We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Park Circle Winner!”

Fratello's Italian Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Fratello's Italian Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fratellos Italian Tavern is an American Italian restaurant located in Mount Pleasant in the I'On Community, featuring Italian comfort cuisine with a menu driven by local seasonal ingredients and a homestyle feel. The word Fratello in Italian refers to fraternity or brother. It is this bond that our proprietor Richard Tuorto and Chef Kevin Bruntz had in mind when they shared favorite family recipes to create a unique dining experience.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another Park Circle Winner!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you were familiar with the old "Aunt Bea's" space in park circle, then you will not believe your eyes walking into Fratello's! The atmosphere is intimate, somewhat romantic, and upscale but still feels cozy and comfortable for an evening meal. Outstanding service, dishes and wine. As a Park Circle Resident we are happy to welcome this awesome addition to our neighborhood!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ESP8_CHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    50
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Drove from West Ashely to N. Charleston and the service and food were great. We ordered the night's special salad and the 4 of us shared it. Fresh and delicious. The Calamari was served differently than we had ever had before but the waiter had described it so we were aware. The portion was good for 2 people. Our entrees although not too original were very good and the portions were large. Our waiter was helpful in describing the dishes we were ordering and very attentive. Prices are reasonable. We were seated at a nice large booth, tables are not crowded. There was a large bar where you could also eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdkdyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Interesting menu....not your average N Charleston fare”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a good lunch at Fratello's. It can get quite noisy at lunch, so don't go for a quiet getaway. There is outdoor seating in good weather. Great salad....the group I ate with was pleased with their dishes. Would go again and try dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlc232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Another Reason Not To Miss New York or NJ Fratello's”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Outstanding meat and pasta dishes served with a combo of homestyle gourmet. Good Mix for any real Italian. Another excellent Italian Restaurant in the North Area should keep people from The Olive Gardens of the world. Service was good and decor rustic with modern touch, other mix that worked well. Good Wine list offered and in the end my clients happy they had me as their Realtor expecially when I picked up the tab! Worth the GO, Lou Russo Carolina One Realty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRUSSO-REALTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deserves 6 stars!!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We had already eaten when we ventured in here for a drink, but the amazing atmosphere and precious server, convinced us to have dessert. Best decision ever! The limincello creme brûlée was creamy heaven in a dish. Seriously decadent and amazing! My fellow diners had the cannoli and brownie cookies and those were equally amazing. Chef Kevin visited our table and discussed gluten free options for a future visit, as I have a gluten allergy. He was knowledgeable and friendly and made us want to return. This place is an excellent addition to Park Circle!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinChrisKelGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratello's Italian Tavern also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fratello's Italian Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing