We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
fastpitchmom
1 review
“Never Again!”
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We booked this hotel as a group. The hotel was supposed to hold a block of 10 rooms for us at a discounted price. The next day when the parents started to call, and right off the bat there was confusion the rooms were never blocked. Once we got this straightened out we thought it would be smooth sailing. Being a girls travel softball team we stressed the importance of us having one set of adjoining rooms so that the girls that weren't accompanied by parents could room with the coach. We told them point blank that if this could not be guaranteed that we would have to stay elsewhere. We were told that this wouldn't be a problem. When we checked in that evening we found that the adjoining rooms had not been saved for us and the rate that we had been quoted would not be honored. We spoke with the night clerk and explained what had gone on and she promised that the rated would be adjusted . We got to our 2 room suite and there was one wash clothe and two towels, I went sown to the desk and requested additional towels and was told that there was not another towel to be had in the entire hotel. We were told that there would be towels for the girls at the pool....well 18 kids and 6 towels just didn't cut it When asked for more pool towels we were told that there weren't anymore. There were several parties going on at the hotel that evening and teenagers and kids running up and down the halls until about 3am. When we called the desk to complain we were told that there was nothing that could be done about it. The next morning upon checking out the hotel manager was rude, and very unprofessional he did not adjust all of the room rates and told us that the night clerk never would have given us the original price that we were quoted. When we asked him to call this employee at home so that it could all be settled he refused , and all he kept saying that we weren't telling the truth. This man should NOT be in any customer service job. He was actually mean and rude. We contacted corporate about the situation and they told us there hands were tied because this is a franchise location. We called the owner 6 times in 5 days to try to work this out and he would not return any calls....My advice...run as fast as you can away from this place....I'd sleep in my car before going back!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the obnoxious manager
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fastpitchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    49
    46
    36
    28
See reviews for
105
63
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and had an excellent stay! You cannot compare this to a 5 Star hotel, but it is 5 star for the price range!
Our room was very clean and when I mentioned I had allergies, housekeeping came in and redusted the entire room and vacuumed the floors daily for us.
The bath was cleaned everyday and was excellent.
The staff was always helpful.
The continental breakfast was typical but always hot and good. Also, being in the south, they had biscuits and hot sausage gravy.
Everyday they made fresh cookies for the lobby.
Check their website for special prices!
About ten miles outside of downtown Charleston and right near the expressway.
Close to popular restaurants.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Convenient location and quality of room.
  • Disliked — Television needs to be raised up on a platform?
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joeski01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

As a first time visitor to Charleston, SC. I was very impressed! The hotel staff were very helpful & friendly.The room was clean; we always had fresh new sheets & towels each day! And the breakfast was even better, always a variety for everyone who wants a healthy & yummy breakfast! The heated pool was also very nice & clean. I recommend you stay here if you are coming to the Charleston area. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Beach_gurl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

My wife and I were in the area in May on vacation and were not happy with the hotel we had originally booked, we called up this Country Inn and they had a room for us and once we arrived we were very happy with our change. The hotel and the room was very clean and comfortable.

The staff was very friendly and helpful during our entire stay. Would recommend this hotel while in the Charleston area if you don't mind staying a little bit away from downtown.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, GA
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Front desk and Housekepping staff was awesome. Front desk employee treated me like they was working for a five star hotel.
Housekeeper did grate job to clean rooms bathroom was clean and nice they have Shampoo, Soaps, In room coffee maker, Micro-fridge. We have grate time with my family. We love the breakfast in morning. It was excellent! I was using gold points and was upgraded due to my membership/status! Thanks!
Love your hotel. We come to Charleston every few months to visit family and always stay at the Country
Inn in North Charleston. Great location. Great staff!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank LaurieEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2007

This hotel was extremely nice. Lobby presented an exceptional welcome with sitting area and fire place. The attendant at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Fresh baked chocolate cookes and coffee at front desk for guests; great after a hard day's work. Everything looked brand new. The room was very nicely furnished; very nice room . I could not get over how nice everything was. I would definitely rate this hotel a 5.0. I recommend this hotel above and beyond others in the area.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — Parking Lot
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rsmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We have just returned from our stay at Country Inn & Suites North Charleston, South Carolina. This place is second to none. The whole experience was great. They treated us like family. The owners, Mr & Mrs Patel, really know how to professionally run a business. Essie greeted us at check in & helped us with directions. Her personality is a plus. This place is one of the cleanest that we have ever stayed. The place smells clean the minute you walk in. Housekeeping goes above and beyond. They take pride in their work & it shows. They are the perfect team. They could teach these other chains a thing or two about real housekeeping.
My grandson enjoyed the indoor heated pool. Fresh towels were provided for all guests in the pool room.
We really hated to leave. Believe it or not check out is 12: noon.
We will stay here again & would advise others to do the same.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing to mention
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DevsMema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn North Charleston
Sleep Inn North Charleston
#32 of 58 in North Charleston
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#26 of 58 in North Charleston
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwoods Mall
Candlewood Suites I-26 @ Northwo...
#30 of 58 in North Charleston
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#15 of 58 in North Charleston
674 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#12 of 58 in North Charleston
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North
Address: 7429 Stafford Rd, near Northwood Mall, North Charleston, SC 29406-4029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites North Charleston
Country Inn & Suites North Charleston Hotel North Charleston
Country Inn North Charleston
North Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing