We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fratello's Italian Tavern

Fratello's Italian Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Fratello's Italian Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fratellos Italian Tavern is an American Italian restaurant located in Mount Pleasant in the I'On Community, featuring Italian comfort cuisine with a menu driven by local seasonal ingredients and a homestyle feel. The word Fratello in Italian refers to fraternity or brother. It is this bond that our proprietor Richard Tuorto and Chef Kevin Bruntz had in mind when they shared favorite family recipes to create a unique dining experience.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Fratello's but it certainly won't be our last! We thoroughly enjoyed our experience there.

The service was friendly without being overbearing. The food was excellent and the portions were a perfect size for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    48
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moncks Corner, SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chicken Marsala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went with friends and we all ordered the Chicken Marsala. The portions were large & the flavor of the Chicken Marsala made your mouth water. I had the Tiramsui and my friend had the cannoli for dessert. Next time I would skip the Tiramsui and have 2 cannoli's!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SCwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Park Circle area for dinner without a reservation mid week. Could not get in at another restaurant so tried Fratello's, Pleasantly surprised. No crowd so I wondered if the food would be good. Our wait staff was attentive, even selecting a wine to go with each entree. Not sure if the entire staff was as attentive. I had a lamb dish which was outstanding. The menu is simple, delicious and authentic and the staff is well-trained and knowledgeable.

Helpful?
Thank jfrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a wonderful experience here! The food was great, and our server, Jeff, made our evening so enjoyable! Fratello's has moved to the top or our favorite restaurant list. I suggest making reservations - so glad we did. We arrived at 6:15 and the tables filled up quickly after that. One of the many things we enjoyed was the music - it wasn't so loud that we couldn't hear the others in our party of 6. All around fun evening and can't wait to go back - especially for the stuffed mushrooms!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesTowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went here last week on Saturday night. We went early (6:00 PM) to try and beat the crowd and it was raining, but I was shocked to go in and find only one table occupied.

We were of course seated right away and the waitress got us water and took drink orders. I ordered a bottle of wine and it came quickly. There were six of us so we ordered several different things. I had the bowl of mussels for my entree and they were excellent.

After we ordered the salads came out quickly and the food did not take long either. Everyone said that their dinner was good and the service was good too. While we were eating several other tables filled up. The place was over half full when we left.

This is a new restaurant and you could tell the staff needs a little experience but they were trying hard. We were very satisfied and will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCarolinaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratello's Italian Tavern also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fratello's Italian Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing