We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Hotel is nice but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Walkertown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, Hotel is nice but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have been in an extended stay since July 22, 2012. I have enjoyed the stay and the management is professional. However, if you plan to wash clothes while here, be prepared for broken washers. It seems maintenance does not know how to fix the washing machines. The cold water drips into the barrel of a top loader. The other complaint is the parking lot. The entrance has a huge hole approx. 4' dia. and 6" deep. The general manager has been trying to get the funds from corporate to fix the issue but for some reason they are dragging their feet.
The hotel is located across from Northwoods Mall. While staying here you have a free membership to Planet Fitness...in the mall. There are plenty of restaurants but be very cautious of SC drivers.
These people are complete idiots on the road. I have traveled the world and this ranks as one of the worst places I have seen for wrecks. The police are non-present until there is a wreck....three so far at the entrance to the Mall and hotel.
I was awakend at 0300 by a domestic across from my room. That was the only issue I have had with sleep.

Room Tip: 4th floor is for smokers. There is one wing on the 4th for non-smokers. The rest of the hotel is non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c123pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
19
32
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falcon, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Traveled to N. Charleston from Tampa 4-7 July 2012 for a family visit in Ladson, SC. I have stayed at 3 other hotel properties in the area and Candlewood is the best by far! Newer, clean, and has all the amenities for a small "home-away-from-home". The movie theater is a 3 minute walk and several great restaurants are also within waking distance (Olive Garden, Outback, Hooters, etc.). The staff is friendly and responsive to you and looks you in the eye when speaking with you. No nonsense here! We will stay there the next time we visit in the North Charleston / Summerville area. (And I did avoid the huge parking lot pothole)!

Room Tip: (I did not use the pool). The high-floor rooms on the backside of the property are very nice. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great value, beautiful room, good location, manager's reception on Wednesday evenings... This was my first time in a Candlewood, and I am impressed! I will remember this place when in Charleston again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights, May 25th and 26th, 2012. We chose this hotel as it was close to restaurants, the airport and still close enough to enjoy all the great sites in Charleston. The front desk staff was very nice and check in was very fast. Even got some great recommendations for nearby attractions.
The suite was a large open kitchen/livingroom with separate bed/bath which we found very comfortable. We took advantage of the free laundry but the exercise/laundry area was not very comfortable as the dryers heated the area up.
It was a quick drive to the airport to drop off the rental car. The restaurants close to the hotel were Hooters, and O Charleys. The Mall was also within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The beds couldn't be any better, and that is the most important thing in a hotel, to me. This is a clean and safe hotel. Only down side is the HUGE pothole in the parking lot, which is IMPOSSIBLE to straddle. We about threw the wheel alignment out on our car ,trying to dodge that darn deep hole, day after day. Manager said they were taking bids to fix it. More corporate red tape!
But, we will stay here again, because the beds are fanastic.

Room Tip: Ask for feather pillows, if you like those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zipper775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The property is well maintained. The fully equiped kitchen with dishes, pots, pans and cutlery make it easy to set up housekeeping. The nearby Walmart & Target both had large grocery stores. The bedding was fresh. The rooms ae very quiet and have excellent air conditioning units. (A necessity in Charlesotn, S.C.) The immedicate area is pretty safe but visitors should be cautious at night.

Room Tip: Empty car of valuables. There are no closed citcuit cameras over the parking lot. Bresak ins do happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIxiehollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

First time at a Candlewoods Suite.

Extremely friendly front-desk. Suite is huge and comfortable. Liked the convenience of having a reasonably priced Candlewood cupboard for snacks and drinks.

Room seemed well insulated from outside noises.

Only complaints would have been needed better pillows and AC was very loud. Also, it seemed to cool the living area, but not the bedroom so much.

If I was traveling to Charleston again, I would probably look to stay downtown just for convenience sake, but it was not a bad compromise as most everything was booked up for Spoleto. I'd stay here again if that was the case next time. 15 minutes to downtown from here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#38 of 58 in North Charleston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
Suburban Extended Stay Airport
#30 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#15 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charleston/Ashley Phosphate
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#16 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall

Property: Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall
Address: 2177 Northwoods Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29406-4005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at Candlewood Suites North Charleston. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites in North Charleston, South Carolina. Our hotel's convenient location places you just minutes from historic downtown Charleston and the Charleston International Airport. Guests traveling for business or leisure will feel right at home in our comfortable suites. If you are visiting Charleston for leisure, historic downtown Charleston is just a short drive from our hotel. In Charleston, you can visit a plantation, take a tour of Fort Sumter or the USS Yorktown, or relax on one of South Carolina's beautiful beaches. For those who love to shop, Northwoods Mall is just steps from our hotel. Those who are in town for business will enjoy our Charleston hotel's ideal location near I-26 and just minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Charleston Air Force Base, Naval Weapons Station and Trident Hospital. Our hotel also provides convenient access to Trident Technical College, Charleston Southern University, the College of Charleston and MUSC. Whether you stay for one night or make yourself at home for an extended stay, we are ready to serve you. Our suites include fully equipped kitchens and the Candlewood Cupboard, our 24-hour convenience store, located in the lobby with a variety of items at great values. Our property also offers free laundry facilities to all guests. Check out our Charleston hotel's great deals and plan your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites i-26 @ Northwoods Mall Hotel North Charleston
Candlewood Suites North Charleston
Candlewood North Charleston
North Charleston Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing