We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Chicken Marsala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fratello's Italian Tavern

Fratello's Italian Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Fratello's Italian Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fratellos Italian Tavern is an American Italian restaurant located in Mount Pleasant in the I'On Community, featuring Italian comfort cuisine with a menu driven by local seasonal ingredients and a homestyle feel. The word Fratello in Italian refers to fraternity or brother. It is this bond that our proprietor Richard Tuorto and Chef Kevin Bruntz had in mind when they shared favorite family recipes to create a unique dining experience.
Moncks Corner, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chicken Marsala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went with friends and we all ordered the Chicken Marsala. The portions were large & the flavor of the Chicken Marsala made your mouth water. I had the Tiramsui and my friend had the cannoli for dessert. Next time I would skip the Tiramsui and have 2 cannoli's!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SCwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    44
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Park Circle area for dinner without a reservation mid week. Could not get in at another restaurant so tried Fratello's, Pleasantly surprised. No crowd so I wondered if the food would be good. Our wait staff was attentive, even selecting a wine to go with each entree. Not sure if the entire staff was as attentive. I had a lamb dish which was outstanding. The menu is simple, delicious and authentic and the staff is well-trained and knowledgeable.

Helpful?
Thank jfrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a wonderful experience here! The food was great, and our server, Jeff, made our evening so enjoyable! Fratello's has moved to the top or our favorite restaurant list. I suggest making reservations - so glad we did. We arrived at 6:15 and the tables filled up quickly after that. One of the many things we enjoyed was the music - it wasn't so loud that we couldn't hear the others in our party of 6. All around fun evening and can't wait to go back - especially for the stuffed mushrooms!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesTowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went here last week on Saturday night. We went early (6:00 PM) to try and beat the crowd and it was raining, but I was shocked to go in and find only one table occupied.

We were of course seated right away and the waitress got us water and took drink orders. I ordered a bottle of wine and it came quickly. There were six of us so we ordered several different things. I had the bowl of mussels for my entree and they were excellent.

After we ordered the salads came out quickly and the food did not take long either. Everyone said that their dinner was good and the service was good too. While we were eating several other tables filled up. The place was over half full when we left.

This is a new restaurant and you could tell the staff needs a little experience but they were trying hard. We were very satisfied and will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCarolinaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BAD AT BEST (AND IM BEING NICE)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ok, So the wife and i wanted to take our friends out to a nice meal and have a good time, Well first the waiter came to our table we ask for water and bread with oil while we looked at the menu, It took every bit of 15 minutes before we seen him again and he brought bread and water and no oil then left and came back a couple minutes later to take our order and left, about 20 minutes later he comes to us and tells us he lost the order and we had to start over from scratch so we reordered and a few minutes later they brought our salads and the three of us that got salads could'nt even eat them as the lettuce was really bitter maybe they used the hart of the lettuce and we never did figure out what caused it. When we told the waiter about the salad he said he would take them off the bill, So at this point we were somewhat disapointed but all agreed that thease things happen so we would stick it out and give them the benifit of the doubt. Now my buddy John had ask for a glass of white wine when we first sat down and it still had not showed up but finally did after the meal arrived which was yet another 20 minutes later. Ahh, Finally The food came and it looked and smelled wonderful! Now, Honestly I don't know what was going on with my luck but i swear i had a big black cloud hanging right over my head or karma was out to get me but i took a bite of my mixed seafood in linguina and red sauce plate and holy crap!!! it was like a blow torch went off in my mouth!!! Well naturally i thought i must have just got a bite where there was a red chile cluster or something so being the guy that loves hot food i thought i can handle it! So one bite after another and i was about six bites in when my buddy John looks at me and exclaims " Are you ok? " Because i had turned beet red) Well i at this point stopped eating and ( thats when the heat really hit !!! ) so i told him how super spicy the dish was and about then the waiter came by and i ask him what was in this dish that made it so hot and he said hot chiles and siracha chili sauce well i told him i thought someone got very carried away with the sauce and even though i tried i just could not eat this meal. Ok, So now we decieded that he would take the dish back and bring me a plate of spaggetti instead which he did and i suppose it was pretty good but really couldn't tell as i was still on fire when he brought the bill... So anyway in a nutshell when i looked at the bill the next day i found that he still charged us for the salads and made no adjustment at all for the royal screwup with my meal that i couldn't even eat and then chargrd for two glasses of wine when my friend only had one! OK, Just one question, Why would a athentic Itailin resturant use Asian chili sauce in a pasta dish?
It's olive garden from now on~

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ridinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratello's Italian Tavern also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fratello's Italian Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing