We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the Comfort Suites North Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the Comfort Suites North Charleston”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband had to be on business in Charleston for a week, so we decided to go down a day early and stay on our own. I booked the Comfort Suites North Charleston because of the reasonable price and great TripAdvisor reviews.

Let me point out the positives before I start on negative.

-The lobby and breakfast area are both very attractive and clean.
-I love that the entire hotel is smoke free
-Location is great---right of I26
-Our king size room had a small microwave and fridge which was great.

Negatives:

-Upon entering, the comforter was lumpy and rumpled. As if someone had been laying on it. (see picture)
-Room smells like Carpet Fresh. UGH. Makes me feel like they are covering up something I don't want to know about.
-The room is average, maybe slightly below. Furniture is old and worn. The carpet had large stains.
-Bed sheets had many hairs on them. YUCK
-Large entry foyer of wasted space.
-The remote control only changes channels. The volume and power had to be adjusted on the TV.
-TV itself is an old tube style television.
-Internet is VERY slow, averaging between 18 and 36 mbps.

Overall, I'm not saying this was a horrible hotel. Just not nearly as nice as expected for the price range and other reviews. For the rest of our trip we will be staying in another hotel in the downtown, historic district which is the same price. Hopefully, I will have a more positive review from that property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndeeDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to review our hotel. We are disappointed in the negatives of your review and will strive to correct those issues moving forward. We are glad that you were impressed with our lobby and breakfast areas. Those sections of our hotel, along with all of our guest rooms and other common areas, are very important to us and we give 100% effort day in and day out in maintaining our hotel.

I do apologize about the negative aspects of your stay. I wish that we would have known about them during your stay and we would have done everything possible to right the wrongs and keep you here with us for your entire trip. We make it a point to emphasize our cleanliness at this hotel and I do apologize that our air freshener was maybe a bit strong. We want to make sure that the room is fresh for each and every new guest. I also am not pleased to hear of the appearance of your bed. We take pride in our linen process and the rotation that we put it through to ensure a top quality product for our guests. It appears we have fallen short with your room. Lastly, we admit that the TVs are a bit of an issue. We are currently in the process of updating our TVs to flat screens and are excited about the new additions to our property.

We do believe to offer one of the best values throughout the greater Charleston area and hope to have you back on a future stay to show you these issues are more of a rarity than a normality. Please feel free to contact us if you ever return to the area! Enjoy the rest of your trip in the great city of Charleston, South Carolina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    94
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
99
67
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is fantastic. Great rooms and a managers reception during the week!! What more could you ask for? The staff is great. Jerri was very welcoming, warm and seemed to love her job. Will be staying there again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAGMsc270, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to review your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear of your satisfactory experience! We are happy to have Jerri on our team and also proud to have a complete staff that loves coming to work each and every day. We hope to have you back on your future visits to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This location is close to everything. The suites were very clean and roomy for a good price.... lots of hot water and a great shower.The staff was exceptional helpful and friendly. The Assistant Manager, Adam, went out of his way to accomodate us. There were free alcoholic beverages for guests in the evening. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetie77989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAGMsc270, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We work hard to establish what we feel is the best value in the area and everything you mentioned from cleanliness to room size to price all plays a key part in that. We remain thrilled to have an excellent staff and to be able to provide added features such as our nightly manager's reception every Monday through Friday. We hope to see you back the next time you decide to travel south to the great city of Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I met a friend for a weekend getaway in the Charleston area. This location was perfect...close to some shoppng, restaurants & some attractions...but only minutes away from historic downtown. Our room was great, very clean & comfortable...lots of hot water and a great shower !..The entire staff was wonderful...very friendly & helpful...made us feel at home...I would definitely stay at this hotel on any future trips to the aea...price point was excellent as well.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor...very quiet if you wanted to sleep in...and quiet even though there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamadub1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAGMsc270, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We are proud to hear that we contributed in a positive way to your weekend getaway! We understand that when people want to get out of dodge for a couple days, we can play a key role in helping them relax by providing a satisfactory stay in all aspects of our hotel. We strive to make each and every guest feel just as you did when leaving our property and we are glad to have met your expectations! For all the reasons you mentioned, we truly feel we offer one of the best values in all of the greater Charleston area. We look forward to hosting your next getaway to our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I work as a travel agent, and I recently had a group of about fifty 9th grade students who traveled to Charleston, SC for a three-day weekend. We stayed at the Comfort Suites in N. Charleston. The manager of the property, Darrin, was very easy to work with...very accommodating for the group's needs and was very prompt in responding to questions/emails which made the planning much easier and less stressful. The staff who worked the desk...morning, day and evening...were all very helpful, pleasant and interested in making sure the group's needs were met.
The property has an outdoor pool. B'fast is pretty much the standard continental fare-- hot waffles (although I wish there had been 2 machines instead of one to help move the group along), biscuits, eggs, sausage/bacon, cereal, danish/muffins, juice, milk and coffee. The staff who worked in the b'fast area worked very hard to keep things restocked and were very pleasant. The juice machine had issues to start out both mornings, but they worked fast to fix it. There is a manager's reception during the weeknights, but we did not partake with the school group being present of course.
The property is located just off the main drag and has a side street with a turn around area which makes it easier for charter buses and 18-wheelers to turn around then have a place on the street to park without obstructing traffic.
I highly recommend getting one of the king suites with the jacuzzi (2-person) in the room. Very nice and very enjoyable!
Only negatives-- the juice machine issue (although it was more of a brief inconvenience than anything) and the ice machine on floor 3 was down for the count. Otherwise, the stay was a good one and I will bring a group here again in the future.

Room Tip: Front or back, doesn't matter, but the king jacuzzi rooms are great and I highly recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becsmith42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAGMsc270, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
We are happy to hear that your recent group's stay with us met your expectations! We second the fact that Darrin is great when it comes to working with groups and showing the level of hospitality that we expect from all of our staff here at the Comfort Suites. While we love to hear the positive notes on your stay, we also appreciate the negatives as it helps us correct and adjust to continue pleasing our guests. Both issues that you mentioned in your review have been fully resolved and we thank you again for bringing those to our attention. We hope to have you and your future groups back with us at Comfort Suites North Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel ! They had free alcoholic beverages for their guests in the evenings !! The rooms were very nice and comfortable and the room cost was very good too. There are places to eat nearby that are very good and you can walk to them if you wanted to. The staff is very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAGMsc270, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent satisfactory stay! I'm glad that you mentioned our staff as informative! As always a friendly staff goes a long way in hospitality but we also believe in having a staff that is well educated on our city so that we can help all travelers, whether it be business or pleasure, find their way around the greater Charleston area and all it has to offer. We are also glad that you enjoyed our Manager's Reception which we offer in our lobby area every Monday through Friday evening. We hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I am in the Charleston area several days a year. I have stayed at different hotels and believe this to be the best deal. Good spacious rooms and a very good breakfast in spacious area. Never had a problem. Very friendly staff members.

Room Tip: Have been on four different floors in King, Queen and 2 Double beds. All very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAGMsc270, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We are glad to hear that picking us on your most recent stay to Charleston has resulted in you discovering what we also believe to be one of the "best deals" in the area! We strive to have the best staff welcoming our guests and the best breakfast possible to get the day going for them as well. We look forward to your next stay with us when you return to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#14 of 58 in North Charleston
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#3 of 58 in North Charleston
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Residence Inn Charleston North/A...
#18 of 58 in North Charleston
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Address: 2540 N Forest Dr, North Charleston, SC 29420-4273 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Charleston Hotel North Charleston
North Charleston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing