had to split up our family. One of the two rooms (which was designated nonsmoking) smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. We were then given another room and it was tolerable. The televisions didn't work in two of the rooms. Phones were broken in one. After the first night, we asked if we could check into a double suite room (like we originally booked). The hotel complied, called us when it was ready. We got to this room and it smelled like a bug bomb. Strong chemical smell and windows were open. We asked the front desk and they reported that the floors have been cleaned and that is what the smell is. I have never smelled floor cleaner that had this strong of a chemical smell. Also, don't want my kids to stay in a room with such strong chemicals. Overall, very disappointed and will never come back to this hotel again. The staff were friendly which is about the only positive comment we have.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Manager at Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for giving me the opportunity to talk with you today. I am so sorry we failed to meet your expectations. I am glad we were able to come to a resolution and hope you will give us another chance to accommodate you again in the future. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me.

Sarah Parrish
843-797-3535
manager@cwcharleston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend and immediately loved this place when, at check-in, the clerk upgraded us to a one-bedroom suite. Another nice feature was the the free laundry facilities - which allowed me to wash my clothes, which was a big convenience as we headed out to the second leg of our trip. Finally - the hotel next to a mall and close to several restaurants (Olive Garden, O'Charleys, Outback)... so grabbing a bite to eat was easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Jacob and June, We are happy to hear you were happy with your stay and enjoyed your suite. Our complimentary laundry facilites are one of our many great amenities. Location is a big decision factor when choosing a hotel and we are proud that we are able to provide our guests with such a great location. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The outside of the hotel is nice. But once I got to the door I was second guessing my stay. Penny was the lady checking us in and she was great and friendly. We went to our room and found noodles stuck to the ceiling. We asked for a different room. Penny kindly switched us to a new room. This room smelt bad of stall cigarettes. The chairs in both rooms had ripped pleather, the floors needed some major cleaning and even the closet doors were dirty. The bathrooms were spacious and seemed ok but we really didn't stay in the room long enough to find out. So after two different rooms we decided to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_mommy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Cleanliness is very important to us and we will definitely address the staff regarding your comments to ensure this never happens again. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you how serious we are about your concerns. Thank you again for your review. Feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is aging and shows it. The rooms are very good for the price, but if you get a seperate bedroom suite it can get very warm in the room. The AC is not directly in there and will need to be lowered a lot to cool it down. The beds are smaller than usual, a queen reminded me of a double. The showers had great water preassure and there is a large refrigerator in the room. Overall I can not post a good review because both my co-workers room and mine were not cleaned the next day. The good thing I can say is the people at the front desk are very helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our property. We value comments both positive and negative as they help us continue to improve and grow as a hotel. All comments from our guests serve as a tool to strengthen our performance in the future. Candlewood Inn and Suites is an extended stay property and we do not have Housekeeping Services every day as different properties do. Guests are always encouraged to ask one of our accommodating desk clerks for anything that they need during their stay. We are truly sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give our hotel a second chance the next time you are in Charleston, SC. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I loved the people at the hotel not just the employees but the other guests! Hotel was clean and right next to a movie theater that had $5 movies! Free laundry was nice! Sarah and John at the desk were great! We Will be back. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear you were pleased with the hotel. We are also glad to know you how much you liked our guests....we love them too! It's our goal to make our guests feel at home and I know Sarah and John certainly appreciate that you noticed the great customer service they provide. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#38 of 58 in North Charleston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
#30 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#15 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charleston/Ashley Phosphate
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#16 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall

Property: Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall
Address: 2177 Northwoods Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29406-4005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at Candlewood Suites North Charleston. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites in North Charleston, South Carolina. Our hotel's convenient location places you just minutes from historic downtown Charleston and the Charleston International Airport. Guests traveling for business or leisure will feel right at home in our comfortable suites. If you are visiting Charleston for leisure, historic downtown Charleston is just a short drive from our hotel. In Charleston, you can visit a plantation, take a tour of Fort Sumter or the USS Yorktown, or relax on one of South Carolina's beautiful beaches. For those who love to shop, Northwoods Mall is just steps from our hotel. Those who are in town for business will enjoy our Charleston hotel's ideal location near I-26 and just minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Charleston Air Force Base, Naval Weapons Station and Trident Hospital. Our hotel also provides convenient access to Trident Technical College, Charleston Southern University, the College of Charleston and MUSC. Whether you stay for one night or make yourself at home for an extended stay, we are ready to serve you. Our suites include fully equipped kitchens and the Candlewood Cupboard, our 24-hour convenience store, located in the lobby with a variety of items at great values. Our property also offers free laundry facilities to all guests. Check out our Charleston hotel's great deals and plan your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites i-26 @ Northwoods Mall Hotel North Charleston
Candlewood Suites North Charleston
Candlewood North Charleston
North Charleston Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing