We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"25 Smiling Faces!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nigel's Good Food

Nigel's Good Food
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"25 Smiling Faces!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Came to North Charleston for a volleyball tournament. My daughter's coach likes them to eat a meal together. I found Nigel's on travel advisor site. Everyone...I mean all 25 people who came with the team left happy. My son had the gumbo and would have gone back for dinner if we let him. Nigel and Louise came around to our tables for a visit. This is well worth the trip, even if you are staying in downtown Charleston. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    71
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful suprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went for lunch and all ordered the fish & chips. We can't wait to go back and try other items on their menu. Service was very attentive, food really incredibly delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank l j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best meal in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When you go to Charleston, you tend to spend a ton on food, and 75% of the time it's worth it. Nigel's was not expensive in the least, and was AMAZING. Best hush puppies and collards I've ever had. You can't really miss with the food, so try it all. They also do live music on Wednesdays (I think).

The best part, the service. All of the wait staff is about as friendly as can be, as is the owner Nigel.

Check this place out, especially if you're doing day trips from Charleston as it's off of a few main highways.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nigel's is a diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a trip to North Charleston. Went to Nigel's based on Trip Advisor reviews. To say that Nigel's exceeded my expectations would be a gross understatement. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The background music was pleasant and appropriate to the setting. The waitstaff was helpful and recommended the shrimp and crab ravioli as the number one selection on the menu, which I chose. I was not disapointed. The dish was prefectly prepared with a generous portion of succulent shrimp and crabmeat. The sauce was reminiscent of a creamy newburg sauce, only lighter, with the slightest hint of heat, a perfect contrast to the rich sauce. I can't wait to go back to Charleston if only to dine at Nigel's again. Yes the service was a little slow, but the kitchen obviously takes care to prepare food from scratch. I would rather wait for the excellent food while enjoying the atmosphere than have the food served quickly without the care and attention to excellence. One more thing - at $13.95 my dish would have been a bargain at twice the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ncarb1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was our first visit and will not be or last. Good food. Great service. Excellent selection of food. Great music. This place is a must visit.

Kenneth and Angela Frazier

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnFrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nigel's Good Food also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nigel's Good Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing